X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Shimano WH-RS500 Tubeless Wheelset (Replaces WH-6800)

ShimanoWH-RS500 Tubeless Wheelset (Replaces WH-6800)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(60%)
(27%)
(7%)
(3%)
(3%)
Very Happy With This Wheelset
by kevsy
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got this wheel set after the back wheel on my newer Kestrel bike cracked. These wheels were so superior to the stock wheels, that I decided to buy a second set for my older Kestrel bike. The ride on both bikes has improved markedly. My local bike mechanic was even impressed with the quality. My wife and I ride daily, so these wheel sets were definitely a good investment. Also, delivery was prompt and all my questions as to the technical specifications were answered quickly and clearly.

Reviewed 7/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I don't have these wheels but I have the WH-6800's and I have more than 25,000 miles on them!! The wear marks are almost gone so time to get these!!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I assume that these are pretty much exactly the same as the WH-6800's. They are such a good solid wheel!! The first 15,000 miles I didn't even have to true them but started having a little issue with the wheels coming out of true but I just replaced the 2 spokes that kept getting lose and I haven't had to true them for the last 10,000 miles. I mostly ride mountain roads that are pretty rough, bunny hope over big cracks and huge pot holes, I also ride quite a bit of gravel and these wheels hold up much better than any wheel I've ever had. I mostly run tubeless tires on these wheels and I love that you don't even have to prep them with tubeless tape because the wheel is already sealed. You just need the tubeless valve, tubeless tire, air, and sealant. Oh and I've never broken a spoke, I can't say that about any other wheelset that I've had. If you are on a low budget, these are the wheels to get. I've always wanted to get some nice carbon wheels for racing but I've trained and raced with these on the last 2 bikes I've owned and for me, they're fast enough. I'm not sure how much faster I could go with better wheels but these have done me well.

Reviewed 6/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
decent wheels
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I picked these up to replace a set of DT Swiss wheels that came with the bike; I'm looking to upgrade to a 2x11 setup and my old wheels were not compatible. I would rate them as being about the same; the weights of the two wheelsets were virtually identical. For a rim brake, they work well, as expected. They seem a tad stiffer than my original wheelset. The downside is the bearings don't run nearly as smoothly as the cartridge bearing in the DT Swiss wheels. The rims are great, I'm just not 100% sold on cup and cone bearings (I know, they're supposed to be better for lateral loads and more durable...). I appreciate that the new wheels came with QR skewers, valve stems to run the wheels tubeless (yes, the wheels are tubeless ready), and with two spoke wrenches (each wrench has two ends-one to turn the nipple the the other to hold the bladed spoke).

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Best value for the money. Good price for the weight. Best bang for the buck for rim brakes.

Reviewed 8/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, durable wheels!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this wheelset to replace my Mavic Ksyrium wheelset. After a year of riding with the Mavics, the back wheel became very 'sticky'-it just didn't spin well anymore. I had several technicians service it (clean out the hub, re-lube), but it remained 'sticky'. I also was not very impressed by the durability of the Mavics. I have been riding these Shimano wheels for a few months, and I love them. They may not be the lightest wheelset around, but they are certainly durable (durability is more important to me than weight where I ride, as the pavement has potholes and is uneven in many places). Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase!

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent wheelset.
by Jhawker
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these wheels because they seemed to be reliable, consistent and reasonably light. I use them with Continental 5000 clinchers and race light inner tubes. It is very flat around here and I ride mostly decent roads and bike trails and have been very happy with them. The tires mounted easily and will hold air for a week's rides. After 500 miles they are rolling straight and true.

Reviewed 4/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice wheels on a budget
by Sperry52
Maryland

I purchased this as backup wheels for my Trek Domane S6.

They were lighter than I thought and spun well. A little tough to install tires on but I managed.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great affordable upgrade
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good upgrade from the substandard wheelsets equipped on most bikes. Lightweight, bomb proof, and good looking.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Wheels!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Torrance, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The wheels roll smoothly as expected. The rims are reasonably low inertia. Wish I could get the Fiamme Yellow label sew up rims from the 70's that weighed in at around 200g. I installed Continental 23mm Gatorskin tires. Very tight and I needed to use my Tire Bead Jack to get them on. Very happy with the wheel and tire combination.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good wheel set, great price
by Wayne
Cycling Enthusiast
New York State
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a recreational rider and I log about 7,000 miles a year (yeah, I'm retired). I've been riding Ultegra for 12 years (when I switched from MTB to road). These wheels are not crazy light but are durable and very reasonably light. I decided to go tubeless so I got these wheels. I have maybe 1,000 miles on them and I'm loving it.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, Cheap, Stiff, and Perfect
by CycologistofNH
Cycling Enthusiast
Weare, NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great wheelset!

Was doing an Ultegra upgrade and it matched the drivetrain perfectly. Very light, stiff and doesn't break the bank.

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I highly recommend these wheels if you're looking to spend under $350.
by Vortex
Competitive Racer
Sacramento, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They didn't come true out of the box , but once they are they'll stay there. Getting a tire onto the rim may be difficult since the instructions say not to use a lever. I run these with tubes. I ride these on my race rides and I'm still able to keep up with the pack.

Reviewed 10/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth and fast wheels.
by old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Reeders PA.
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I don't have many miles on them yet, but so far they feel good

Reviewed 6/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great wheels
by BR
Southern US
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wheels are light and fast- run them tubed- came true and straight

Reviewed 6/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
affordable wheels
by Bill
Casual Cyclist
West Cola.S C
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

these are a decent set of wheels for the price, light and good looking . The only drawback is they have some wheel chatter

Reviewed 9/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best wheel value out there
by frosty
Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are pretty much the best deal out there if you want a slight upgrade from your stock 11 speed wheels. Surprisingly light, tubeless compatibility, smooth hubs, and unquestionable Shimano reliability.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth Riding
by Waterford
Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Priced them out. They were lowest of the competition. Delivery was timely. Good quality. Rolls great and look sharp.

Reviewed 8/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth Riding
by Waterford
Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Priced them out. They were lowest of the competition. Delivery was timely. Good quality. Rolls great and look sharp.

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good w11 speed wheels
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesa , AZ
7 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

We do road ride every day around 30 miles. Love the rim till it is time to fix a flat. We still use tubes so it is extremely hard to break the bead after it snaps in. You will hear it snap in when you inflate the tire. Need to find a fix for this problem.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really have to get the qr tight.
by Anonymous
2 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

The rear wheel keeps slipping out of the dropouts even though it is cinched down tight. Really have to crank on it to get it to stay put. Besides that really solid tubless training wheels that dont need tape which is a huge plus.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page