Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Showers Pass Mens Transit Jacket

Showers PassMen's Transit Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Excellent jacket. Kept me dry and warm when needed.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I take it on bicycle rides where there is a threat of rain. It kept me dry when it rained lightly but that was only once. I've never used it yet when it rained heavy. I have nothing negative to say about it.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice!
by John
Twin Cities MN area and Wisonsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very nice as described. Absolutely order one size smaller. I have other SP jackets, all large, but the Transit Jacket ordered in large was huge in the chest and arm length. I ordered another medium and it fits perfect, not tight and plenty of room for layers underneath. I am 510, 199 lbs. The Transit looks more like a functional field coat than sporty like the Elite 2.1. Both nice!

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great jacket!
by charlie98117
Daily Commuter
Seattle
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new one to replace one I bought 5 years ago. I commute daily in Seattle so a good rain jacket is a must so when the old one started not being quite so waterproof I bought a new one. I especially like the large pit zips that can be unzipped on the fly to adjust the airflow.

Reviewed 3/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry as a bone
by TimZ
San Jose, CA

With the optional hood attached, I have never been happier with a rain jacket. It doesn't pack down very small, but with the hood off and the vents open is still comfortable when the rain stops.

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A required piece of clothing for Portland commuting
by ngroesz
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is Shower Pass's flagship commuting jacket. I purchased a version of nine years ago and finally decided to replace it. It was no longer waterproof, the velcro tabs were falling off, and it was nearly worn-through in places. I was happy to see that they still produced the model without significant changes. There is now a velcro flap behind the collar, I guess for a hood or some such. But there are not too many additional bells or whistles. The cut is great I have gangly arms and it fully covers them when I am riding. It also fully covers my long torso when I am hunched over.

That my previous jacket got me through nine Portland winters is I think a testament to the product's quality. I used it in the pouring rain and also on calm, cool days as a wind-breaker. So far, this new version appears that it will hold up well.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for holding out wind rain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've had this jacket going on a second season. It does a great job holding out the wind and rain. I use it over the top of layers in the winter here in Colorado. A few things I've noticed. The zippers are difficult to open close. Especially the zippers on the pockets. It doesn't have back pockets to hold tubes or power bar or whatever you plan to take with you. The size comes big but that works well with layering. One last thing the fabric has turned rough after several washing's. I wash it weekly as I commute on the bus one way to work and ride home daily. I ride 5000 miles per year. If you want a no frills, tough and to the purpose jacket this is it.

Reviewed 11/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maybe not for motorbike riding in tropical thunderstorms. . .but then, what is?
by Ken P
Seattle and Viet Nam
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the jacket for riding a 40 mph motorbike in Viet Nam, having in mind the constant drizzle and occasional downpours I've experienced there in several winter trips. I took the jacket, however, on a recent late spring trip and had only a morning of misty cool rain (which the jacket laughed off) and one extremely heavy violent afternoon thunderstorm. It took nearly an hour and about 30 km to ride through the storm. The headwind was truly ferocious, slowed the bike to 40 kmh at full throttle, and the rain was extremely heavy. I should have sought shelter. Using Showers Pass jacket and pants but no rubber boots, my feet and lower legs were appropriately soaked when we rode out of the storm. Likewise, however, my waist and forearms were soaked, leaving me with dry thighs, chest and upper arms. . .not a perfect performance, but a horrendous challenge. I was only slightly disappointed to be as wet as I was, but pleased I was n o wetter. More rational usage in typical Seattle area drizzle should be perfectly satisfactory.

Reviewed 5/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Showers Pass can do no Wrong!
by davidwhite1960
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Terrific rain and wind jacket.

Reviewed 2/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value in a commute rain jacket
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I tried out several rain jackets last Fall for my commute and this is the one I kept. In contrast to the tighter fitting, more expensive jackets in the Showers Pass and Novara lines, this one suited me best with is combo of a good fit for layering under without being overly baggy without an extra layer, multiple zips for ventilation, adequate pockets, good wind-blocking, and good visibility features. It works well in heavy rain and temperatures from the mid-30's into the 60's. I generally start on cold mornings with a polar fleece layer underneath and unzip as I go sometimes ditching the underlayer at a light. Only minor complaint is the main front zipper is sometimes tricky to get locked in and started with its double zipper (zips from top down or bottom up or both) feature.

Reviewed 2/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice cold and rainy weather jacket
by idcruiserman
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The sizing is big. I would go down at least one size. I'm 6' 190lbs, and I normally wear large. I got a medium, and there is still some room.

