X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi Mens Escape Quest Shorts ( 2021 )

Pearl IzumiMen's Escape Quest Shorts ( 2021 )(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(107 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(64)
(25)
(8)
(5)
(5)
(60%)
(23%)
(7%)
(5%)
(5%)
My go to standard
by Pete
Sacramento

These shorts are very comfortable. I now have 4 pairs of pearl izumi shorts. They all are comfortable. I've tried a 3 other brands which i didnt care for as much so now all i buy are pear izumis

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shorts at a good price
by Carl
Philadelphia, PA

Nice shorts for shorter rides. Bought them for trainer rides and for short rides under regular shorts.

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As promised
by Joe Crabtree
East TN

A good cycling short for the semi-serious cyclist.

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and fit well.
by Vic Packer
Corona, CA

These are a good quality pair of shorts that fit well and offer a padded seat for extended rides and comfort. The legs don�t fit too tightly or bind like some shorts I have.

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
How to ruin what was a premier brand.
by Earlyriser09
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have owned Pearl Izumi shorts across the range all the way up to their Pro offering and have had the entry level Escape Quest in the recent past. This iteration (2021) has hit the lowest lows in terms of construction and quality however. I purchased to use indoors on the trainer and quite frankly they are not fit for that use, I cannot imagine wearing them on a ride outside of any duration. Frankly I am disappointed that Pearl Izumi would even put their logo on shorts of this caliber. The experience has me reconsidering whether I will ever purchase another Pearl Izumi product as they have clearly lost their way putting out product such as this. I know the competition is fierce at the low end but seriously why would a premier brand risk their reputation in order to try and compete there?

Reviewed 12/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts, comfortable and durable
by VirginiaBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia

I am an older rider. I ride several hours each week, usually 15-20 miles, during which I tend to try to go as hard as I can (at my age). These shorts are truly excellent. I am looking for shorts that are comfortable to wear, that don't chafe, and which allow full freedom of movement. I find these shorts fill the bill in all respects.

Reviewed 5/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Basic
by TFTubist
Cycling Enthusiast
Ramona, CA

I bought these to replace my indoor cycling shorts, but quickly found out that they won't be great for that. I usually rinse out the shorts after a session (instead of washing after every use, might be a bit gross to some) but the foam pad really seems to hold onto moisture as even after hang drying for 2 days, I can still squeeze out water from the pad.

Otherwise, runs a bit small, and is just a very basic pair of padded shorts.

Reviewed 5/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
XL is not
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Near ATL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 6'1" and weight 215. The XL shorts I purchased wear more like a L at best. Also, this new thin, high compression padding is no where as comfortable as the old fashioned chamois. The construction is more like what I'd expect for women's wear as there is no contours for my xy parts! Overall, these are not what I'd hoped for though I'm too cheap not to use them for a while as I look for a better fit.

Reviewed 4/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and comfortable
by basic Joe
Daily Commuter
Milwaukee, WI

These matched the PI's I had been using for the last 5 years before the elastic began to weaken. Caught these on sale and am looking forward to several years of great wear from these!

Reviewed 7/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts!
by Anonymous
California

Great shorts! Perfect fit and comfortable.

Reviewed 7/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decent shorts but not great
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are the most expensive cycling shorts I have. I have two other cheap pairs from Amazon. These are definitely better than those, but there are still not great (which I guess i should expect considering how pricey bike shorts can get). I just did a metric century in them the other day and they felt pretty good. I wasn't shifting around on the saddle too much. Regardless, I dont think these shorts will be comfortable for any longer than about 60 miles, at least for me.

Reviewed 6/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawai''i

Pad is fairly thick. It might bunch in the wrong places for some, but I do not have that problem. Great value for casual rides of 50 miles or less.

Reviewed 6/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Downgraded from previous years
by FAA
Daily Commuter
Madison, WI
18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

These are horrible shorts. They look nothing like the picture. Perl Izumi has gone way downhill as far as I'm concerned. I bought a few of these 5 years ago. Same item - Escape Quest shorts. The old ones are excellent, so I decided to get a couple more pairs. WOW, have they gotten bad. Cheaply made - worse then the knock-offs that can be had for 1/2 the price. They have a single zig-zag stich around a flat piece of padding - not contoured like the old shorts. Extremely uncomfortable to wear and I look like a fool wearing them as well. Pearl Izumi used to mean quality. Now it just mean how cheaply can we make something and sell it using (what used to be) our good name. No more P.I. for me.

Reviewed 3/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Chamois is not as comfortable as previous versions
by OR45938
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural Pacific Northwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are decent for shorter training rides. Fit is good, but feels like your carrying a load when you dismount. Should last a few seasons. Buy on sale when you can and you'll get a decent value.

Reviewed 2/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Downgraded from previous years
by FAA
Daily Commuter
Madison, WI
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

So disappointed in these shorts. I have several pairs from 2014, which are still going strong, even after thousands of miles. So I decided to get a couple more. The 2014 version has double stitching, no overlapped seams, grippers on the bottom all the way around and a contoured pad. They are great shorts! The new version has single stitching in a zig-zag pattern which just looks dumb and obnoxious, overlapped seams (this will get totally irritating and annoying after just a few miles), a few grippers pieces in the bottom, and a pad that is a single huge piece - extremely uncomfortable. Sadly, the quality of PI has gone WAY down as I've had the same issues with their jerseys. I feel like PI is no longer a brand that I will buy. I've gotten "cheap" no-name brands that have had better quality, which is sad when you are paying a premium for PI. The short literlly look like something you'd pay $10. So disappointed.

Reviewed 2/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No pad design
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The pad for this short is just a flat tri short type with no pad gender differences unlike the prior configuration. Ok for an hour but I can use previous version of this product on a century ride. I wonder if they will keep making it or just the more upscale models.

Reviewed 1/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit, rough pad
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the fit. The legs are long enough, the padding is located in the right place, there weird fancy hems.

CONS: The fabric of the padding is extremely rough and causes chafing and pain to the nether regions. Even after numerous washings, the rough texture persists. Lots of chamois cream required.

Reviewed 1/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Anonymous
Colorado

These are my "go to" bike shorts. They are comfortable and the leg bands are tight enough to keep the legs from riding up. Ive wirn these shorts for short rided, centuries and double centuries with no issues. I've tried other brands at the same price range or cheaper and I've been disappointed each time.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable quality made
by Robert Tschoke
portjefferson NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable quality made ! Very comfortable to wear doesn't slip up or move and the padding really protects, highly recommend

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I LOVE the chamois!
by Anonymous
North Florida
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've seen a lot of reviews lately on these shorts and how people aren't liking the chamois in the newer pairs. Personally, I LOVE the uncontoured chamois. There are no less or more padded areas which for me gives an extremely comfortable, consistent level of comfort in the whole area (sit bones, perineum, etc). These are more comfortable than my contoured Specialized shorts which are $20 more in price and i can only make it about 20 miles without those bothering me. Give them a go. You may have the same result!

Reviewed 7/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page