Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier WxB Shoe Cover ( 2016 )

Pearl IzumiP.R.O. Barrier WxB Shoe Cover ( 2016 )(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(46%)
(54%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Really Good For 90 Minutes Or Less Easy to Put On
by Dan
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

These will keep your feet dryin my experience for 90 minutes or less, even in Oregon winter rain. Beyond that, water will start leaking in from your legs. They are much easier to put on than anything Ive had with zippers and they work just as well.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to put on, long lasting, but NOT waterproof
by bumpermeat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA

I have been riding with these for 3 (Silicon Valley, CA) seasons and they have held up quite well. But, like any other shoe cover, they resist light rainmist, but anything heavier than that and your feet will get wet. They are most definitely NOT waterproof. Water will get into your shoe from below, or will soak through your leggings and run down your legs into your shoes. That being said, for temps down into the low 40F range, or light rain, they function very well. Below the low 40's, you might want to buy something thicker and more thermal.

Reviewed 1/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, light waterproof &40as good as can be given eventual water leak from sole&41
by Gordon Wolfe
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Reasonably priced P I product, that is light, flexible and durable. I used Gore Gortex rear Velcro'd before (more expensive), but prefer these now. Room for chemical warmer pad over toes outside shoes with good effect.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
ct

Most all of the shoe covers I've bought in the past have had a very short life, seems most just don't hold up. These Pearl Izumi's are a refreshing change, fit to size, and durable. I use them on dirt roads with the cross bike or road bike and they have held up better than any other shoe cover I've ever owned.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work very well with one exception
by J Gardner
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Pros

Very stream-line, totally wind resistant (my feet have never been warmer), don't feel like you are wearing anything extra

Neutral

A little tricky to put on at first, but after a few times no problems.

Cons

My only complaint is that on very wet days, water will eventually start to leak down my leg and my feet get wet (although they are still warm due to the 100% wind resistance). If I could get them to seal on my legs, they would get 5 stars.

Overall

I would recommend them to everybody

Reviewed 4/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
warm and comfy
by Anonymous

A touch tricky to stay up initially but once you get riding they work well

Reviewed 2/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love them
by Anonymous

warm and easy to use

Reviewed 2/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoe cover
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle. wa.
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These shoe covers seem to be really good. I have used them in temperatures above 45 degrees and not much rain. The Velcro enclosure seems to work better than a zipper.

Reviewed 2/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy with my Purchase
by JStiebel
Competitive Racer
Central CT
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. I picked these up for two reasons.

1. Wanted a waterproof barrier wet wet riding days. They do very well there as very little water has made its way into my shoes.

2. I needed another layer under my winter bootie. I have used these as the first of two layers when riding in sub zero temps. I went with these as my first layer because I am unable to fit a heavier sock in my cycling shoe. Alone I have used them in the 40-50 F range, but below that, look to something with more insulation.

My only concern would be long term durability. I fear that the bottom could become torn up either by walking or if careful attention is not used when putting them on and removing them.

Reviewed 2/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gets the job done
by vegas sworks
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've got lots of compliments on these shoe covers. They look great, and seal in your nice, expensive shoes from getting dirty and from letting the cold and rain in. They work great. Anything below 35 and they're cold...for me anyway.

Reviewed 2/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoe Cover
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Saint Louis, MO
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Keeps my feet warm and dry! High quality materials.

Reviewed 1/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic Shoe Covers
by Anonymous
Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shoe covers are great. They provide enough protection in the cold damp weather to keep my feet warm during long rides. Primary cycling is Road Cycling

Reviewed 1/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fit for road and Mountain shoe.
by FaisDuVelo
Cycling Enthusiast
Menlo Park

Love the velcro, zippers always rub. I have a permanent scar on both calves from zippers. The booties stays put. It is snug but not binding. Great for the price!!

Reviewed 3/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.