Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe Durano Road Tire

SchwalbeDurano Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(56%)
(22%)
(6%)
(11%)
(6%)
Pretty decent training tire
by assortedpixels
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, Connecticut
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These came stock on my 2015 road bike. I put around 2500 miles on them and replaced them when I had my first flat (a puncture in the rear). At 200 pounds I could have probably finished this season with them. I ride mostly on Connecticut paved roads, but have been on limited heavy gravel off road. The tires did develop some rips tears on the outer tread within the first season. These obviously don't roll as easy as race tires, but it was great not having a single flat for over two full seasons. My only bit of cautionary advice is to be aware that these tires are nearly silent when they are skidding. I felt very secure doing fast descents (45-50mph) and heavy breaking when needed.

Reviewed 6/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and Puncture Resistant
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
23 of 27 customers found this review helpful.

Heading to Tuscany for two weeks of cycling, I wasn't sure what the road quality would be like, so I decided to give this tire a try. After close to a thousand miles including some pretty rough pavement and gravel roads, these tires have held up well. They show very little signs of wear - just a little squaring off of the tread.

I did have one puncture. With less than 20 miles to go until the end of our tour, I pulled out a thin wire probably from a shredded truck tire that had worked its way through the tread. But I also ran over glass a few times with no problems.

Ride quality is pretty good for such a durable tire, and rolling resistance is low enough. My only real reservation is lack of traction in the wet. The tires got a little squirrely on fast descents with tight curves when the roads were wet. If I was doing this tour again, I'd probably bring a tire with a bit better wet weather performance such as the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season even though I think the Durano is a bit more durable.

Reviewed 10/15/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Get your miles in!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I trained on Duranos all last summer. True to claims, I got almost seven thousand miles before wearing out. That said, this is a high-mileage tire, not a bullet proof commuter. Your going to get the normal occasional flat, sorry, facts of life. Buy Conti Gatorskins if you cannot deal with flats. But, if you want a high mileage training tire that rides like a PERFORMANCE tire, this is a good bet.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Faulty Tire
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, Road use
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the tire and installed it within the week on a new road bike. I used a hand pump to inflate the tire. I road it once and afterward while the bike was stored in and air conditioned room, the sidewall blew out. I am extremely disappointed in the tire quality and going back to purchasing Gatorskins.

Reviewed 11/17/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect training tire
by Prufftri
Illinois
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Minimal rolling resistance, good grip in slick conditions, puncture resistant on rough and rocky roads (brought on by an incorrect left turn off course). I already have over 1000 miles on these tires and the nubs aren't completely warn off the tread yet!

Reviewed 10/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats on mixed terrain fondo
by Fundo rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires specifically for a fondo ride which had 50% dirt roads. I paired them with Vred latex tubes, pumped them to 80PSI (I'm 120lbs) and didn't experience any flats.

Reviewed 8/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thousands of Kms without a flat
by Mawiga
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississauga, ON
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Got over 6000 Kms without a flat riding on every type of road surface from city streets with construction debris to gravel country roads. I didn't push to try for the rated 10,000 Km due to a small deep slit in the tread on front and back. It was end of the season and I decided to put on a new set of the same tires rather than push my luck. Perhaps they were good for a few thousand more.

Reviewed 3/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good solidperformer for us borderline clydsdales.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fortuna, Ca
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a good solid training tire that would help reduce the number of flats. So far so good. I have about 1000 miles of flat free riding on our rough northern California roads. I weigh about 210.

Reviewed 12/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire - holds the road well in wet conditions. fits the rims very well.
by Bob
Competitive Racer
34986
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great product quality and durability.

Reviewed 12/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tire
by Frittish
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

So I have to preface that I'm coming from running their Marathon plus tire exclusively for the last two years.

I switched to these because I wanted to drop some weight from my bike and have a faster roll on longer group rides. I dropped 2lbs by swapping out my 28c marathon plus for these in 23c. They roll fast and hold up well against not so great NYC pavement. So far I'm really happy with these and have just over 100mi on them (no flats).

Reviewed 9/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable ride quality, poor puncture resistance and no side wall support
by SC540i
Cycling Enthusiast
Fremont, CA
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

These tires comes with my 2011 Cannondale Synapse 3. This bike was an upgrade from Trek 1.2.

The ride quality is so good that make the bike feel slow. The 700x25 and along with the carbon frame absorb most of the paved road vibrations. It feels like driving a camry.

