X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Silca Latex 700 x 24-30mm Tube

SilcaLatex 700 x 24-30mm Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(2)
(78%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(11%)
Excellent tubes overall
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

First i have been riding latex tubes for about 6-7 years now, so i have pretty much run the gamut with them. Second, please ignore the reviews from people who don't know how to change a tube properly. Yes, if your ham-fisted, don't check the tire and rim bed for additional debris or pinch them, you WILL blow these out immediately. If you're the type who loves patching tubes to use them until they basically deteriorate inside your tire, these are not for you. Also, if your not the type that likes to air-up before each ride, look elsewhere. That said, if you're looking for a "close to tubeless/sew-up" as you can get but with less cost and hassle, this is where you need to be. The feeling between butyl and latex while riding is day and night. more communicative with whats passing under the tire, much more tactile. Latex is also more cost saving on watts according to bicyclerollingresistance.com. There's also a difference in the sound the tire makes on the pavement while rolling that i find pleasing. Overall in terms of cost per tube, performance and tactile feedback - you cannot do better IMO. The biggest drawback is that they don't hold air as long as butyl tubes do, due to the more porrus nature of the material. To me, i don't see this as an issue as spending 2 minutes checking my tires for cuts and proper pressure is something all cyclists should do anyway, but to each their own. Also i found having a good pump that doesn't require you to pull too much on the valve stem helps a-lot as well. Finally, i will restate that these aren't for ham-fisted types who man-handle a tube like it's a brick. Learn to insert tubes correctly and you'll have no issues. Tubes get their strength from TIRES! They really arn't inherently all that "strong" - being this is the case you should never rely on a tubes' strength to compensate for a worn or shoddy tire - you're just asking for a blow out. I have used Vittoria and Silca plus a few others and they are all pretty much the same - you can't really loose, so you can let price be your guide.

Reviewed 6/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tube with noticeable performance improvement over butyl
by Kyvdh10
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgetown, KY

I'm running these tubes on a Surly Steamroller SS/ FG. Running at lower pressures with these resilient tubes really makes for a faster and more compliant ride. I was skeptical before but really like these. Like the smooth valve stem too.

Reviewed 8/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
4,200 Miles and Counting!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Upstate NY

Less rotational weight and a more supple ride...why wouldn't you buy these tubes?? I can't be certain of the energy savings, but these latex tubes are light and provide a very smooth ride. The retail price is high compared to standard tubes, but a cheap upgrade if you consider the amount of hours any serious cyclist spends on the road.

Installation is easy. Plenty of talc and don't pinch the tube - so the same process as any other tube installation! If you can't install a tube without pinching it(1 star knucklehead reviewer), then take it to your LBS.

Approximately 4,200 miles on these tubes so far, and NO issues, NO flats.

Buy Them.

Reviewed 2/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
not worth it
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Or
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Figured I'd give it a try the hype is faster, smoother. the first one popped on installation and the second blew out twenty miles into its second ride.

save your money

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding tube.
by Colnago Rider 65
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Helps clinchers ride like tubulars.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Latex tube
by Anonymous

Forget about road tubeless, latex is the way to go

Reviewed 6/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bought As An Indulgence
by aharmon
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to do a century ride based on GCN and other's suggestion that latex tubes do make a difference. My anecdotal experience - with the caveat that it could be all in my head - is that they do! Ride does seem seem a bit more compliant/comfortable. Quality appears to be excellent. Worth giving them a try!

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worthless fragile tubes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

I caused two pinch flats while installing these with new tires, and I popped two more while airing up the newly installed tires. Grrr. These are a complete waste of money. They are VERY fragile.

Reviewed 5/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to Tubes
by TCB
Cycling Enthusiast
Venice, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Faster, lighter, easy to repair, and with shorter valve stems than the competition. All good.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Every Watt Counts in a TT
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run these exclusively on my TT bike. Research says latex is good for a watt or two per wheel, so if you hope to do your very best you need a pair. They're not cheap but they do go on sale on occasion.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great latex tube better than other cheapos
by JG
Cycling Enthusiast
southwest, FL
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

prep w talcum...not baby powder...goes a long way towards success with any latex tubes. Way smoother ride, less vibration, harshness, does make a difference on road with rolling resistance being less over long efforts. 4 stars because, have yet to find any 5 star latex tube

Reviewed 7/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for wider tires
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Latex tubes, paired with high quality tires, provide great road feel and modestly lower rolling resistance than butyl tubes. Silca's are designed for wider tires (think 25mm ), and work nicely with wider contemporary clincher rims, which can add 2-3mm effective width to your tires. The valve stem-42mm-is perfect for most low profile rims, and not uneccessarily long given that deeper rims will need extenders anyway...These tubes aren't cheap, but last long and are worth the extra bucks to optimize your ride.

Reviewed 4/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No issues.
by Joy Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these when my usual, less expensive, brand was out of stock. No issues to report.

Reviewed 4/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are high quality tubes...that make your bike feel light and fast...great!
by Bikeman
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Islnd
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Well, its an innertube...but t is light weight, and soft, or supple and the combination make th ri a joy tats addictiv...

Reviewed 3/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PRs Improved
by Steve F.
Saugus, MA
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Switched to GP 4000S II and these latex tubes, my times have definitely improved slightly - nothing like a wheel upgrade but I'll take any improvement I can get.

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Faster
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
NC mountains
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Research says 2-5 watts per wheel. If youre a TT racer, thats huge. Theyre not cheap, but winning sometimes takes a little extra.

Reviewed 9/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
There is a difference, on can feel it...and seems to measure on Strava
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Latex tubes were less fussy to install than I feared they would be. now with several hundred miles on them they feel inspired. The ride is more comfortable than t was with the butyl tubes, I adjust the air pressure before each ride....a very good purchase.

Reviewed 8/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Free Speed! For a modest price.
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Pisgah National Forest, NC
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The studies say 2-5 watts per wheel, so I guess I gotta have em for my TT bike! Plus, these have a durable stem with the perfect length to fit my disk wheel.

Reviewed 5/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.