I've used the jacket in relative cold (20F to 45F) and in the rain. It works well in the rain. It breathes reasonably well. The pit zips help to cool down, but it would be nice if they were a little longer.

For the price it should have a back pocket. I don't understand why cycling jackets don't have 4 pockets (2 front hand, 1 chest, and 1 back). I prefer a right handed zipper, but that's just me. It takes a little effort to get the zipper going, but no issues with the durability.

Good visibility at night.

Overall I'm pleased with the fit and performance. It would be perfect if they added a back pocket and dropped the price some.

Reviewed 2/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than expected
by Anonymous
North Idaho

I commute a nice seven miles to the office . Very impressed how warm and comfortable this jacket is . The venting is great.wonderful product

Reviewed 12/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great purchase
by RFoster
Cycling Enthusiast
Greater Chicago area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used the transit jacket for over month now in my rides tofrom work by bike three-four times per week. The jacket is well made. If you are used to close-fitting cycling clothing you will find the fit to be quite roomy. While I considered getting a medium, I went with a large to allow for comfortable layering during our Chicago winters. I'm glad I did as this past November we were in the teens already and I was zipped up, layered, and comfy.

I'm also glad that I chose to buy the bright yellow color. In my commute, maybe 99% of motorists are courteous, but they do tend to be in a hurry, and they are distracted by their phones. The yellow seems to communicate my presence on the road sooner giving them more time to react and give me space.

The jacket has a horizontal vent in the back under the reflective strip. When it was warmer out, opening the arm pit zippers provided good ventilation.

My only regret in buying the jacket is that I wish I bought it last year instead of riding all winter with my 15 year old leaky jacket.

Reviewed 12/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding. Worn during Florida downpours. Works perfectly
by Lance
Orlando
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this jacket primarily for touring. It is well vented and very roomy. I will have no problem wearing multiple layers under this jacket. I would like to see more reflective material and the hood included in the price of the jacket.

Reviewed 5/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply Brilliant
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I'm super picky and tend to research products well in advance of purchasing. I tried 3 different competing products before landing on the Showers Pass Transit Jacket. My review in summary is... it works exactly as advertised! Awesome venting (under arm vents are stellar), great articulation, it breathes as advertised and the mesh lining acts as a barrier between your skin and the waterproof membrane.

Reviewed 10/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Jacket!
by SeatownCommuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I am a daily Seattle commuter so I have to deal with the rain occasionally. I have used this jacket through one season and I'm very happy with it. Always keeps me bone dry and the large pit zips let me regulate the warmth according to my need.

Reviewed 10/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket, Great Customer Service
by Olyguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

As a regular bike commuter, I get to spend a lot of time in my Showers Pass Transit Jacket. Love the jacket. The fit is comfortable and roomy. I fall into the in-between medium and Large, but due to my arm length, had to go with the large. Very comfortable. The pit zips ventilate well. My biggest complaint was the front waterproof zipper, which actually unravelled twice. The company replaced the jacket quickly and has since changed the zipper to a larger tooth, non-waterproof zipper, but with a flap behind it. I very much prefer that. The zipper is easier to slide and the protection is just fine. Great product and great company.

Reviewed 3/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Eugene
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Wear it every day riding to and from work. Keeps me dry, breaks the wind and looks good too. Has made all the difference in my ride. I used to not ride in the rainy season but now I ride daily regardless of the weather.

Reviewed 12/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tent! Great rainwear also.
by pitdoug1998
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I love the jacket but I had to return the XXL for a XL and it's still to big. I wear a XXL in EVERYTHING I own save for RL Polo pullover and button down shirts and the same with Nautica . Bluntly I'm huge by most folks standards. I'm 6'4 and weigh roughly 240 depending on the season. My waist is about 38 most pants and my suit coat size is 46L generally. So when I say these things are two sizes to big you may want to heed my warning. They're a tent. I could've used the XXL as emergency shelter in a blizzard! I think Western said they have a disclaimer somewhere saying that these jackets had a 'generous cut' or some such. Whatever. If everyone were this generous, we wouldn't be facing the largest tax hikes known to mankind, but don't get me started on that.

So in closing buy the jacket, ANYTHING Showers Pass but BEWARE they're enormous. If not for the size it'd have garnered a 5 . Also Western was wonderful in the exchange, I just feel like the disclaimer should be a pop up at check out.

Reviewed 12/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.