Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Park Tool CT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool

Park ToolCT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(29%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
The Chain Tool Standard
by Boomer 10/45
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville ,TN

Used primarily to shorten replacement chains in the home work shop. However when out on the road or trail to remove broken or relieve stiff links. Much easer to operate than the typical afterthought tool included with multi- tools I have used. That includes those starting with B, L ,P & and S. Do your self a favor, carry separate chain and tire tools and forget about the extra 80 grams. Get one for the home work shop and another for your seat bag. The price is right and it will last for decades of use.

Reviewed 6/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functional and small
by Nate Todd
Seattle

Not too bulky, capable

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use and works great.
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN

I changed out my first chain in years and the Park Tool CT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool cut the chain with ease. For the cost, it was the right tool for me and should last for years.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Real Steel Deal
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA

This tool is up to par, like all Park Tools. Made of real machine tool steel, this chain tool won't give up and crack in half like the cheap Chinese knockoffs sold in big box stores in their bicycle department!

Reviewed 2/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality at a fair price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a home mechanic and have worked on and maintained, repaired and upgraded my bikes, my family bikes and my friend's bikes for many years. Although there are lots of good tools on the market, Park can can be counted on for quality and value. This chain tool is a simple, quality tool that does what it is designed to do.

Reviewed 9/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple to use
by Anonymous

First time changing a chain. This little helper got me off to a very quick and easy start. It made it possible to take off the old chain and adjust the new to the right length. This is a tool anyone can use.

Reviewed 8/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simple, compact, effective
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far I have only used it once, but it worked perfect. I assume it will hold up to many years of use. its small enough that I could carry it in a seat bag if I really wanted to, but it would be tight

Reviewed 9/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very handy and powerful tool
by Ben
Cycling Enthusiast
Daytona Beach
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Due to it's size,this tool enables a sensitive feel for returning a new pin link without going past the outer link.The overall construction is strong and there's no need to worry about breakage. An awesome strong and compact l

ittle tool!!!!!!

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great bang for your buck here. The tool is small and compact. You'll get your chain off in under minute. Great value

Reviewed 8/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good little chain tool
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My first chain tool. Keep in mind I dont need to use this all the time, but it did its job well. I figure I might need to use it up to 3 times a year, it looks like its sturdy enough to handle that for years to come.

Reviewed 8/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does it's job.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Looks like this one will last, others I've had tend to come apart right where the chain break nose meets the shaft.

Reviewed 5/21/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Made in the USA
by flxdcatbruce
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My professional made in China chain tool broke the first time I used it...this one worked and no doubt will keep working. I will stay with Park Tools now.

Reviewed 3/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
worked well, small enough to carry on rides
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I break chains on my mountain bike a couple of times per year. This tool should help prevent those long hikes back home pushing the bike. The tool is small and lightweight.

Reviewed 3/15/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tool
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Cola. S.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

small enought to carry in your tool pack ,yet very strong

Reviewed 2/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent quality, American made!
by RGS
Cycling Enthusiast
Frankentrost Frankenmuth, Michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a small, compact tool that would fit into my tool kit which I carry on my bike for emergency repairs. The CT-5C chain tool is made of a cast steel material not a poor quality, inexpensive, non-ferrous alloy. It is well machined with excellent fit and finish, in other words it's a high quality tool. I suggest that a person buy some extra chain pins and keep them with the chain tool for emergency repairs when they're riding.

Reviewed 1/29/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality tool, American made!
by RGS
Cycling Enthusiast
Frankentrost Frankenmuth, Michigan

I wanted a small, compact tool that would fit into my tool kit which I carry on my bike for emergency repairs. The CT-5C chain tool is made of a cast steel material not a poor quality, inexpensive, non-ferrous alloy. It is well machined with excellent fit and finish, in other words it's a high quality tool. I suggest that a person buy some extra chain pins from a local bike shop and keep them with the chain tool for emergency repairs when they're riding.

Reviewed 1/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Typical Park Quaility
by old iron butt
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a CT-5 for shop use. I ended up breaking it down and I carry it in my seat bag. Approx one week after I started carrying it I broke a chain. The chain breakers that come with those little multi mini tools are next to useless. This one will work forever. Park makes good stuff. Never have had one of their tools wear out yet...if you decide to pack one on your rides, just make sure to wrap it in a plastic bag so it does not poke into your spare tube...I know some think carrying a full size chain tool is overkill, but I have stopped to help numerous other riders with broken chains. I think I converted them...

Reviewed 10/1/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.