X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Saris H3 Direct Drive Smart Trainer

SarisH3 Direct Drive Smart Trainer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(25%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Excellent upgrade
by Irondoc
Wisconsin

I upgraded from Powerbeam Pro. Very quiet. No tire slippage on inclines over 8-9 because of direct drive. No power dropouts. Great trainer and made right here in Wisconsin.

Reviewed 11/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quiet, Stable, Accurate
by lread
Cycling Enthusiast
California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have owned a Tacx Neo gen 1, Tacx Flux 1, Elite Drivo 1. Overall, I like the H3 the best. The flywheel gives an excellent ride feel. The power seems very accurate - same as Neo, Drivo. Flux was a bit off. Noise level is very close to Neo, Drivo. You really can only hear the chain. The response time is quite good used with Zwift, RGT. It is well built and easy to carry with the well placed handle and foldable legs. The one negative is the cadence - it uses your pedaling torque curve to calculate your cadence rather than a true sensor. This sometimes can be off- quite often for me. I just use a separate Ant+ cadence sensor on the bike instead. Perhaps a firmware update could fix the cadence issue.

Reviewed 2/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Replacement for my Wahoo kicker
by Anonymous
Kansas

I purchased my H3 as a replacement for a Wahoo kicker. While the kicker served me well it was reaching the end of its useful life. I am no longer training for racing but still enjoy zwifting. The H3 has performed as promised. I would recommend to a friend.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Why did I wait so long?
by jdsracing
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I deliberated between different smart trainers for far too long and chose the H3 based on reviews and the fact that it's one of the few Trainer Road recommendations. I couldn't be happier with it. Pairing and updating went smoothly. It works great in both ERG and 'regular trainer' mode. It's an order of magnitude quieter than an old rear-wheel trainer, which I'm coming from. It's not a big deal connecting and removing the bike. Two months in, zero complaints.

Reviewed 5/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful device for riding during the bad weather
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England

Device was easy to setup and start riding indoors. More fun than former Wheel on trainer and training is complemented with the interactive video courses. Product could benefit from a better description of function and use of light in the unit.

Reviewed 1/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Completely changed my mind about riding indoors.
by Melbonic
Albuquerque, NM
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've owned a couple of other trainers in the past and I was a hesitant to spend so much on the H3, but I'm glad I did. This is by far the closest feel to riding on the road. Riding on the H3 is something I actually look forward to, rather than the painful drudgery of my previous trainers. I especially like the ability to realistically coast on the downhills. The massive flywheel is definitely an advantage, plus It's almost completely silent. Paired with Rouvy, I find myself using the H3 even when it's nice outside.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great trainer
by BMC racer
Competitive Racer
Rocky Mountains
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first experience with direct drive trainer and I believe this is the best trainer for the price! I researched DD trainers prior to pulling the trigger on such an expensive item however living in the rocky mountains I spent lots of time riding indoors throughout the year and feel this was a great investment. Super easy set up. Plug in and sync to apps immediately. Smooth transitions between intervals. Quiet..pretty much can only hear my bike's drivetrain. Only complaint (a very minor one) is that when resistance is low it takes a long time to spin down. Very happy with the purchase and highly recommend this trainer!

Reviewed 1/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I thought the wahoo kickr was the best but...
by Sifle001
houston
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Got the chance to pick up the Saris H3 to replace my Wahoo Kickr (Gen 3) and I after the first ride I was pleasantly surprised at how different the H3 felt.

Pros: a little quieter, more stable when sprinting, has virtual cadence (no separate cadence sensor necessary), feels smoother, $200 cheaper, includes pop out wheel block, more consistent connection with Apple TV.

Cons: housing design makes it hard to tighten thru axels that have a handle.

Overall I feel that the H3 was a nice upgrade over the Wahoo

Reviewed 8/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome rock solid trainer!
by Mike
Erie, PA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth, remarkably quiet and super stable---even when out of the saddle. Simple to calibrate and easy to pair with Zwift. Solid construction and first rate customer service. Great Made in the USA quality.

Reviewed 5/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product with Great Service
by Duke
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisville, KY

Easy to setup. Very smooth and quiet. Syncs with Rouvy perfectly.

Reviewed 1/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great trainer
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I already had a first gen Tacx Neo which I generally really like. But long cage mtb derailleurs hit the frame of the Neo (at least my non boost 3T Exploro and Niner Jet 9 do). It's workable but I also don't love the Neo's thru axle adapter approach. So I picked up one of these and like it at least as much as the Neo, maybe more. I will likely pick up a second one for my vacation home to replace the POS Kurt Kinetic Rock n Roll I've been using there for the past few years.

Reviewed 4/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and dependable US made trainer.
by Anonymous
nw pa

Solidly built and super dependable. No negative issues to speak of.

Reviewed 7/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.