CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Polymer Coated Brake Cable Set

ShimanoPolymer Coated Brake Cable Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Art Olin

Great product
by Art Olin
Sweet Home, Or.

My old cables were 16yrs old and had faded over the years but I didn�t realize how much until I put fresh cables in....wow! What a difference....

Reviewed 8/9/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

There is no better cable
by Anonymous
Louisiana

This cable, especially matched with Shimano components, is as good as it gets. Installation and operation are so very, very smooth. The communication with the brakes is flawless and seemingly instantaneous.

Reviewed 7/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Russ

Great cables
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Oregon coast

I've had several sets of these on different bikes, the polymer coating and the housing are very good in my opinion. Unfortunately, the 800mm long cable housing for the front brake is too short for slacker gravel frames with disc brakes and wider bars and longer headtubes. And this is on a 56cm frame.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

New cables
by Anonymous

These new cables are working great.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kenny

Great product!
by Kenny
Ohio

Easy to install, works perfect. What more can a guy ask for?

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great brake cables
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These polymer coated brake cables are very slick. The installation was very easy, and am using them with the non 9000 or 6800 series brakes, (7900). I did take care though to scrape off the cable coating where it gets clamped in by the fixing bolt, I'm a bit paranoid about the cable slipping through the clamp. Great cable.

Reviewed 12/12/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OHRider

Shimano parts always work as described and never disappoint.
by OHRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH

Have recently transitioned from Campagnolo mechanical to Shimano Dura-Ace Di2. This cable set provided the finishing touch to D-A's excellent shifting and braking systems

Reviewed 8/16/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

Works well.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These cables have been working fine. What else can I say.

Reviewed 11/30/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great product
by Anonymous
sweet home, or

Installation went smooth and was very easy.

Reviewed 5/29/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil

Smooth shifting as Expected
by Phil
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There are lots of other shifter cables on the market. These aren't cheap, but they do a great job to restore smooth, quick shifting, and they're easy to install.

Reviewed 9/16/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Works like a champ
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to use and lasts a long time.

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very slippery high quality cables
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this cable set for a bike equipped with Ultegra 6500 (Shimano does not approve the use of these cables without Dura-Ace 9000 brakes). The polymer coating on this set can be scratched off with sandpaper, so that is what I did when securing the cables in the brakes. Great set of cables, probably the best you can buy.

Reviewed 8/14/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Typical high quality Shimano component.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san jose

Replacement for existing cables.

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Thank you for your feedback.