X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Ultegra RD-R8000 11spd Rear Derailleur

ShimanoUltegra RD-R8000 11spd Rear Derailleur(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Updated my 2018 105 groupset
by Anonymous

What a few years of progress makes between groupsets. Much more predictable shifting.

Reviewed 1/12/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

All products came very well packaged.
by Anonymous

Can�t wait to have these components installed the staff was so helpful in helping me select the right components for my 15 year old trek upgrade I greatly appreciate their help.

Reviewed 11/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

All products came very well packaged.
by Anonymous

Can�t wait to have these components installed the staff was so helpful in helping me select the right components for my 15 year old trek upgrade I greatly appreciate their help.

Reviewed 12/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alex

High Quality
by Alex
Georgia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought as a replacement for an older version. Went on easily with supplied cables and shifts smoothly. Very good value for the product. Would purchase again. Shipping was on time as projected. I�m a very satisfied BikesDirect customer.

Reviewed 8/12/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Quincy

It's an Ultegra Rear Derailleur
by Quincy
Tulsa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well it's an Ultegra Rear Derailleur, it's backwards compatible with the R6800 shifters but there's nothing to say, it work great, the only down side is the cable housing included in the box is a break cable housing so don't use that.

Reviewed 7/8/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cds

CRASH REPLACEMENT
by cds
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga Tennessee
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

needed to replace damaged part

Reviewed 4/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Edz B

Great Upgrade for my brother's Giant TCR Advanced Pro 1
by Edz B
Cycling Enthusiast
West Sacramento, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got the GS Mid Cage version for my brother's Giant TCR Advanced Pro 1. A great upgrade from the RD-6800-SS short cage, was limited to 28T. Now, with the extra gears, I can climb hills with ease.

Reviewed 12/25/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by shorts

Well designed
by shorts
Competitive Racer
san francisco

I currently set this up w a 5339 11-30 cassette. I initially used a wheel with a 11-32 and it worked perfectly but downgraded since I mostly race crits. You'd definitely need a medium cage for 11-34.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carl

Great upgrade!
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my Ultegra 6800 derailleur with the new one and right away noticed an improved smoother shifting and quieter than the old model also its designed to be more hidden to prevent damage. Sleeker design and color probably one of the best upgrades for your bike.

Reviewed 12/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tobysuhm

Typical Shimano Ultegra quality at great price
by tobysuhm
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

In the process of switching several of my bikes over to 11-34 cassette compatible which requires the RD-R8000 mid-cage derailleur. Have ridden Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra lines for years. Ultegra delivers excellent quality and performance at a more affordable price. Definitely recommend this derailleur if you want to be able to accommodate up to 34 tooth cassette.

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ORbiker

Nice Upgrade!
by ORbiker
Competitive Racer
Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from a three-year-old 105 derailleur. The new ultegra provides a noticeably crisper, more defined shift from a worn out 105 - longish cage accommodates 32t with ease. Why use anything else . . .

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Shimano shifting awesomeness
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

Excellent for running an 11-34 cassette. 20% grades only hurt badly now and aren't killers.

Reviewed 7/27/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by hzayas42

I happy cyclist
by hzayas42
Jersey

This derailleur allowed me to upgrade my cassette to an 11-30 cassette and its just been great. The shifting is quick and smooth and it just looks great too. The trickle down technology from the Dura Ace, makes this decision a no brainer.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chrichardsm6

Works flawlessly like most Shimano products. Improved version with extension link.
by chrichardsm6
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

You need this for cassettes over 28 teeth, i.e. 32, 34 etc.. Because of the dog-bone link extension, it works more like a short-cage design. I don't notice any difference in shifting.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chrichardsm6

Works flawlessly like most Shimano products. Improved version with extension link.
by chrichardsm6
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

You need this for cassettes over 28 teeth, i.e. 32, 34 etc.. Because of the dog-bone link extension, it works more like a short-cage design. I don't notice any difference in shifting.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chrichardsm6

Works flawlessly like most Shimano products. Improved version with extension link.
by chrichardsm6
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

You need this for cassettes over 28 teeth, i.e. 32, 34 etc.. Because of the dog-bone link extension, it works more like a short-cage design. I don't notice any difference in shifting.

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Works great, much better then earlier versions of this derailleur
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This derailleur replaced the earlier Ultegra version.

Very happy with the performance.

Great value.

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BicycleMitch

Great performing derailleur!
by BicycleMitch
Cycling Enthusiast
Oak Ridge, NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This RD-R8000 derailleur is so smooth and accurate I'm not sure why you'd spend $100 or more on Dura Ace?

Reviewed 2/23/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fairlyunreliable

Mountain bike tech for the road
by Fairlyunreliable
Portland
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this derailleur for my 1X cross bike. It worked flawless with a narrow wide chainring, 11-30 cassette and a chain catcher for a full season of cyclocross. Comparing it to my XTR 9000 derailleur, its basicslly the same design without the clutch. The short cage is longer than the previous version so it has more Tooth capacity. The B knuckle on the Ultegra is the exact same size as the current XTXTR so you can use the WolfTooth Goat link perfectly and run up to an 11-40 cassette with no issues. The chain tension spring is stronger than the previous generation derailleur and there are two tension settings. It comes stock in the lighter setting. Because it uses the Shadow design, the derailleur doesnt stick out as much as the older design so its more protected in the event of a crash.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DBG

RD- 8000 is Perfect Touch
by DBG
Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this to climb the mountain in VA with grades of 12% to 22%, this shifts like butter.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Next Page