X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Slime Self-Sealing Presta Tubes

SlimeSelf-Sealing Presta Tubes(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(94 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(51)
(33)
(4)
(3)
(3)
(54%)
(35%)
(4%)
(3%)
(3%)
Really works
by Anonymous
Toms River, NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It worked so well it sealed my valve and couldn�t put air in my tire any more. So I replaced the slime tube with a conventional tube and got a flat 3 rides later. I put the slime tube back on with a new valve. I can deal with this. This only happened with one tire, the other one is still holding strong and over two years.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic extra dependable protection
by Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Californtia
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

A great product that has been around for decades. If you hate flats then add SlimeTubes to your Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires and possible ride a year (for me 10,000 miles) without a flat. There is no downside. Everyone likes to talk about weight on a bike, as long as you are not racing weight matters very little, and sitting by the side of the road repairing tires will make you 100x slower on your route than riding a lightweight bike. Make sure you buy the Slime tubes and not the bottle to add slime to your existing tubes.

Reviewed 3/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for commuting! A bit heavy, but that is the price of a life without flats...
by DCcommuter
Daily Commuter
Washington, DC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got these because I had a series of flats on my commuter bike, even when using gatorskin tires. Since I installed these I haven't had a single flat. I didn't do a double-blind study or anything, but my perception is that they work really well. They are a bit heavier and more expensive than other tubes, but I'm happy to accept the weight and not worry about flats (also, for a commuter bike with a rack and panniers, is tube weight that important?), and I save money by not buying new tubes. The only design "flaw" I can find is that a tiny spray of slime comes out of the presta valve every time you open it to top off the air. Perhaps they could put a one-way flap where the tube joins the valve to prevent that? Otherwise, this is a great product that seems to do exactly what it promises. Highly recommend them.

Reviewed 1/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tubes
by Anonymous

They're...tubes! I feel like any tube that's more robust than a "race" tube will get you great results. These are no exception.

The slime goop sealant stuff has patched a couple small punctures, though I doubt there's much left afterwards. Definitely order a couple extra to have on standby. Gives great peace of mind!

Reviewed 1/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
peace of mind for longer adventures
by Bruce
Casual Cyclist
Manchester, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a pair of these for the new tires going on my hybrid bike. I routinely ride about 15 miles at a time, and have run tire slime in regular tubes before, with no problems for a long time. These tubes cost more than plain tubes, and you can tell they are heavier than plain tubes as well, but for an exercise bike it is no big deal. They do have a cool bright green cap for the schrader valves. So far, so good with no flats after 3 months. I expect and hope there will be many more trouble-free miles to come.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Horrible
by Jack
Charleston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

both 26 inch tubes are bad out of the box the first one leaked around the valve the second one blew up when inflated to 40 pounds complete waste of time and money.

Reviewed 5/8/2022
TriSports.com Comments
Jack, We're sorry to hear about your experience with these tubes! Please reach out and we'll be happy to replace them with another brand. Ben BikeTiresDirect
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SLIME TIRE TUBES
by Craig
Henderson, Nv

USE SLIME EXTRA STRONG 29X1.25 ON MY TOURING BIKE, WHILE RIDING ON 700X47 TOURING TIRES, WORKS GREAT

Reviewed 1/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No punctures
by Contador
Cycling Enthusiast
Anacortes W.A.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tube, easier to. Install than I expected with the slime in it. I ride over a section of path that has lot's of Clam shell's dropped by Seagull's I no longer have a fear of flatting. Also, Before getting the slime tube's I carried a saddle bag with a couple of regular tube's, co2, tire lever's. Now I don't carry anything.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Slime self sealing tube so far so good
by Anonymous
Boston North Shore

Installed tube with a new tire. No flats yet. Tube is heavier than a standard tube.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tube split open
by Naderi65
Gold River, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

8 miles into the first ride on these tubes I had a flat. When I took the tube out it had split at the seam. Failure was not due to puncture. I�d bought a second one so I put the 2nd one in and have been riding on that one. 150 miles in on the second one with no issues.

