Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle Italia Flite 1990 Saddle

Selle ItaliaFlite 1990 Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(19%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Flight 1990
by RODNEY
Bend Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I owned 3 over the years, crossed the USA twice on one. Why did it take me so long to come back to the most comfortable saddle I have owned??

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best ever
by Anonymous

Light and comfortable.

Reviewed 5/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sometimes they DO make them like they used to
by Joe (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Many of us thought Selle Italia downgraded the Flite with it's most recent design. Thankfully, the original has been reintroduced. At 200g it's everything you need, nothing you don't.

Reviewed 4/7/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like it a lot!
by Anonymous
Pensacola Florida
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fits my rear end nicely. I am newly back into cycling in my early 50's. This saddle reminds me of the saddle on my steel framed Trek I rode back in the late 80's and 90's. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Reviewed 2/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Saddle
by Apples
San Jose
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It's a great saddle. Comfortable for long rides (I've done a few 50 mile rides with it).

I guess I'm someone that would benefit from a cut out saddle though because I felt some pressure on my you know what.

Either way though, after a few rides, the pressure stopped bothering mewent away.

Reviewed 1/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always loved this saddle and happy to have a chance to get another one.
by mwyatt
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Putting this on a '90's vintage Merckx TiAX I am building up

Reviewed 12/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing as good as Selle
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Mountville

Just a great basic saddle that fits well

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best
by Anonymous
Michigan

Like many others I've ridden with the Flite since the 90's. Went through two of them back in the day and when it was brought back I immediately ordered one for my mountain bike. Have since added another for my gravel bike. Shape and smooth leather finish allow me to move around on saddle, nose doesn't hook my shorts, light weight, and great looks. Big upgrade from most stock spec saddles.

Reviewed 11/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Selle Italia Flight 1990 Saddle - ComphyAdjustable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio

I replaced the stock Selle Italia saddle on my '85 Univega Gran Sprint to a Selle Italia Flight 1990 saddle. Although a little pricey, the Selle Italia Flight 1990 saddle is far more comfortable than the stock saddle both in just sitting on and while riding. Because of the slender shape, you would think it would be uncomfortable, but it is 'almost' like sitting in your rocking chair! The narrow shape of the Flight saddle does not chafe your thighs while ridding either. The total length of the Flight is almost 3.5 cm longer than the stock saddle and allows you to move to different positions while riding. In addition, the rail length for attaching the Flight saddle to the seat post is 8 cm vs 6.5 cm for the stock saddle. This also gives you more flexibility in positioning your saddle. The Flight saddle also gives my bike a more vintage look. I would definitely buy again!

Reviewed 11/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have one of the originals
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisville KY
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got one of these years and years ago when they were new. I still have it and it is in super shape. Still looks cool, super light weight. I got it in my late 20s it worked for me just fine. I could ride forever on it, no issue. I'm 52 now and I cant ride this seat at all. Its like ridding a baseball bat or something. Sorry, not for me. I wish I could get along with it again. It might work for you. My son has it on his mountain bike now, so it lives on.

Reviewed 9/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Glad it's back
by marksopelana
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I appreciate the comfort and the no-frills nature of this saddle - I wore several of these out in the 90s and am always on the lookout for second-hand Flites. The new design is awful, the channeled ones are average - this shape and padding is the best of the Flite line.

I am very happy to find the new re-issue for my new project, I kind of resent the 'contemporary' price, but you don't see that many titanium railed racing saddles anymore and this is a good one.

Reviewed 1/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light,and smooth.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Northern Michigan

This saddle is a keeper. Its a 30 year old design that is as light and functional as any of the latest saddles.

I like a flatter saddle with room to move around. The smooth leather, and medium size let me do that easily.

Great saddle!

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy, sleek, and will never go out of style
by SKK
Competitive Racer
Evergreen Colorado

Feels great, looks great, and reminds me of when I started mtn biking in the 90s - everyone had these then and they're still in style. Thanks for bringing them back!

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Firm saddle
by Anonymous
Seattle
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This saddle is a classic. Much more firm than my previous Sella brand saddle. It is comfortable enough for long rides though. I would recommend it others and would buy again.

Reviewed 9/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The saddle my butt prefers.
by WabiClassic
Casual Cyclist
Southshore of Lake Superior
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Started road racing in the 80's on the Turbo. Picked up a Flite when Selle Italia released it. Comfort & quality are the two reasons for never purchasing another brand or model. Never have had a rail failure. A crash terminated one saddle. Other units required replacement after 10,000-12,000 miles due to chafe wear. Gave it 3 for value based on the last 4 saddles purchased back in the mid 90's. Realistically based on todays prices & the comfortdurability the Flite is a 5 in value. Will be needing another replacement soon. Just dealing with the time-warp sticker shock.

Reviewed 4/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Modern and classic at the same time
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have had an original Flite on my Masi Team 3V since it was new in 1995. I have newer, lighter saddles on current race bikes and yet commuting on this one has always feels like coming home - and it's good as new. The leather still looks new after so many years - what a bargain. The pictures are identical to what I have in every detail top and bottom and it's really cool this is still available and it really is a modern classic. GREAT saddle.

Reviewed 3/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.