Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi Mens P.R.O. Escape Shorts

Pearl IzumiMen's P.R.O. Escape Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(5)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(64%)
(18%)
(7%)
(7%)
(4%)
Comfortable chamois, fabric is cooler, but not as supportive.
by NDOpus
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, California

As usual, PI's top-of-the-line shorts have a comfortable chamois, and the fabric is cool and breathable. But it seems that they sacrificed support. The fabric is not a strong and supportive as the previous P.R.O. fabric, which on a long ride can make a difference.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable chamois, fabric is cooler, but not as supportive.
by NDOpus
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, California

As usual, PI's top-of-the-line shorts have a comfortable chamois, and the fabric is cool and breathable. But it seems that they sacrificed support. The fabric is not a strong and supportive as the previous P.R.O. fabric, which on a long ride can make a difference.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Anonymous

Did a 100 mile mtb race with these shorts. Very comfy

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Anonymous

Did a 100 mile mtb race with these shorts. Very comfy

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go to shorts
by Anonymous
santa cruz area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are much improved over the previos PRO short, which were very good. Perfect fit and very nice fabric and padding. I bought 4 pairs! Should ladt a few years.

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are the best cycling shorts that I have ever owned
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, AZ and Johnstown, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shorts are very compression but not overly compressive. The material breathes well. The chamois is well padded and has no seams.

Reviewed 7/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
P.I. slowly but very obviously lowering quality
by Lee-M
Cycling Enthusiast
Ozarks
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shorts were recommended to me by Pearl Izumi customer service, after they discontinued the P.R.O. In-R-Cool short. I have observed a sad trend from the company for the past few years when modifying their shorts in the same price range - sometimes while retaining the same model name - they are using lower quality components, specifically the chamois. They did this a few years ago with their Select Attack shorts - they went from being comfortable for 30 miles to only about 20 miles, with the P.R.O. Escape shorts, the chamois is a lot wider than that to which I am accustomed, but with much less cushion. I don't think they sell a more expensive short, if that is what it is going to take to get the same quality... I suppose I need to look at a different brand.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts especially in warm weather
by Biking Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Souderton, Pa.

Sizing is getting more difficult amongst Manufacturers. I am 5'10, 176 lbs. in ride season. Louis Garneau large used to fit great. Now the LG's I tried were too tight and short in leg length. I tried Assos, for me they were cut strangely. Tried other pairs and then I saw these Pearl Izumi PRO Escape on sale. I do not have large legs but still ordered XL as PRO I was told more a Race Fit. They do fit me well, unfortunately I am somewhere between a Large and XL. The XL fits decently, just not perfectly. Large was too tight for me. The weather I wore the first 2 rides was in the 90's and high humidity. These shorts wick moisture fantastically and chamois offers great comfort. A draw string would have been nice. Still a great pair of shorts.

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent fit.
by Juan
Competitive Racer
Miami, Fl

Excellent fit, and quality

Reviewed 6/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts.
by Anonymous
Deep south

Just completed a 125 mile ride with about 13000 feet of climbing. The plush padding in these shorts provides super comfort for long hard rides. Liked the so much that bought a second pair.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
i prefer the older version of these shorts
by Anonymous
bend or

the shorts are good but the changes made from last years model are a bit of a let down. the pad doesnt fit as well as previous versions.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Cycling Shorts
by Fred
Competitive Racer
Texas

These shorts are a high quality short with good padding for a comfortable ride. They do run slightly small, but you will probably still want to order your normal size recognizing they might be a slight more snug (which I like). These shorts would be good for the the casual rider or the competitive racer which I am. Recommended!

Reviewed 5/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PI Shorts keep getting better
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This latest rendition in 2017 corrected the sizing problem of PI's previous year's top of the line short. The Large I had was more like a Medium. I always buy the top of the line PI shorts for maximum comfort and the chamois in them has steadily improved over the years.

Reviewed 9/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent bike shorts
by tbieter
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX

I love these shorts. They are so comfortable. Great buy!

Reviewed 9/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best shorts I have ever worn, great fit and padding.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui

I use these for my longer rides and will use them when I do the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route.

Reviewed 4/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Product not for me
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Really like the material of the short BUT it did irritate soft tissue. Was very uncomfortable.... Could be a lot of reasons for this bike setup etc... but i went with Assos short.... really the best stuff out there.

Reviewed 4/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most Comfortable Sorts on the Market
by J Ro
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

I use for training and for riding. I recently purchased top of the product line shorts from Assos, Sugoi, and Pearl Izumi. The PI PRO Escape Shorts are easily the most comfortable.

Reviewed 3/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I've been buying Pearl Izumi PRO shorts for years and have always am satisfied.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
DePere, WI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The quality is excellent and lasts for years.

Reviewed 7/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic fit and styling from Pearl Izumi
by Terry
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico

Pearl Izumi always reliable and functional. I love their new PRO model Escape short.

Reviewed 5/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable for long rides
by Anonymous

Comfortable for long rides. The sizes run a little small but still great short

Reviewed 1/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page