CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Ultegra/XT CN-HG701 11-Speed Chain

ShimanoUltegra/XT CN-HG701 11-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(114 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(95)
(14)
(0)
(4)
(1)
(83%)
(12%)
(0%)
(4%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by John Kappelman

Always have a fresh, waxed quality chain ready!
by John Kappelman
Northern Wisconsin

The Shimano's CN-HG701 11 Speed XT/Ultegra Chains are flawless on the electronic shifting drivetrains. I routinely clean and then hot wax all my chains. They�re whisper quiet, the entire drivetrain stays clean as a whistle, and I keep several chains cleaned, waxed, and ready to go. Having several chains saves time as I can quickly clean and wax several chains at once, and no dirty chain lube products on me, or my bike!

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NC cyclist

Arrived quickly in good order
by NC cyclist
Raleigh NC

Purchased to replace Shimano Ultegra 11speed road bike chain. It arrived in good order and is working perfectly. Installation is in a specific orientation so chain engraved notations are facing outward. A chain break tool is required to remove links and properly size the chain by pushing out a link pin. Requires a surprising amount of force. Reconnecting using the supplied quick link which adds two link pins. In my case 112 total links = 110 plus two from quick link reconnection.

Reviewed 8/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stuart

The standard for quality
by Stuart
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX

The ratio of longevity to weight can't be topped. I wax my chains, ride about 150 miles per week, and these never seem to wear out. Even if you happen to have a DuraAce groupset, I would use this chain.

Reviewed 11/24/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

Works well.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Just put this new chain on. It uses a quick link instead of the old pin technology. That seemed to simplify installation for me.

I'll definitely pick this chain for my the replacement on another bike.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marine74

A good chain is your best friend.
by Marine74
Cycling Enthusiast
God''s country, Northern Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

When things go wrong with your transmission it's easy to blame the components that YOU have manipulated.

A bicycle is no different than a performance car.

Tuning is critical. Micro adjustments are a fact of life, and a piss poor chain line is a recipe for early chain and casset failure.

I only use original manufacturer parts because I understand that they are engineered to work together in harmony when properly installed.

Semper Fi Shimano, you are the cat's meow!

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by S Nelson

Best chain ever
by S Nelson
Daily Commuter
DuPont, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the only chain I use on Shimano drive trains. Great value, great wear if you look after it. shifts great.

Reviewed 9/8/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF Dude

Chain that I would recommend to others
by SF Dude
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA

Super durable and high quality chain. Currently testing it with Silca Wax products and found that it is extremely suitable for this use case.

Reviewed 1/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DPK Cyclist

Great source for chains!
by DPK Cyclist
Competitive Racer
North Carolina

Great chain. Been using this one for years and it works like a gem.

Reviewed 1/4/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mike t

go to chain
by mike t
Competitive Racer
arizona

Shimano on Shimano. just works

Reviewed 12/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Came very well package.
by Anonymous

Thank the the staff there on helping me select the right compatible components for my bike.

Reviewed 11/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Just a chain really
by Anonymous

Great chain

Reviewed 11/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drerle

Out of spec out of the box, reached 0.75% after 742 miles.
by drerle
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NJ
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This chain came out of the box with 0.5% chain wear and hit 0.75% after just 742 miles.

I suspect that some of these chains are counterfeit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79K-T0RWV84

Reviewed 4/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Heath

Smooth shifting and durable
by Heath
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I just can't find a better chain than this for my Shimano 105 set-up. I ride mostly gravel and this chain hold up to constant sandstone and limestone gravel roads. I ride about 4000 miles annually, and go through 3-4 chains/year.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Smooth and reliable chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, GA

I like the quick disconnect feature of this chain. It also is smooth and quiet.

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KatyTX

Way better than KMC
by KatyTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put a KMC on my Gravel bike and it only lasted a couple hundred miles before it was stretched out. The Shimano has held up quite a bit better.

Reviewed 10/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Harry

Great chain as advertised
by Harry
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany NY

Quick, smooth shifting, durable upgrade to 105. This is my standard chain now.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cycling after 50

Great product at a fair price!!
by cycling after 50
Competitive Racer
Knoxville TN

I added this chain to my 400-500 mile rotation.....it's perfect for my road bike training....

Reviewed 9/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Works well
by Anonymous
Clearwater FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy change from worn chain. Had to adjust derailleur slightly after install. Shifts quickly and quietly. The supplied Quick Link works great!

Reviewed 9/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OR_biker

Good chain, better when on sale!
by OR_biker
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have never had any issues with Shimano chains, and this one is no exception. Got this for my friend's bike that I tuned up for him. Really like that it comes with a quick link, as I always order a KMC link to go with the 10-spd ultegra chain for my bike if it happens to be on sale. Not sure if it's just in my head, but I feel like Shimano chains run just a little quieter than KMC, but shifting performance and longevity are very similar, so I tend to go with KMC more often simply due to price, but I like grabbing Shimano occasionally when they have a good deal going.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Drerle

0.5% Chain wear out of the box
by Drerle
NJ
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I urge you to check your chain with a chain wear tool before you install it. I�ve had several new Shimano chains arrive with 2/3 of their wear already present (0.5%) in the new chain. The KMC chains I have bought arrived with 0% wear.

Reviewed 10/31/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page