Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi Mens Elite Escape Shorts

Pearl IzumiMen's Elite Escape Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(11)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(69%)
(23%)
(6%)
(0%)
(2%)
Great Cycling Shorts
by JIM
Cycling Enthusiast
Farmington, MI

In my opinion, these are the best cycling shorts currently on the market. They provide great cushioning although some may find the pad a tad big. They wick moisture better than any shorts Ive ever worn...and thats 40 years of riding. Theyre a snug fit and feel great on the legs. They wash up superbly and dry as soft as new. I have 3 pairs of these...and will buy more. That said, theyre pricy. But, if you can buy them on sale you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable
by Senior rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa

Bought this shorts on sale. Very comfortable even though the padding appears to be too thick but was not cumbersome at all when riding.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pearl Izumi shorts are perfect for long rides!
by BLVrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Belleville, IL

I wear Peral Izumi's whether I'm riding 10 miles or 110 miles. They fit great and I never have a chafing problem. It is a quality product and you can't beat the price when they're on special. I

Reviewed 9/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, cool, no chafe
by Randy R
Cycling Enthusiast
Gresham, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The short material has a nice, quality feel. The padding is not what I expected. Looks more high tech than my 10-year old bike shorts. No chafe. Seams comfortable.

The color doesn't appear to be a true, deep black. More of a dark dark charcoal. Not really noticeable unless you are wearing a jersey with black. No big deal. Only you would likely notice, or care.

Sizing appears consistent with what I would have expected. I don't think there is a need for sizing updown.

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, great pad
by JIM
Cycling Enthusiast
Farmington, MI

The fit of these shorts is exceptional although some may find the pad a bit large a inflexible...that is until you begin riding. Its anatomical cut is great and, in my opinion, this is the best non-leather pad Perli has ever created. And, the pad dries quickly after washing. I already have two pair of these and will be getting a third so that I can get rid of and older pair of shorts and keep my wear rotation in place.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Shorts
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin

This is a good quality and comfortable short. I can ride comfortably for long distances in these shorts.

For me these shorts are true to size. With the Italian shorts (Castelli) I order 2 sizes larger. My ONLY complaint is for me the inseam is longer than I like. I work hard to develop my quads and it is a shame to cover them up!! These shorts come to about an inch above my knee cap.

Reviewed 8/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Shorts
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin

This is a good quality and comfortable short. I can ride comfortably for long distances in these shorts.

For me these shorts are true to size. With the Italian shorts (Castelli) I order 2 sizes larger. My ONLY complaint is for me the inseam is longer than I like. I work hard to develop my quads and it is a shame to cover them up!! These shorts come to about an inch above my knee cap.

Reviewed 8/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite pair of riding shorts thus far
by JSquare
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I keep moving up in shorts quality as I ride more miles. Now ride 4 times per week, 70-100 miles. These are more comfortable than Castelli Entrada but of course more expensive. 31-32 waist, medium is a snug fit but comfortable. Fit a bit longer than other shorts. Silicon on the lower leg but unnoticeable when I pull them on. Chamois is very comfortable, more so than the 'blue' PIzumi chamois by a bit. These shorts feel good when you put them on, unlike other brands I have, albeit their lower end. I have ridden a few 30 mile rides in them and they are my most comfortable pair yet. I am not at the level where I want to spend $100 on shorts (got them on sale) so I cannot compare them to the higher levels. Between the lower end Castelli and Pearl I, these are the best I have ridden. Hope that helps.

Reviewed 7/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels good on the butt
by Barry
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

No problems here with the Elite Escape shorts. Just dont underestimate your size - they run a tad small - and dont try to save $$ by opting for the cheaper latex Pearl Izumi shorts either. Elite Escape is the one you want.

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PREFERED ELITE CHAMOIS OVER THE PRO. ROAD BETTER AFTER A COUPLE OF WASHES.
by BOBC
Cycling Enthusiast
HOUSTON, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

WASH THESE A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE RIDING. THE ELITE HAS A LITTLE MORE PADDING THAN THE PRO.

Reviewed 7/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PREFERED ELITE CHAMOIS OVER THE PRO. ROAD BETTER AFTER A COUPLE OF WASHES.
by BOBC
Cycling Enthusiast
HOUSTON, TX

WASH THESE A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE RIDING. THE ELITE HAS A LITTLE MORE PADDING THAN THE PRO.

Reviewed 7/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New go to shorts
by Old geezer
iowa

Replaced several pairs of old Pearl Izumi shorts with chamois inserts. These have thicker synthetic padding but does not feel bulky. Very comfortable.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts for longer rides
by anwittin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These have been great shorts for longer rides. I use them on 100k & 200k rides and have found them to perform better than any other shorts. The leg grippers hold well and the waist doesn't seem to drop much, the chamois is also thick enough and doesn't shift or bunch. These have be come my shorts of choice now.

Reviewed 2/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and well made
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arvada, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these for my husband, who is an avid cyclist, as a gift. He let me know right away how much he likes these shorts. His comments are that the shorts are very comfortable , have held up well already to regular washing and he would recommend highly. Size seems appropriate.

Reviewed 2/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lighter material than prior generation
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I prefer the heavier weight of the earlier generation of Elite

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit
by Anonymous

I really like the new version of this short. Comfortable and the sizing is more accurate.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding shorts
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

Very comfortable. Comparable to Assos.

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent choice
by JIM
Cycling Enthusiast
Farmington, MI

I love the new chamois in these shorts. I sweat pretty heavily and this new chamois did an excellent job of staying dry unlike some of the old liners. That said, they are just a bit thicker and may take a ride or two to get accustomed to it. I have five pair of shorts that I rotate and always look forward to the next time I get to use them. As to the price, I bought these shorts when they were on sale. I'm not sure if I'd feel the same if I had paid full price or even bought them.

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable shorts
by Anonymous

comfortable and fairly priced

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best for any mileage beyond 80 miles in a day!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
97211 Oregon

I have an earlier version but is wearing out. This is fantastic. I can do 100 mile days with confidence and no chafing.

Reviewed 6/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page