Reviewed 11/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Never again for road bike
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used these for years on my mtb. Work great, I've had two flats with these, not enough air/time to self seal and the slime makes a patch not feasible. They are also pretty heavy compared to normal tires. The green valve caps are cool though

Reviewed 11/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Strong, and reliable
by Luciano
Daily Commuter
Naperville, Illinois United States

I did not have any problem installing and using, they seem to be considerably strong and may resist some puncture from rust, I like them.

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More weight then a normal tube but for my commuter bike just another way to protect myself from flats.
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have a beltdrive and getting my rear wheel out is just a little more time consuming. So this is just another layer of protection to avoid flats. I use it on my raincommutergravel bike.

Reviewed 6/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Slime works!
by RSL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego county

These tubes have kept me flat-free for months. I use these in 28mm tires.

Reviewed 11/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Slime works
by chipg
Cycling Enthusiast
San Farnciso and Santa Fe NM

It's easy, the slime is already in the tube. This is absolutely great if you ride in a place with goat head stickers, you can usually pull them out and keep riding I put them on my wife's bike as she doesn't take a pump or know how to fix a flat yet.

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Never again for road bike
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I�ve used these for years on my mtb. Work great, I�ve had two flats with these, not enough air/time to self seal and the slime makes a patch not feasible. They are also pretty heavy compared to normal tires. The green valve caps are cool though

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No more goop for me
by Jeff
Schertz
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Probably nothing wrong with the tubes and maybe I didn't study the instructions close enough; BUT, when I used the air pressure gage on it goop came out through the valve and clogged up my gage. (My tubes were Schrader valves) Gave them to a friend who didn't care since he just thumps his tires when checking pressure. If I become a thumper I would try them again, but otherwise I'll stay with non goop tubes.

Reviewed 9/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubes
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lake Stevens
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

My wife and I use these tubes on our daily commuter bikes. And after a year of service she got a flat. Upon closer inspection the tube actually had 7 punctures that sealed. Ironically, this last one sealed too and she was able to get home safely.

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heavy and don't ride well, but very effective at preventing flats.
by Hoban Washburne
Daily Commuter
pdx
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Boy these are heavy tubes. But after three consecutive days of flatting from different punctures on new tires, I gave up. Once installed, your wheels will noticeably slump around and handling is pretty terrible. But hey, no flats after 600 miles so far, a couple self-healed punctures, and they hold air like a dream. I'd never use them for training or weekend rides, but they serve their purpose for daily commuting peace of mind.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What gives
by Giant rider hurting at home
Cycling Enthusiast
Temecula, CA
7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I ride because it is part of my physical therapy regiment. I have back, leg, and foot issues and after my latest diagnoses, I can only ride a bike (and I used to hike, walk, and jog but can't because of health reasons) I have been using Slime tubes for years and had a pretty good supply stocked up. I understand that were I live I will occasionally get a flat that is why I carry the necessary extra tubes and a pump on all of my rides. Something must have happened because the last time I stocked up I must have received a defective batch or something because I have had to replace 4 flats in the last two weeks. One ride last week took me two hours to travel three miles....why, because I had to replace two tubes on the same tire on the same trip. You might think flat, no big deal...with back and leg problems, pushing home a bike makes worse my condition and the last time I ended up staying in bed for a whole day and missing work as a result. I used to think Slime was wonderful, but now not so much...especially since the last flat was result of a tube split on a seam which was on the rim side of the tube. This screams obvious defect and poor quality of workmanship (well at least on this last batch). Definitely going to Slime.com and tell them what's what. Four times I've had to replace flat tubes that refused to hold any air. I'm not a rocket scientist but if this isn't a result of a bad batch and represents just a single incident, we'll see, but if this is the new normal for slime tubes, it's obvious that they are a waste of money, time, and my health...too bad, they used to make a wonderful product.

Reviewed 3/24/2016
TriSports.com Comments
Hi,

Thank you for the product review. We are sorry to hear about your experience but would be happy to help get you set up with replacement tubes or anything else. Please call or email us at your convenience, and we will get started on helping out you.

Best, Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page