Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle SMP Hybrid Saddle

Selle SMPHybrid Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(18%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Comfortable quality ride
by Kim L
missoula Montana

I Purchased the saddle and put it on my salsa vaya bike. Ive ridden it for a lot of miles now on gravel dirt pavement and some trail, Including a cycling vacation for 2 12 weeks in southern British Columbia. Im really happy with the level of comfort in all positions on the bike with this saddle. The design seems just right for me, and true quality craftsmanship makes it nice to look at too.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
35 Years Cycling - BEST Saddle I've ever had!
by Hill Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had a bike fit and the person noticed I was often shifting my position on the bike. When I said my saddle was uncomfortable he had me try this one. I've never looked back and now have this saddle on 2 of the bikes I ride the most.

Reviewed 6/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
In the future, all saddles will look like this.
by pakcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Not sure I can bring myself to call any saddle comfortable, but after trying 50 - 60 saddles over the years, this is definitely the least uncomfortable saddle I've ever used. My butt is highly sensitive, so I need something with a decent amount of padding - which this has - without being overly wide - like nearly all saddles with this kind of padding are. Didn't have any major numbness issues, but not having the pressure in the middle is definitely more comfortable. The one problem with this saddle is getting the position right. You CAN'T take the setback - and, perhaps, height - measurements from a traditional saddle. It seems the BB to tip-of-saddle should be 5 - 15 mm LESS than a normal saddle, to keep you in the same KOP - or however you measure it - position. (The rails on these are VERY long. I can put this on a bike that I can't get other saddles far enough rearward.) Saddle may also need to be 5 mm or more lower. Tilt is also very important. I believe the recommendation is from level to 5 degrees down. (If I put mine even a degree or 2 down, my power drops 10 - 15%) Also note, due to the design, you may need a model that is 10 - 20 mm narrower than you would use on a traditional saddle. If you can't get comfortable on a normal saddle, I think you definitely should try an SMP, but you will have to tinker around with the fit, and you may need to try several models to find the right one. (I tried the TRK, but it was too wide for me.)

Reviewed 3/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
by Paul
suffolk virginia

Super comfortable makes long rides much easier

Reviewed 3/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, wa
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Not as comfortable as I expected

Reviewed 1/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works really well if your a male
by ride on
New Mexico.
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just me sure it's moved in proper position and you'll have no problem

Reviewed 11/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Did not stand up to a cross country trip.
by NKadar
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I rode across the country on this saddle, and half way through the front end tore away from the seat. Saddle was OK, but not super comfortable.

Reviewed 7/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm in love with this saddle!
by SeniorBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NH
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been searching for a saddle that doesn't cause me pain after 10 miles of riding and I finally found it. I had tried about a dozen others before and now have a closet full of like-new saddles taking up space. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone searching for comfort and perfomance.

Reviewed 7/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great quality
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

love the comfort of this seat. I was concerned the quality would not be as good as the more expensive Selle saddle, but this saddle is just as comfortable for my Time Trial Bike.

Reviewed 4/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, but wide
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Myrtle Beach, SC
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

This is an extremely comfortable saddle, but quite wide. If you have a narrow pelvis, be aware that your legs may rub. To me, however, it's still worth it to have eliminated numbness entirely.

Reviewed 2/17/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Selle SMP Hybrid is an Outstanding Saddle
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Shelton, CT
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

This is an outstanding saddle! I didn't even have to get used to this saddle. It was comfortable from the word go. It allows me to get in the drops and stay there. No pressure on those sensitive areas as I move forward or back on the saddle. For those counting every gram it may be a bit heavy, but if your looking for comfort in any position, and all day long, the Selle SMP Hybrid this is a great choice.

Reviewed 1/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.