X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano SH-MW701 Winter Gore-Tex MTB Shoe

ShimanoSH-MW701 Winter Gore-Tex MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(64%)
(27%)
(0%)
(9%)
(0%)
Why not sooner?
by BHam Biker
Competitive Racer
Bellingham, WA

After a few winters of suffering, I finally stumped up the cash to buy winter boots. WHAT A DIFFERENCE.

This last weekend, I rode for 6 hours at an average of 30deg F. I wore two layers of socks and toe warmers and my feet were quite happy. There were some (unfrozen) river sections to ride through where my boots got wet from splashing but the water didn't make it to my toes.

I normally wear size US 10 or 10.5, and I bought 45 in these. They're a little roomy but I'm okay having the space for circulation and to fit extra socks/warmers.

Reviewed 1/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good winter option
by Roverlord
Cycling Enthusiast
North Bend, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are a reasonably warm and water-resistant option for riding in bad conditions in the winter. They are not completely waterproof, as the stretchy cuffs absorb water and allow rain to run into the shoe unless paired with tights or overshoes that seal down to the lower material on the shoe. Note that they fit wider and higher-volume than other Shimano shoes, presumably to permit wearing thicker winter socks. Using thicker aftermarket insoles helped with the volume problem on my narrow feet.

Reviewed 1/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fall/winter bike shoes
by dlittman
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland Ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got my MW 701 Winter shoes today. They are precisely what I was looking for. They fit perfectly, a size higher than my normal shoes (including my normal biking shoes), which can accommodate heavy insulated socks or a layering of socks when it gets really cold. But today I took a 30 mile ride in 40 degree temperature, one pair of ordinary socks, and my feet were comfortable the entire ride. As compared to a 35 mile ride last week, similar temp, my ordinary biking shoes with insulated socks, 2 layers. The ordinary bike shoe is vented, these new Shimano's are not. I didn't have any problem putting the shoes on, tightening them, clipping to pedals with SPD clips, or taking them off at the end of the ride. Plus they were on sale this past week.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for cold weather
by Jim
Wisconsin
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These are my second pair of these shimano winter riding shoes. I wore out the old pair after 4 years of use and the new ones are looking good!

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fall/winter bike shoes
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am very pleased with these boots, I have ridden my road bike with them in air temps down to about 25F without having any coldness in my feet. The boots are comfortable & clip effectively into my pedals. I bought them slightly bigger than my regular shoe size to accommodate extra warm socks. I have been able to go on rides in the low 30s as long as 40 miles without any problem with the feet.

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great winter spd shoe
by Mr. Iowa
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm more of a flat pedal rider but Iowa winters are a force to be reckoned with so i decided to prep for the below 0 temps before they arrive. These boots are the most comfortable spd shoe i've had--they feel like you're wearing a toasty pair of italian leather gloves. The sole has just enough flex making walking pleasant. i know they're pricey--but use your award points--you will not be sorry.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Narrow toe box
by Anonymous

Too narrow in the toe box, like all bike shoes.

Reviewed 2/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent!
by Anonymous
Wheaton
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A must have for winter in Chicagoland!

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hot feet
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The best purchase I've made since starting cycling.

Reviewed 12/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for winter riding!
by Anonymous
N.W. Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've ridden in temps in the low 30's with a pair of merino wool socks and my feet stayed toasty. The fit is a touch roomy which is nice to allow for heavy socks.

Reviewed 12/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Very Good Winter Bike Riding ShoeBoot
by Jim
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second pair of the Shimano winter bike riding shoeboot that I have purchased. I loved the first pair and the second pair are awesome too! I replaced the original pair due to normal wear and tear. I commute daily via bike year-round and these are just what you need when the temperature goes below 40 degrees. I have ridden with these to -10 (yes, 10 below) with excellent results.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.