X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(7)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(18%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Love my new RC701s
by Mkey
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX

My previous shoes (Shimano R171s) which I loved, were damaged in a cycling accident and needed replacement. Doing some research, it seemed like the RC701 was the logical replacement. I love these shoes. Comfortable, stylish, and Boas instead of Velcro, and a great price point. While the Boas cannot be turned the other direction to loosen them, I find that is not an issue for me. I usually keep them a little loose to start my ride and give them a little twist if I need to later. The soles are quite stiff and I really haven't noticed any difference riding from my old beloved R171s. It you don't want to spent S-Phyre money for a great shoe, the RC701is a great choice.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these shoes, true to size compared to Bontrager shoes,
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Braunfels, Texas

I do not compete anymore but love a light weight, stiff sole shoe and these fit the bill. Haven't ridden in them enough to find anything bad with them. I love the little extra room I feel I have in the toe box area. Would buy them again from what I can tell so far. I wear an 11 in almost all my casual shoes and the 46 was a perfect fit.

Reviewed 12/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoe, well vented and stiff sole
by Mike H
New Jersey

I've been wearing Fizik for years and was ready to try something new. I bought the white and they are a beautiful shoe. Well ventilated, and very stiff sole. As far as sizing, I am a 9 1/2 and I bought these in a 45. I like my cycling shoes slightly large to accommodate swelling in hot temps. These fit perfect, and have a very roomy toe box.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic for my feet on long rides.
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana

ive struggled to find cycling shoes that are comfortable on longer rides. every other shoe ive tried started giving me hot spots around mile 20 and ive just had to deal with the discomfort. i decided to try these out and boy am i glad i did. the toe box is generous and comfortable. i did a 50+ mile ride the day after i got these and at mile 50 my feet felt great. no hot spots at all. easy to adjust on the fly if need be as well which is nice. overall im very happy with these so far.

also the shimano size chart is different from your standard EU to US sizing. i got a 48 based on shimanos chart (usually i wear a 46-47EU, 12US) and they fit perfectly for my size 12US feet.

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value, light and stiff
by Back roads fan
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Vermont

I upgraded to these shoes when they were on sale, from almost 20-year-old lace-up Lake shoes. The boa system makes it so much quicker and easier to put on and remove the shoes. I am still getting used to how to fine tune the tightness of the two boas. The action is so smooth that it is easy to over tighten the lower adjuster. I find that I need to leave the tightness less than what I thought was needed and make small changes to optimize the fit.

The ventilation is good as advertised. I can feel the air move through the shoe when it is hot out.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe / great vendor
by tkollig
Cycling Enthusiast
midland, mi

These shoes fit great and the upper is soft. The sole is plenty of stiff for aggressive riding. I wore them now for ~400mi and really like them.

I was unsure about sizing but I called the vendor and they gave me info about shimano's sizing variations.

Returns would have been easy (according to that conversation) but The shoes fit perfectly.

Reviewed 8/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great shoe for the price.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA

I also own a pair of the S-Phyre RC9's as well. The RC7 is not quite

as stiff but still a great shoe considering the price compared to the RC9. Adding the 2nd Boa makes this a better shoe than the previous option. Super comfortable right out of the box.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfort and ease of use.
by imdodgrfan
Cycling Enthusiast
Socal

These shoes are very comfortable. During long rides I do not get any hot spots. They fit true to size. I wear 11.5 to 12 in shoes and these are 46.

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable yet rigid and good for high insteps
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine

Pros: I use these shoes for road and gravel riding. They are responsive on climbs, especially the rigidity provides stability and power. I have a high instep and wide feet. These are great for accommodating both. I would buy them again.

Cons"For some reason the tongue can get pushed into the shoe when I am putting them on. Very small detail given the quality and performance of the shoe.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The shoes are worth every penny!
by Vortex
Competitive Racer
Sacramento, CA

The shoes are stiff for power transfer, yet comfortable. They are thinner than other older models of cycling shoes, so be ready to wear shoe covers. I measure 225mm and got a size 42.5 since my feet are a little wide.

Reviewed 10/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfy, stiff, and good fit for a wide toe box
by Solomona8
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area

My foot is a challenge to fit because I have a wide toe box and a narrow heel. The Shimano RC 701, fit my foot really well throughout the entire ride. I am > 200lbs, and they remain stiff even when I stand on the pedals. I really enjoy riding with them.

Reviewed 10/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fit and love the Boa
by JohnA
Los Angeles

Shimano shoes fit my feet well and these are no exception. They loosened up quickly and I really like how easy and precise the Boa closures are.

Reviewed 11/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy Feet
by Me from here
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been waiting to buy these shoes, I had to wait for my Shimano SH-R171's which were a solid purchase to wear out before I deserved new shoes. I have had shoes from Sidi, Mavic, Garneau, Northwave, and Shimano. The Shimano shoes seem to be the best at combining comfort and power transition at the right price. More toe box space than the previously mentioned shoes and great overall feel. The Boa closures are really sweet and super easy to use, my Garneau' also has the Boa system but placed differently, the Rc7's placement is more comfortable and secure to me.

Reviewed 1/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
by SeattlePete
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WAS

Light, sturdy yet comfortable, love the Boa dials (will never go back to Velcro).

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Roomy and well ventilated
by East Bay Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've always worn Shimano cycling shoes because they offer a nice size toe box for me, not that I have big toes but they have always been roomier than say SIDI for example. The RC7's are spot on, plus they seem well ventilated for those hot summer rides coming up. Not the stiffest sole I've experienced, but great for me. Lightweight carbon sole and of very comfortable. I love the twin BOA dials for getting a snug fit. The shoe last seems to be the same as previous models so I bought my usual size (46) without any worry.

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoes!
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Colorado
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are my first try of a shoe with the BOA dial system. My other shoes are entry level with velcro closures- not bad but was wondering what the improvement in a nicer shoe would bring to the riding experience.

There are definite differences. The new shoes feel a bit lighter than the old, I like the BOA and the snugness of the fit, the soles are very stiff and it feels like an actual improvement in power transfer, especially out of the saddle.

The cons it's difficult to get them on, and they chafe a bit above the heel the back of the shoe. I'm thinking this will improve as they break in with use.

Reviewed 4/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stiff, light,
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a solid Shimano road shoe with double-BOA and this fit the bill. They feel very stiff (10 out of 12 according to Shimano's own scale, FWIW) and the fit is great, I have wide-ish feet and Shimano usually works well for me. The BOA is super convenient, I've found myself making adjustments a couple times while riding which I haven't done before.

Reviewed 4/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice shoe for the price
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are light, comfortable, stiff and really do the job. They might not be on the highest end of the shoe war but I doubt you'd notice much difference if any against the bigger dollar shoe. Super glad I pulled the trigger to buy them. You really cannot go wrong with them. I ended up with about 12 size larger for better fit.

Reviewed 1/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome shoe
by MKE biker
Cycling Enthusiast
53051
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great looking shoe. Feet are really locked in with no slipping. My only complaint is that the material buckles on the insteparch area. Looks a little wide and sloppy looking down on it. It has happened with other Shimano shoes I have owned. Other than that awesome shoe.

Reviewed 11/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really nice shoes
by Anonymous

Purchased after getting too much toe and foot burn with some high end Sidis. More room in toe box with these. Doing well after 1000 miles and an Ironman. Boa dials are nice.

Reviewed 9/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page