Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Showers Pass Mens Pro-Tech ST Jacket

Showers PassMen's Pro-Tech ST Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(17%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Exactly what I wanted.
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL

Just gave it four stars because its a little pricey. Its light enough that it can be folded to your jersey pocket.

Reviewed 7/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Is this the mythical mithril?
by Father of 3 on MI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Light and shimmery; protects from rain without sacrificing breathability. I have enough layers to stay warm; I just need the liner to keep me dry. This product does keep you dry on the inside. Sure it's not perfect, but better than anything else I have tried in over 30 years of riding in the rain. I like that it is a thin membrane so it breathes moisture better than a shell with an breathable liner. Test will be to see how long it holds up commuting here in Seattle. So far so good!

Reviewed 1/23/2015
TriSports.com Comments
Thumbs up to the Tolkien reference! Anna BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rain jacket
by pilotguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Vancouver, BC. We have two seasons summer and wet. I was looking for a good, lightweight and breathable rain shell that wouldn't overheat me for wet fall/winter/spring rides when paired with my standard long sleeve jersey base layer (depending on temps). This is it.

It keeps the rain out, and breathes enough that you can dress for the ride as if it were dry, without worrying about overheating in a sweat-sack.

Nice form-fit (albeit with very minor wind flapping on the arms), great construction and design. Love this thing. It's all I need for long, wet rides.

Sizing is good. I'm 5'11 170lbs and wear the large.

Reviewed 11/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
functional tool for wet weather
by nor cal biker
Competitive Racer
Placerville, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This rain coat does the job. Easy to pack in jersey pocket and can be worn for long periods due to breathability of material. Great functionality at a reasonable price range.

Reviewed 3/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very packable
by Anonymous
Portland OR

It is not super waterproof, and if you ride hard you will sweat because it is not that well ventilated.

It is about the best balance of waterproof, ventilation, and packability I have used though, so when you need a little protection on a ride and the weather doesn't require a full on rain shell this is a good option.

Reviewed 9/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
waterproof but expect a ton of sweat inside as well
by cpreston
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis

I wanted to love this jacket. Love the fit and the light feel. And the packability. But unlike most of the other reviewers I literally had puddles of water build up in the arms after just 13 of my ride. It was a cool 45-50 degree day on 100 mile ride but by mile 30 I couldn't figure out why my gloves were wringing wet. Thought my water bottle had exploded. Then my other arm let loose with ounces of water. I was soaked and chilled.

Reviewed 6/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ventilation, fit, and features
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

Cycling Spring, Summer, Fall so the jersey shows. Have not found anything wrong with this item.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Packable Rain Insurance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have a boatload of jackets, one for just about every situation. This jacket is the one I use when rain is possible, but I don't expect bitter cold.

My buds call it the shower curtain, but let me tell you ... it is completely waterproof and windproof. It has saved my rear end on more than a few rainy days. It is also remarkably breathable. With the double zipper and velcroed cuffs, it can be reasonably well ventilated too ... even without pit zips.

This is not a workhorse jacket you wear every day. The material is gossamer thin (one of the reasons it is so packable), and it probably would not last. But for totally packable rain insurance, it's hard to beat.

One criticism is the choice of color. I appreciate that the material itself is clear ... that allows your jersey to be seen underneath. But what little cloth material there is on this jacket is white ... and white is no bueno for a jacket that is going to be used in the rain.

Reviewed 3/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect light weight rain protection.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I crashed and tore my first one on the shoulder.

Since it was a key part of my gear, I promptly bought another.

That says that I'd buy it again, right?

Reviewed 5/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light weight and easy to carry on or off the bike
by jarhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Seatle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this product mainly for cycling on days when it looks like I might get caught on the road. Folds up into the read pocket.

Reviewed 2/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
keeps you dry
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got caught in the rain at mile 15. Did 20 more miles without my top getting wet. Unfortunately, can't say the same about the bottom. Could be more packable but it does pack into its own back pocket nicely enough. Breathability is average. I did not get soaked inside from my own sweat but it was only 65 degrees or so that day. My ride however did include over 3300 ft of climbing so it wasnt necessarily an easy effort riding. Size is appropriate. I wear medium in just about every brand I tried and medium in this jacket leaves just enough looseness. Soft collar is a nice touch.

Reviewed 10/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry, warm, windpfroof!
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this for chilly wet days...50 degrees and cooler, down to the forties. First used descending The Galibier and then Alp d'Huez. What more is there to say...it works and is super light weight and stuffs into it's own self contained mesh bag and fits into jersey pocket easily. Only gave 4 stars because the inner collar material is white and is off color after 3 uses. But still, at Cyclocross.com price, NO complaints!

Reviewed 7/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best piece of cycling clothing I have purchased in years
by Anonymous
New Jersey
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Light, easy to pack, seals great, breathes. Basically it does everything it claims and does it well!

Reviewed 2/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rain is inevitable, being wet is not...
by Metaphor_man
Competitive Racer
Seattle
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

My wife and I live in Seattle, it rains in Seattle, often. We ride bikes a lot. When you pair those two situations you end up riding in the rain, a lot. When you need a jacket because It looks like rain...Showers Pass provides an intelligent and practical solution. This rain jacket is light, breaths, and wraps up in its own back pocket. While these jackets are not inexpensive, they are a great value for what they provide. In addition, if you race, the jackets are highly opaque and your number and team colors are easily viewed through the jacket. We are on our second SP Pro-Tech jackets and they continue to improve the design. The latest design's material, zipper placement and design -especially for storage- is even better than previous models. A good jacket you will use often and be glad you made the purchase.

Reviewed 10/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not just best lightweight rain jacket, but best rain jacket... period.
by Lola
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This jacket isn't just for short rides or light rain. It works as well as my full-blown rain jacket. Maybe better, since it breaths so well. With a regular rain jacket (even my amazing Showers Pass Elite jacket), you get pretty wet from your own sweat on the inside. But with the Pro-Tech ST Jacket, you stay dry on the inside and the outside.

The fit is great too - form fitting so it doesn't flap around in the wind.

This jacket has become my 1 go to jacket for wet rides.

There is nothing I don't like about it.

Reviewed 4/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best rain gear ever
by Bob Macleod
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston Ma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Highly effective and compacts to fit easily in rear shirt pocket. Highly effective in sudden rain showers experienced in Hawaii plus also excellent windbreaker.

Reviewed 3/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Surprisingly breathable, easy to stow...
by OnTheRoad4TheTrack
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I had the Hincapie version of this coat, which was like riding in a terrarium when you wore it. It was time to replace that jacket so, since i needed something that can fit in a jersey pocket, I gave this jacket a try. It's worked-out great. The Showers Pass breaths enough to be comfortable, while retaining enough heat to be something a little more than just waterproof. I'm diggin' it.

Reviewed 1/17/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome jacket, I had to buy my wife one because she was always stealing mine.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Mountains
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Pro-Tech is a very effective rain jacket and packs up so small that I don't hesitate taking it on a ride. My other jacket is bulky enough in my jersey pocket that I often leave it behind thinking maybe it won't rain(or snow). It's been used in rain and sleet in the mountains of Colorado and has saved a few rides.

Reviewed 12/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.