X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(15%)
(4%)
(2%)
(0%)
Really wanted to use them but no go for me
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT

Constructed similarly to the S-Phyres, the RS701's are very well made, look extremely durable. Unfortunately I can't use them. As SteveB commented, putting them on is a problem. With the stock insoles, it isn't too bad, but thicker insoles or the orthotics I must use make getting them on extremely difficult. And you end up with your socks pulled tight against the ends of your toes, a real problem if you have hammertoes as I do. So I can't use them. Anybody planning/needing to use anything other than the stock inserts may have this problem.

This is not an issue with S-Phyres because they have two-piece uppers which wrap over each other; the RC701's have a three piece setup: Left, Right, and Tongue. Unfortunately the S-Phyres cost about twice as much as the RC701's.

Reviewed 10/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes!
by David
South of Denver, CO

I purchased these Shimano RC701's to replace an earlier model Shimano R171's with Velcro and ratchet strap. I went with these Shimano 701's because I assumed the fit would be similar because I tried in several different brands and models years ago and selected the 171's. Luckily the fit is virtually the same. The BOA adjusters allow infinite amount of adjustment. The sole is very stiff to allow power to the pedals. Very satisfied with my purchase.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes!! The BOA mechanisms are great!
by Eric
Competitive Racer
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I got these a half size bigger than normal as my feet seem to be swelling a bit more as I age. So, these are really great shoes right out of the box. I was a little concerned about the stiffness as the soles aren't 100% carbon. But they say they are a 10 on the Shimano scale. Whatever that actually means!

I do have to say that I like these BOA mechanisms far better than the ones that were on a pair of Specialized shoes I had. I think the technology has just evolved. The fine tuning is great and the way the second BOA wraps over the top of the foot ensure a really great fit. I love these shoes!

Reviewed 7/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoes but weak Boas
by bjedg
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, Michigan

The only disappointing thing about these is that the Boas loosen after about 15-20 minutes--sooner on rougher roads or gravel. At first I thought maybe I just under-tightened the Boas when I started out but this happens consistently on every ride. They don't loosen to the point of falling off, but the point of a cycling shoe is to hold tight and transfer force through the whole pedal cycle and these Boas loosen to the point where that is compromised.

Reviewed 7/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They're awesome
by B
Maryland

The fit is right on. Clean style and solid boa dials. I'm very happy. Might have gone top of the line, but these are great and were almost half the price- I'm not a racer, but a solid a rider.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is an overall excellent shoe with one significant drawback.
by Steve B
Cycling Enthusiast
American Southwest
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a dedicated (app 4000 mi/yr) older cyclist. These are the most expensive road shoes I have ever purchased, and the first time I wore them on the bike I could tell they are the best - the soles are quite stiff but comfortable and through their stiffness seem to give a boost to each pedal stroke. Once they are on my feet, they are a pleasure to wear on the bike, but getting them on my feet is harder than it should be. With the BOA-secured strap across the top of the shoe, there is not much of an opening to get your foot in, and it can be quite difficult to get hold of the tongue of the shoe and keep it from getting pushed into the shoe by the foot going in. The opening needs to be made larger or the tongue longer or both. A person has to wonder how much actual testing of the shoe was done before the design was finalized.

Reviewed 5/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Upgrade your cycling shoes
by Philpl
Vancouver

Having upgraded from the Shimano RC100 cycling shoes, I can definitely feel the improvements in the quality of the shoe�s material and the stiffer soles. Overall sleek looking and great cycling shoe

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new RC701s
by Mkey
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My previous shoes (Shimano R171s) which I loved, were damaged in a cycling accident and needed replacement. Doing some research, it seemed like the RC701 was the logical replacement. I love these shoes. Comfortable, stylish, and Boas instead of Velcro, and a great price point. While the Boas cannot be turned the other direction to loosen them, I find that is not an issue for me. I usually keep them a little loose to start my ride and give them a little twist if I need to later. The soles are quite stiff and I really haven't noticed any difference riding from my old beloved R171s. It you don't want to spent S-Phyre money for a great shoe, the RC701is a great choice.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome and stiff
by Aaron
Savannah,Ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The shoe is really stiff and responsive, power transfer felt spot on. The aeration is so good specially this hot and humid weather. I had some long rides a couple of times and never felt any pressure spots. The boa dials are great in spreading the tension and provides good fitting. The best thing on this is that I got it on a discounted price.

