Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle SMP Evolution Saddle

Selle SMPEvolution Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(80%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(10%)
Easily the best
by AK Wyld Stallyn
Brooklyn, NY

I just recently purchased a 2017 Roubaix, which came with their stock el cheapo saddle. I figured I would try it for awhile, get used to it, and enjoy the famous Specialized ergonomics. But wow when you get used to something you can't go back. The smp's are such amazing saddles nothing even comes close. Just about everyone on my team uses one now, and we are total converts. If only UCI could see the light for male racers these would be the most popular saddles out there.

Reviewed 8/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SMP Saddle of my choice!
by CerveloRider
Sacramento, CA

This my second SMP saddle the Composite and Evolution only saddle on my bike no numbness and comfortable for long rides.

Reviewed 11/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Selle SMP Evolution Saddle
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Cedar Rapids, IA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like this saddle. This is my Third Selle SMP saddle. I have it on my TT bike and I can get into very agresive aero position without a problem. Previously I had SMP on the TT bike as well, but an older model, longer, wider and with more cushion. However after riding yet different model on my road bike I decided to switch to something smaller on TT bike (plus , it was wearing out). You need to do your homework and decide on the size you need based on the recommendations on Selle SMP website. They have good tables for it. Ever since I switch to Selle SMP saddle on my road bike I never got any numbness down there, and prior to that I was wondering for two weeks if I was ever able to have kids (no worries, I have a 7 months old now ).

Reviewed 1/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockford, IL

No numbnesstingling. This is my 2nd Evolution and 3rd SMP saddle.

Reviewed 1/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best!
by MTrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Bozeman MT
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Have tried many many saddles over the years. Usually able to get comfortable on most after breaking them (or me) in. The Selle SMP saddle felt perfect from the first mile. My first ride was actually a road race and I was in the drops far more than I usually spend, due to the comfort of this saddle. I did read and spend the time to set up the saddle properly. I think those that don't find it comfortable probably don't have the correct width saddle andor didn't set it up properly.

Reviewed 6/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Saddle I've ever had
by Treck Madone
Cycling Enthusiast
WI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just got this Saddle today and went for a 25mile ride, it was like I was riding a new bike. No numbness, extreamly comfortable and light weight. This site has great value and great customer service. First review i've ever taken the time to write and would encourage you to get this saddle! If you do a lot of riding you'll be happy with this product.

Reviewed 6/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable!
by tinpll
Competitive Racer
Mountain View
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I tried a variety of saddles, including Selle Italia and Fizik. I didn't like Selle Italia too much, since it gave me some sever chafing. I tried a set of Fizik saddles and just can't get used to them. Maybe its my small hips or my thighs, but I was either not sitting comfortably or I had chafing on my thighs. Finally, one of my friends was raving about Selle SMP. So based on their sizing and rider type matrix on their website, I selected the Evolution. Long story short I love this saddle! Its narrow enough for me to not feel any chafing on my thighs and allows me to sit more TT positioned. At the same time, I'm sitting comfortably on the broader, a little bit patted area in the back of the saddle. I also had no numbness or anything even after 5 hour rides. Beyond that, sure, you'll feel it.

Bottom line I'm hooked on this saddle, even though its not the cheapest. But I'm happy to spend the extra $$$ for getting a comfortable saddle for me long rides.

Reviewed 4/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ideal saddle
by Todd
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

For anyone who suffers from numbness, has spent too much time in their youth riding with poor chamois, and still wants a long, thin, and firm saddle, I can't say enough good about this road saddle. I have it on all my bikes (with a softer version for the cross bike). Zero discomfort, lot's of seating positions, nice and firm.

Reviewed 10/6/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
watch out for the embroidery effect on your expensive short
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This a superb product except it damages your expensive cycling shorts due to its embroidery. I have been riding on it for over three years. excellent seat but I wished there was no embroidery on it.

Reviewed 10/6/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This saddle is too hard for anyone except the lightest mountian climbers. Friendly on soft tissue - LOL !!
by AussieBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Melbourne, Aust
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this saddle to protect the family jewels and I have regretted it ever since. I have done 500Ks with it and have taken it off and replaced it with my old Fizik. I couldn't ride more than 50ks in one ride, as every bump would sap my strength. With the old Fizik back on 100ks was once again easy. The norrow part of the seat is too thin and too hard putting too much pressure on my body.

Reviewed 8/11/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.