Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle SMP Glider Saddle

Selle SMPGlider Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(9%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very happy with saddle
by Chris
California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been considering a split saddle for some time. On long rides I would experience numbness in my seat and blistering. I have logged around 400 miles on this saddle and am liking it more each ride. At 6'2 and 205lbs. The comfort is appreciated.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This one fits me
by Liz
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX

A saddle is such a personal fit item. This is the one that works for me. I've got one on each bike (3) - Road, tandem & touring. I've tried others, but saddle sores ensue. Enough said!

Reviewed 1/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product, bought for comfort-this saddle delivered. Highly recommend.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southlake TX

Leather cover and small added padding plus saddle shape provide the desired comfort.

Reviewed 11/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Seat
by M Gordon
Huntington Beach, Ca

I have tried many seats, but nothing compares to this rather odd looking, but most comfortable seat. This is my second, and worth every penny

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits like no other saddle
by leapfrog
Cycling Enthusiast
portland
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

SMP obviously studied the pelvic bone structure. The fit accommodates different pelvis-rotation angles. Amazing. After a 3-week demo period, I almost fit the next-skinnier model. Very challenging to sort out the differences across SMP lineup but found Glider at 5mm wider is best fit. Years of what Jason called perineum paranoia had my lower back vertical off the saddle, with SMP can rotate forward to a much more comfortable position. Love it.

Reviewed 7/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have this saddle on all 3 of my road bikes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SFL
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Once you find the right saddle you stick with it.

Reviewed 6/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well built saddle
by catdr
wa
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Expensive. I like this saddle and have not used it a lot - yet. No problems so far. I don't know if I would rate any saddle a 5, unless you did not know it was there. This one comes close. It is a well constructed saddle, and does not catch my pants when I am moving back into the saddle. It is expensive. Is it worth it? Maybe.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really nice Saddle
by JZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Mostly Road in NY & NJ

I really like this saddle. It was a replacement for my fizik saddle that although i liked for short distances, proved to be uncomfortable for anything longer than 25 miles. This glider saddle provides better circulation because of the cutout and i was able to recently ride 50 miles with little or no discomfort. The saddle does take some getting used to because there is more pressure on the sit bones because of the cut out. Overall, great saddle.

Reviewed 5/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great seat
by Azdirtbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix AZ
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this seat for my mountain bike because I sit on the front of the seat on steep climbs and I thought the shape would be more comfortable. It is, and I'm going to buy one for my road bike as well.

Reviewed 2/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The end of a long search
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried almost a dozen different saddles over the last ten plus years in an effort to find one that did not leave me in pain at the end of a century ride. You know, where your butt is causing you more discomfort than any other of the worn out body parts. Well this saddle solved that issue. I literally forget about it! It took a bit of time to adjust it to the right tilt so that I didn't get any numbness in important areas but after that it's been great! It has even seen me through several double centuries.

Reviewed 1/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best saddle I've ever used.
by Jorge
Competitive Racer
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I am using my second Gilder, and the next one (in some years) will be the same...

Reviewed 4/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My search has ended
by Westridge
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Like most riders I have been through over a half dozen different saddles trying to find one that isn't a major source of discomfort after 50 miles or more on the bike. I know we all have slightly different anatomical structure, but for me, this is the saddle that solved my problem. I have now finished century rides without even thinking about my saddle. Initially, it took some time to get the seat angle and positioning dialed in. But I have put over 5000 miles on it and find it to be a great saddle.

Reviewed 12/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Saddle Outstanding!
by Tim
Tacoma WA

I'm an avid cyclist and I spent lots of money trying to find a saddle that didn't cause me to go numb at 30 miles. Further, my butt would ache and I would have to stand up a lot.

I rode 3 Specialized saddles, Terry saddle all good saddles, they just didn't solve my pain and going numb.

This Selle saddle is Amazingly Comfortable and zero numbness! I ride 100 miles a week year round,

As a plus it looks racy on my Specialized Roubaix!

Highly recommend this saddle,

I took the jump to purchase after reading lots of reviews on this saddle.

Energize Life!!

Reviewed 12/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Saddle Outstanding!
by Tim
Tacoma WA

I'm an avid cyclist and I spent lots of money trying to find a saddle that didn't cause me to go numb at 30 miles. Further, my butt would ache and I would have to stand up a lot.

I rode 3 Specialized saddles, Terry saddle all good saddles, they just didn't solve my pain and going numb.

This Selle saddle is Amazingly Comfortable and zero numbness! I ride 100 miles a week year round,

As a plus it looks racy on my Specialized Roubaix!

Highly recommend this saddle,

I took the jump to purchase after reading lots of reviews on this saddle.

Energize Life!!

Reviewed 11/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
not cheap, but a very well made, lightweight cut-away saddle
by comotionbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Yes, this saddle is expensive but it is also very comfortable for those of us dealing with numb crotch syndrome! I am somewhat concerned about what the rain will do to the hand wrapped leather but will try treating it with the right stuff. For a classy, lightweight cut-away saddle, this is an excellent choice.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfortable saddle
by Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This saddle is amazing I felt the difference almost immediately. This is a great saddle and really does relieve pressure on soft tissue and provides a comfortable saddle.

Reviewed 9/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the great saddles on the market.
by Blade
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you want to take the sensitive pressure issue off the table, this is the one to do it with. This is my second SMP and now have it on my good bike, as well as my rain bike..

Reviewed 5/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I use this awesome saddle on both my bikes.
by Bikenut
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod Ma & Boca Raton Fl
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The SMP Glider is installed on both my bikes. It treats my nether region with care and respect.

Reviewed 5/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it - the best saddle I've ever had
by Seattle Pete
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Also the most expensive but I think it's well worth the money.

I originally purchased the SMP Pro saddle but it turned out too big for me. So I ordered SMP Glider instead and I've loved it pretty much from the beginning. It's a bit harder (and smaller and lighter) than the Pro but with better pants and longer rides, I got used to that fairly quickly. Just 2 days ago I did a 60-mile ride with absolutely no issues on my bottom parts (previously, my private parts would be numb). Of course the most important part is that this saddle does not push the soft tissue but rather my sit bones. What a wonderful change!

Oh, did I mention that it looks really cool?

I'd recommend Selle SMP saddle to anybody and everybody. Just make sure that the sizing is right (use Selle's size info to get close, and try couple different sizes). In my case, I felt a significant difference between Glider and Pro even though they are fairly close in size. Also, make sure that you position the saddle correctly - you have to get the angles just right so that you don't slide from the saddle and the saddle does not push at the front. I have no problem doing it myself but needed a few tries to get it right.

Reviewed 5/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle.
by ubet49
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA

I have only used this new saddle for about 3 rides totaling 75 miles. It has helped a lot and it is a good fit for me.

I had a hard time with the adjustment part because it seemed to want to tip forward and my seat post clamps made this a little difficult. The reduced priced came around at the right time to give it a go.

Reviewed 1/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page