Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Planet Bike Superflash Tail Light

Planet BikeSuperflash Tail Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(11)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(75%)
(18%)
(5%)
(2%)
(0%)
Long distance visibility with this one !
by Barry
Boston area

Have this same tail light on my road bike, added one to my trail bike. With all the texting and phone usage happening, I want to be seen !

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must have for any cyclist
by Anita (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Planet Bike Blinky Superflash Tail Light is by far the brightest, most visible light on the market. Both the red/white back and the more stealthy clear/black back are equally bright, helping any cyclist stay safe both at night and during the day! Great for rainy and foggy days, too, when visibility is crucial. Mountable to seat-stays and/or seatpost, this light is easy to take on and off. Also clips to backpacks and messenger bags. I keep 3 around - one for my bike, one for my bag, and one for any friend who doesn't happen to have a light with them.

Reviewed 10/1/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best battery powered tail light
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
15 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

We sell more of these tail lights than all the others put together. And for good reason. This light is not only very bright, but the flash pattern and white LED with lens make it very easy to see from a considerable distance. If you don't want to spring for the Dinotte Tail Light, this Planet Bike Blinky is the one to get.

The light is fairly light and mounts easily on a seat tube. The AAA batteries last a surprisingly long time. In my experience, it stands up well to weather although we have had a few customers report problems with leakage but this is out of many hundreds of customers.

Strongly recommended.

Reviewed 3/12/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wish they made a front version
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Ohio

I use this light on my road bike and it has held up well and seems highly visible. I also ride paved trails a lot. These trails are heavily shaded and oncoming bikes are an issue, especially due to riders often riding two abreast and talking (distracted cyclists). A front blinky is more important than a rear blinky in this situation. The quality, visibility and battery endurance of this light with a white flash would be welcome. I'm not crazy about my Cateye front blinky and I prefer AAA or AA powered lights to the USB chargeable lights which seem more common. It's hard to find a USB charging source on a bike ride but a convenience , hardware or drug store selling batteries is much more readily available

Reviewed 6/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tail light! Bright and easy install(several options)
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa

This light is bright and the batteries last a very long time. I ride 3 days a week and always use it since I ride on hy 12 so the traffic is fast.

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product
by Bruce
White Oak, Tx.

I have 3 of these lights. 1 of them I bought 4 years ago. 2AAA batteries per light. I bought 2 more for my other bikes. Better then rechargeable lights. Much brighter then all other lights Ive see.

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for the price
by bikemanutah
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

Simple to install and to use. Very bright during daylight and excellent for dusk or night.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Water is getting inside and it stops working
by bmckay
Competitive Racer
Cleveland, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used 2 of these. The first one worked great until after a few years I noticed it stopped working when ridden in rain and wet conditions. Then I got another one thinking the first one was just old but the new one is suffering the same problem. When I open it up you can see water inside it. If I let it dry out it starts working again. It works fine when its dry. Its actually a great light when it is working. But rainy conditions is one of the times that I need the light the most so I can't have it not working in the rain. I bought a Nite rider light that claims to be waterproof.

Reviewed 9/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Plainly a brilliant idea this light is......
by Krash
Cycling Enthusiast
Tempe, AZ

Replaced a couple that were stolen, I keep buying 'em so they must be good.

Reviewed 11/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good, solid tail light, no complaints here!
by Nicky
Casual Cyclist
Mishawaka, IN

I use this light on my bike home from a late night class (or when the weather is icky and I want to make sure I'm visable). It comes with a number of options for clipping to the bike, different types of bags, or I've even clipped it to the back of my pants in a pinch.

It's got different options for flashing or solid light, which is nice. Very convenient that it takes a normal type of battery that I usually have at home, so I don't have to go in search of some special battery when it starts getting dimmer.

Reviewed 10/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by Drew Kora
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest

Finally a stealth version! Huzzah! I love the black and clear model it blends in perfectly with my road bike (black and white graphics).

I own tow of these, one for my bike and one for my wife's. While other lights have worn out after a few seasons, Planet Bike's tail light just keeps working. The light is very bright and the store setting is perfect for riding during the daytime. A set of batteries lasts a long time, too, thought the light is brightest with a fresh pair.

Reviewed 6/13/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good light - nice and bright without breaking the bank.
by sc540i
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good light - nice and bright without breaking the bank.

Reviewed 6/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great basic light
by Johnnybuoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Niagara ON

This light does the job. Nice easy install, adjusts simply, and provides a good strong light. Can't comment on longevity or weather resistance yet.

Reviewed 5/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Incredible bang for the buck
by DogFather
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This must be the one of the best ones out there, because I see it on so many high-dollar bikes. When I purchased it, I thought it was a cheapo, crappy taillight that would just be a token safety measure. Turns out it packs a punch! This sucker is BRIGHT. Of course, on a clear sunny day, don't waste your battery, wear day-glo clothing instead. But at dawndusk, an overcast day, or darting in and out of the shadows, this light has your posterior covered. My favorite feature is that it takes basic AAA batteries, and they last a LONG time.

Reviewed 4/13/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not very bright during day time.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

I was hoping this light would be bright enough to make me more visible during day time, and hence incite motorists to give me the 3 ft space. It is absolutely useless during day time.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always consider safety first
by Anonymous
South central Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Light mounts easily and the strobe is highly visible. I use it for every ride especially early-morning rides. Works great I would recommend this for any rider.

Reviewed 3/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
small light big shine
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
scappoose,or.

I use this on my road bike for extended rides. It lasts so much longer then rechargeable lights. it gives a good visual to warn cars . The price was better than most for what you get

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This little light is a light that shines for all to see!
by Atascadero Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Atascadero, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered 4 of the Planet Bike Superflash Tail lights. I have mounted two on each of my two bikes--one facing to the front and one to the rear. These little lights attached very easily (took just a screwdriver and about 60 secs). I attached one to the front fork and one to the rear stay. If you'd like to attach them to other members of your bike--the lights come with two sets of plastic attachment gear to accommodate nearly all bike frames. The lights are very easy to turn on and off (just a easy push of a button). And when they are on--WOW--they are bright and pulsating. I want to be seen by motorists--and these lights make it so I cannot be missed. I recommend these hot little dudes without reservation. If I had more bike--I'd buy more Planet Bike Blinky Tail Lights.

Reviewed 1/5/2015
TriSports.com Comments
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate such detailed feedback. Anna WBW
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tailight best value. I have used these for years
by Drsonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I would have given the older versions of this light a 5 star rating even though they were subject to leaking in the rain and the switch would corrode. Planet Bike has always stood behind these 100% and have replaced the few I sent them. However, the newer version of this light is much improved and the switch is redesigned and more corrosion resistant...now it's a 6 star. I like the fact that it is battery operated and NOT rechargable...just more dependable. They are cheap enough where I always use two...one on my helmet and one of each of my 3 bikes. They just work great.

Reviewed 10/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Liked so much a just bought another one for the backup bike.
by Sam DeMartino
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah, GA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

easy to use. Readily seen. Takes regular batteries. What more do you need?

Reviewed 9/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page