X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Portland Design Works Full Metal 700c Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal 700c Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(51 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(14)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(63%)
(27%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
Excellent quality. No rattles.
by 55rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver BC

These mudguards are mounted over 32mm Continental GP 5000TL's. And they fit. Just. They provide excellent coverage and are silent. The mounting system is good and easily adjustable with an allen key. One minus- the stays are just long enough for mounting to the QR with the included hardware. This means that the rear stay is too short to mount directly to the seat stay if you have threaded bosses. The QR hardware allows mounting to the seat stay, but is not the tidiest solution.

Reviewed 12/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The nicest fenders I have ever owned
by CyclingJunkie
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID

I bought these fenders to convert my Norco Search XR gravel bike into a foul-weather training bike for the winter. I am running Maxxis 700x32s and couldn't be more pleased. The hardware and finish are top quality and they work as advertised. In fact, I am amazed at how clean me and my drivetrain are after a wet ride compared to riding my regular road bike without fenders.

Reviewed 1/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny
by RTPDX
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

I rode through a few Portland winters with cheaper fenders (SKS, Planet bike, etc) before I admitted defeat and finally bought a set of these. They RULE. Amazing coverage, solid mounting hardware, no more rattles and, not for nothing, they look good (and clean up nicely). As some other reviewers have mentioned, you might have to get creative with installation on some bikes, but once they are on they are a wet weather game changer. I can't recommend these highly enough.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps the riders behind you dry
by Doug O
Mill Creek

Replaced my Specialized plug and play fenders that I used for several years but didn't like because they were too aerodynamic and tight to the tire. These are long and protect the ride behind me. They don't rattle and were pretty easy to install. Had to do a little cutting and drilling but not bad. Look great. I have also ridden some gravel with them on.

Reviewed 12/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality fenders
by York007
portland

I've owned a lots of fenders and these ones are it. Easy installation and they look smooth as heck! Really awesome addition to my matte pained frame and they do what they're supposed to.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Solid Set of Fenders
by PK-Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I liked everything about the fenders except for a few minor details I'll share later. So I should give these 4.5 stars.

The fenders and the installation hardware were top notch. And as an added bonus, the installation was very easy unlike my other fenders. The only thing I had to was lose 14 of the stays (a few strokes w hacksaw)

I put them on my 2013 Salsa Vaya touring bike. I got these to replace my Handsome Mud Butlers because they didn't provide enough wheel coverage. These definitely provide ample coverage to keep sprays away from chainrings and bottom bracket. And so far they are rock solid and I don't see any reason why they'd be otherwise way down the road.

The design, finish, and hardware were top notch as well. I love the matte finish and the angular shape over the conventional round shape. They made my bike look classy and confident at the same time.

Ok I'm very nit picky when it comes to product design. I wish the fender stays were black like the fenders. The bare silver aluminum looks incongruous and conspicuous. The silver stays would be fine for the gray fenders though. Second, they don't provide a bolt to fasten the rear fender to the crossbar on the chainstays, they give you a piece of plastic wire tie (yuck). So I can sleep peacefully at night, I found a stainless steel bolt to attach it.

Other than the aforementioned minor details, these are the best metal fenders to date. So, if you want a set of classy, easy to install fenders w ample coverage get them wo reservation.

Reviewed 6/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders, excellent quality
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hebo OR

Good use on the wet Oregon coast.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well designed leading to straight-foward installation
by Wharfrat
Casual Cyclist
Gaston, OR

Fenders are pretty much a necessity in the Pacific Northwest and these full metal fenders from Portland Design Works seem to be up to the task for extended use. Extra hardware included to adapt to a variety of installations. I deducted 1 star for the black crinkle finish on mine. Even though I was reasonably careful during the installation, the bracket for the rear fender did rub through the finish, however, it was hardly noticeable when installed on the bike. I worry about how well the finish will hold up over time. But I know the fenders will work as intended.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well built, difficult installation
by Phil
Portland Oregon area

These are very high quality, aluminum fenders that are very study. That being said, if these fenders don't easily fit your bike, be prepared to spend hours modifying them to fit your bike. My Trek Domane has hidden fender connections and disc brakes. They're listed on the Trek website as an option for fenders. I needed to saw, drill, cut, bend these fenders in order for them to fit properly and even then tire clearance is marginal. But once installed they provide excellent protection from rain and grit getting kicked up. Previously I used the clip-on mini fenders that did little to protect you from rain and mud and these are much better.

