Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle Italia SLR Superflow Saddle

Selle ItaliaSLR Superflow Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(60%)
(27%)
(10%)
(0%)
(3%)
Easy to install and crazy comfortable
by danielcipriani
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale CA

Been riding for 30 years...ride about 8000 milesyear. This is a super comfortable saddle - yet stiff - which is a great combination. Easy to install...pads just thick enough to protect but not so much to influence power in seated spinning. Nose length ideal for bike control.

Reviewed 9/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solves numbness and pain issues
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon City OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the SLR Superflow to try and address numbness issues that I was having with my Fizik saddle, mainly on longer grinding climbs. I'm a larger rider at 6'1 and 215 lbs and have never used a saddle with a cut out, so I thought I'd give this one a try. I've now put a few hundred miles on this saddle and so far I can say that it's virtually solved all of my numbness and pain issues. On first look, the SLR was a bit harder than what I was used to, and initially I thought that this might be a problem for me on longer rides. But I've found that this saddle actually feels more comfortable the longer I stay on it- making it great for the events I do like Cycle Oregon, STP etc. It's also pretty flat which I thought could cause a problem (since that's also different than what I'm used to) but it isn't at all. It's quite easy to move around on and find that comfort spot as the road changes. So now I can pretty much climb, and hammer away all day long pain free and without numbness in the nether regions. It's quite nice looking to boot and lightened up my bike a bit-(mine came in at 190 gms 5 less than advertised) which are all added pluses. Saddles are so personal and none of them are going to be couches for anyone. But if you're experiencing numbness or pain like I was, I would definitely give this saddle a try-it could be just what you need to solve the problem.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality and takes pressure off
by DClark
Phoenix AZ

I hadnt thought much about the saddle that came with my bike. I think it may have been contributing to gradual nerve numbing down in that area I sit. I think I might be regaining nerve sensitivity while the saddle has been perfectly comfortable. That large opening and a slight nose-down angle takes the contact pressure off.

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
HArd as a rock, very unforgiving.
by Joning
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest PA
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I must have measured my sit-bones incorrectly, because most of the reviews tell me that it is a seat that works for most, and I tried and tried...I ride 150 miles per week and rode on this saddle for three weeks. At the end of each ride I think my sit-bones were bruised. It hurt, and it never got any better.

I called Customer Service, and they allowed me to exchange the saddle, no problem.

I ordered a Selle Italia Max SLR Gel Flow, and this seat is terrific. Comfortable even in distance, etc.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My most comfortable Saddle.
by Billnv
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV

This is my third SLR Superflow saddle, I have them on all three of my Road Bikes. I ride about 200 miles a week all year And I like this Saddle better than the ones that came on my Bikes.

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle so far so good.
by Nick
Saint louis mo

I have a 2017 giant trance pulled off the stock saddle wasn't real happy with it wasn't terrible just wasn't that comfortable. This saddle is more comfortable I like the open Channel it gives you a relief. The saddle was a bit pricey but you get what you pay for I don't regret my purchase at all.

Reviewed 4/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rides well
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This seat performs well, I especially like the wide channel to alleviate perineal pressure.

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like sitting on a brick
by Mark
tucson
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Saddle not for me. Needed more padding.

Reviewed 3/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Saddle
by DJDESQ
Philly
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have this saddle and do enjoy it. It is comfortable and easy to setup with the measurements in the rails. And the opening in the middle provides comfort and is aesthetically pleasing.

My only negative is for some reason it is not so comfy after 20 minutes or so when on my trainer. On the road - no issue, just on my trainer..

I would recommend this saddle. I purchased mine as an upgrade from a several FiZik saddles.

Reviewed 3/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable but can be noisy.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used this saddle for about 1000 miles and find it very comfortable. My only complaint is that it can be very noisy. After about 150 miles I would always hear a grinding noise much like we used to get with friction shifters when slightly between gears. Spent a lot of time adjusting cables, etc. to try to eliminate noise. Finally found that the rails, where they meet at the nose, are allowed to slide on a type of polymer which was creating the noise with each pedal stroke. A little Tri-Flow there quieted it for about another 100 miles, but the problem returns. Otherwise, it's a great saddle and I'll try to live with the audible feedback.