Reviewed 5/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic for my feet on long rides.
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

ive struggled to find cycling shoes that are comfortable on longer rides. every other shoe ive tried started giving me hot spots around mile 20 and ive just had to deal with the discomfort. i decided to try these out and boy am i glad i did. the toe box is generous and comfortable. i did a 50+ mile ride the day after i got these and at mile 50 my feet felt great. no hot spots at all. easy to adjust on the fly if need be as well which is nice. overall im very happy with these so far.

also the shimano size chart is different from your standard EU to US sizing. i got a 48 based on shimanos chart (usually i wear a 46-47EU, 12US) and they fit perfectly for my size 12US feet.

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value, light and stiff
by Back roads fan
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Vermont

I upgraded to these shoes when they were on sale, from almost 20-year-old lace-up Lake shoes. The boa system makes it so much quicker and easier to put on and remove the shoes. I am still getting used to how to fine tune the tightness of the two boas. The action is so smooth that it is easy to over tighten the lower adjuster. I find that I need to leave the tightness less than what I thought was needed and make small changes to optimize the fit.

The ventilation is good as advertised. I can feel the air move through the shoe when it is hot out.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe / great vendor
by tkollig
Cycling Enthusiast
midland, mi

These shoes fit great and the upper is soft. The sole is plenty of stiff for aggressive riding. I wore them now for ~400mi and really like them.

I was unsure about sizing but I called the vendor and they gave me info about shimano's sizing variations.

Returns would have been easy (according to that conversation) but The shoes fit perfectly.

Reviewed 8/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable shoes
by Carbonfiberkid
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I I haven't done any long rides yet but so far on the shorter rides, 30 minutes, on the trainer these are really comfortable. With the short tongue and BOA system they are a little harder to put on

Reviewed 4/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome and stiff
by Aaron
Savannah,Ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The shoe is really stiff and responsive, power transfer felt spot on. The aeration is so good specially this hot and humid weather. I had some long rides a couple of times and never felt any pressure spots. The boa dials are great in spreading the tension and provides good fitting. The best thing on this is that I got it on a discounted price.

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy Feet
by Me from here
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been waiting to buy these shoes, I had to wait for my Shimano SH-R171's which were a solid purchase to wear out before I deserved new shoes. I have had shoes from Sidi, Mavic, Garneau, Northwave, and Shimano. The Shimano shoes seem to be the best at combining comfort and power transition at the right price. More toe box space than the previously mentioned shoes and great overall feel. The Boa closures are really sweet and super easy to use, my Garneau' also has the Boa system but placed differently, the Rc7's placement is more comfortable and secure to me.

Reviewed 1/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these shoes, true to size compared to Bontrager shoes,
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Braunfels, Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I do not compete anymore but love a light weight, stiff sole shoe and these fit the bill. Haven't ridden in them enough to find anything bad with them. I love the little extra room I feel I have in the toe box area. Would buy them again from what I can tell so far. I wear an 11 in almost all my casual shoes and the 46 was a perfect fit.

Reviewed 12/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoe, well vented and stiff sole
by Mike H
New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been wearing Fizik for years and was ready to try something new. I bought the white and they are a beautiful shoe. Well ventilated, and very stiff sole. As far as sizing, I am a 9 1/2 and I bought these in a 45. I like my cycling shoes slightly large to accommodate swelling in hot temps. These fit perfect, and have a very roomy toe box.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great shoe.
by Rides2Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson

This is the best road bicycling shoe I have owned.

Reviewed 5/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable shoe
by BillS
Cycling Enthusiast
Andover, Minnesota, United States

I really appreciate the dual adjuster on each shoe. It helps me get the perfect fit. It also offers the ability to adjust the toe separately from the top strap. It is exactly what I wanted.

Reviewed 5/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great shoe for the price.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA

I also own a pair of the S-Phyre RC9's as well. The RC7 is not quite

as stiff but still a great shoe considering the price compared to the RC9. Adding the 2nd Boa makes this a better shoe than the previous option. Super comfortable right out of the box.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page