Reviewed 4/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Full coverage all-metal fenders from PDW
by Colorado_Commuter
Daily Commuter
Boulder, CO

I bought a new Milwaukee Beltline bike intended for winter and rainy-season commuting. Having a set of full coverage fenders is key to staying clean. Getting wet isn't an issue when riding (or you can use rain gear) but keeping the dirty street water from splashing up on you is essential. The PDW metal fenders look really nice and were somewhat easy to install. The instructions are good, but having never installed fenders before I had to fiddle with them a bit to get them set up right. So far so good in wet weather riding! I have the City fenders (45mm) and am using them with 700c x 35 Schwalbe tires. Perfect coverage. I have no issues with rattling or vibration.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sturdy fenders. More robust mounting than SKS but you may need extra stuff for discs
by ericf
Daily Commuter
Upstate NY

These fenders are good looking and well made. The 'City' version works with knobby 35s (might go higher, haven't tried it).

I like the mounting system on these fenders - you aren't expected to bend the mounting arms like you are with the SKS's. It's a little bulkier, but it's more robust and way less of a pain.

My only issue with these fenders is that I couldn't affix the posts down near the dropouts on my front fork because the disc brake is in the way. The manual mentions an optional kit to do that, and I'm sure I could have figured something out at the hardware store, but I'd have been much happier had these come in the box.

As it was, my fork has mounting holes mid-fork as well, I used those, and it works, but the front fender is rattly and not as stable as it should be.

The disc brakes didn't create a problem in the back at all - because of the angle of entry for the support, they didn't get in the way there, and no extra fiddling was needed.

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality
by Moots1
Seattle

I've had several sets of fenders and believe these are the highest quality in terms of installation and materials. We know fenders in Seattle and I use these on my commute bike which gets the most miles - good coverage and flat black looks sweet

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders in need of some extra hardware
by Horia Neamtu
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased the wide (City) fenders to go on a Fyxation Crusher gravel bike.

Fenders are great, assembly was simple, rear fender mounting was also simple.

I am deducting 1 star from both overall and value because at this price I would expect more options for mounting the front fender.

My bike has a fork fender mounting hole on the back of the fork. The hole is higher than the included L tab hole and too low for the Portland Design Works long L tab. I am guessing the hole on the back situation is typical of carbon forks designed for disk brakes. It seems the front fender is designed for caliper brakes, only.

At this price, PDW should include maybe 1-2 other L brackets of different heights, to accommodate the various forks out there. There could also be one more mounting option for the L bracket on the front fender for hole on the back forks - as it stands the fender shifts down by the width of the fork crown.

I solved my front fender mounting problem by mounting the original L bracket on top of the fender, using some plumbing faucet seals to raise it about 4 mm. That they are made of rubber should help with rattles. Had to find a short metal strip for the inside of the fender, such that the force of the 2 nuts is distributed over a larger fender surface.

Once mounted, the fenders have stayed put and there is no rattling. Currently using them with Conti tires that measure about 30mm. To my eye, the fenders could take tires up to 35-38 mm, but I have not tried it yet.

Reviewed 4/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fenders
by Terry
Rural Oregon

Fenders were fairly easy to install and adjust. Good directions. Even using care, the finish rubbed off a bit near the brace mounting, so it could definitely be improved.

Reviewed 6/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality full protection fender
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders, period.
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't live without them.
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fender but short front
by WSEA
Competitive Racer
seattle
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The fenders are nice and built really well. My biggest issue the length of the front fender before the fork. Most of the water on my shoes comes from the spray off the front tire. Longboards seem to have to longest front to prevent a very heavy spray and these fall very short. Its weird that most fender companies don't consider the front tire spray.

Reviewed 11/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking, good coverage, poor hardware availability.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
pdx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had to buy 3 extra bags of hardware to fit the fenders on my bike. The 60mm crown bolt doesn't go through my carbon fork all the way. The L bracket was too short, I had to buy one made 650b tyres, even-though I'm running 700s and one set of cilindar spacers for the chainstay bridge. You'd think a set of fenders this expensive will have the option to pick up the necessary hardware for free, but nope.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good if they fit
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Reviewed 7/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page