Reviewed 10/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing! Perfect.
by BeastMode
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Cycling comfortably for 6-8 hours, sleeping in tent, hopping on again the following morning for another 8 hours with no lube. Magical. Just finished a long weekend bikepacking on my hardtail and this seat rocked it. 110 miles, 13,000 feet of vertical push. Originally, I had it on my road bike, was so good now have it on cross bike, hardtail and considering forking out the bucks for my XC fs rig. I'm 5'11, 165 el beez. The hole is gaping...seriously. Like my son's training toilet seat. You could easily pee through it while riding if you were naked. The important thing is that it's buttery gentle on my area, and causes no numbness. Especially for long epics, it's dope. Now only complaint is hands that go numb, so I have to keep shaking them out. Until I turn 65 and can get a recumbent bike without my cycling buddies deleting my contact info from their phones, may have to deal with the numb hands.

Reviewed 7/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Delivers what it promises
by HockeyPhool
Cycling Enthusiast
Westminster, CO

I installed this saddle on my Giant Defy 5. I've ridden as much as 55 miles at a time on this saddle. I like the light weight and stiffness, and the huge cutout definitely helps relieve pressure underneath. My first two rides on this saddle were uncomfortable and caused some significant chafing, but when I moved the saddle forward it alleviated those problems. I have yet to find a saddle that's truly comfortable, but I'm happy with this one!

Reviewed 10/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my second SLR Superflow saddle.
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this saddle now for two years and 10K miles. I crashed and had to replace my older SLR Superflow. The cut out works great for me and the flat saddle is my preferred shape. I use the 145mm size. I am 510 and weigh 170 lbs.

I have ridden several centuries with no numbness and have never had a saddle sore. If you like a flat saddle, this is definitely one of the best.

Reviewed 9/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best saddle worth the money
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second saddle. Very confy.

Reviewed 8/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No pressure
by Anonymous
cincinnati
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have struggled to find a saddle. I did RAGBRAI 2 years ago and ended up with perineal paresthesia. In other words, my lady parts went numb. This took months to resolve. I tried a Cobb split seat but still struggled along with sciatic nerve pain. I took this saddle for its first ride today for 26 miles. The wide cut out resulted in absolutely no pressure. My sit bones are sore but I know this resolves as I have only riden three times this year( mostly because of the dreaded discomfort). I have a 320 mile ride in 2 weeks over 4 days. Excited for the ride with this new saddle. It is a firm saddle but the padded ones don't work for me either.

Reviewed 8/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
cured my numbness and chafing, good on long rides.
by clambo
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only thing I would add to it would be a tiny bit more padding. My butt hurt the first week or so but I quickly toughened up to it. Its a very good saddle.

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Firm but comfortable, excellent saddle.
by Byke Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, Fl

Well made saddle. Firm but comfortable. I use it for club rides from 100 to 120 mile per week.

Reviewed 8/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you like a flat saddle, this is a good choice for numbness relief.
by John in Minnesota
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I am very sensitive to peritoneal pressure from bike saddles. So I've sort of been on the leading edge of this since saddles started to have cut outs in earnest about 10 years ago. I had been using another saddle from an independent saddle mfg that worked, but it was heavy and had some gimmicks that I didn't think worked (elastomers to absorb shock). When I built a new bike this year, and being sort of a weight weenie, I thought I'd give this saddle a try because of it's low weight, it's flat profile and it's generous cutout with chamfered edges to prevent that extruded feeling.

This saddle delivers comfort for conditioned riders who like firm saddles. If you haven't built up the necessary muscle to from riding to support yourself, this saddle will be uncomfortable because it is lightly padded. For larger riders (of which I'm one), this is a great saddle since larger riders should have less padding because they tend to smash it flat anyhow. I'd say that if you are doing, or aspire to do, 100 miles per week, this saddle could be a winner for you.

This saddle has a great shell that flexes with you as you peddle. The flat top profile allows a multitude of riding positions that the profiled saddles like the Selle SMP do not (they sort of require you to sit in one position due to the sway back design).

I switched to this on my road bike, I've got almost 1000 miles on it and it's the best saddle I've ever had. With this, the saddle almost disappears beneath me - I don't even notice it anymore while riding. For me, and your mileage may vary, this saddle is a winner.

Reviewed 5/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle for long rides or racing
by norcal racer
Competitive Racer
Saratoga CA

This is my second SLR Superflow Saddle. I have have done 100 mile rides and have raced criteriums and road races with this saddle. Lightweight and comfortable - a great saddle.

Reviewed 4/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great great saddle, super smooth and comfortabl on long rides.
by Fenster
Houston
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I had issues with discomfort in the nether regions and this saddle solved it. Not to mention, it looks like it was made to go in an Italian sports car. Very nice! The extra wide cut out is what I think makes this saddle work. The difference is noticeable right away. Get one!

Reviewed 2/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page