Handlingtraction is good in dry pavement. I feel very comfortable at high speed 40 mph on curvy downhills.

Puncture resistance is poor. A torn caused a flat at about 300 miles. I would get the Conti Gatorskin if you want an awesome puncture resistance tire. The tire is heavier but no flat in 1500 miles.

Little to no side wall support. You will not get a warning when you get a flat, (your rim will hit pavement at an instant). I crash because of this.

There are many all around good tire at more reasonable price.

I have switched to the Vittoria Rubio Pro. The upside no flat, the bike is more nimble (perhaps its 700x23), I chose red accent color that match my bike and lower price than the Durano. I have 700 miles on these so far. No data yet if these will last as long as the Durano.

Reviewed 7/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, durable, excellent for touring
by mikeh441
Cycling Enthusiast
Across Ne,Iowa,SD
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

No specifics

Reviewed 4/5/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by solorider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Stewart, Georgia
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I do long solo rides so I cherish this tire. It's rated for 10,000km and I got 3,500km on them last year with hardly a hint of wear. They have a hard rubber compound that virtually eliminates nicks and cuts, I had one small cut and filled it with Shoe Goo. I'd come home from a few rides with wire sticking out of the tires and just pulled it out and all is fine! This model Durano has no sidewall protection so I did get an abrasision from a small rock, it bulges a little but I put a patch on the inside of the bulge and it's holding fine, for now. I plan on putting at least another 3,500km on this tires again this summer and I'm sure I'll have no problems!!

Reviewed 3/15/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy with these tires
by BikerSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding these tires for about 1 year now, I got them just before my first century ride last fall and have loved them since. They ride great and are definately durable. I have only had 1 flat with them but that was due to a sidewall tearing jumbo pot hole that would have taken out any tire out there. I'm big guy and they handle my weight well and are also very fast. I ride the 25's and have no problem out coasting my friends riding 23's. I've only ridden on wet roads a few times with them but have never had a problem. I have no fear of rocks or broken glass, sticks etc...

Reviewed 8/23/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not impressed
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Copenhagen
14 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

Had flats at an average of 45 km. That every second day on my commute. Ended up giving them away. They are not for wet Danish winter roads, the flints went right through.

Reviewed 5/22/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding, great puncture resistance
by kraken
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
17 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden these for 2 months with 1 flat. This was after hitting a huge staple that went directly through the tire. Few tires on the market could have survived that. I patched the tube and have been riding on it ever since with no issues. I went to these after riding some 700 x 25 Marathon Plus tires for several months. The Duranos ride SO much better than the Marathon Plus tires. While the Marathon Plus may be SLIGHTLY more flat resistant, the ride quality, nimbleness and durability have made the Durano Plus 'my tire'. I am a daily commuter and have tried every 'puncture proof' tire on the market. I am impressively prone to flats. On other tires I have had up to 8 flats in a single month. For me, these are well worth the cost.

Reviewed 9/14/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decent tire... if it were 2/3 the price.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Amsterdam, Nederlands
14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

I have had a front and rear set with 2000km. Noticeable squaring off of the rear, two significant flats, one resulting in a tire killing 1cm gash in the tread. I expected better from a tire claiming flat protection and extended wear. I can't comment on the long term wear of the tire, since I only rode them for a month before the terminal cut. Probably it was just bad luck, but I like I said, save your money and buy an equivalent tire for 2/3 the price.

The tires themselves ride fine, perform well over wet cobbles and brick and are quick on asphalt, but the ride and wear-resistance is no better than a cheaper Ultra-gatorskin. I'm 170lb, carry minimal gear, and 95% of the 2000km I put on these tires was asphalt, mostly out of cities, mostly off highways.

Reviewed 9/6/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Grip and Puncture Resistance
by Flysfaster
Cycling Enthusiast
Minden, La
22 of 25 customers found this review helpful.

I used these tires recently in the Buffalo Springs Tri-Raider Triathlon and they are fast, good riding, with great grip. I transitioned from the swim into a steady rain for the 17.4 mile ride, and the Duranos were very confidence inspiring in the rain. The 145 psi rating allows me lower rolling resistance for an added plus, and they are light. Throw in the puncture resistant belt, and they are ready for just about anything you can throw at them.

I have used more expensive tires that did not perform as well. Excellent Product!

Reviewed 7/4/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.