X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Panaracer GravelKing 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(58)
(14)
(7)
(7)
(3)
(65%)
(16%)
(8%)
(8%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by FolsomRider

Real World Comparison with Bontrager Hard Case Lite
by FolsomRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Compared to the Bontrager Hard Case Lite R3, these tires are the best by far. I have a 2022 Trek Domane SL5, which comes stock with 32mil Bontrager R3s. I brought the bike back to the store because the tires were losing 15 to 25 pounds of air overnight. On a century ride, I had to pump the tires every 20 miles! They suspected the tape on the rims was bad and replaced it. That helped very little. In addition, the R3s got punctures easily and sealant would seep out through the tread and sidewalls at 70 pounds pressure.

A couple of weeks ago I ran over something that put a 1inch slice in the sidewall of the rear tire and it was ruined. So I replaced the Bontragers with Panaracer Gravelkings. I got exactly the same size (32m). What a difference! They�re much more sure footed on fast downhills and sharp turns. They feel more stable, comfortable and are noticeably quieter. I expected the Gravelkings to be heavier and slower since they have a more puncture resistant tread (you can feel the difference when you install them), but they are actually about the same weight and I�ve noticed no difference in rolling resistance or speed on my usual routes. But I have noticed a MUCH better ride and they hold air longer. I�m so happy with these tires- they�re better in every way, and even less expensive than the Bontragers. I�m a huge fan of Panaracer now.

Reviewed 8/27/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JD

Flat prone and spooky
by JD
Competitive Racer
Portland
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Worst tire I have ever used. These tires get punctured, cut, and flat more than any other tire I have ever used. If I leave the bike sitting in the garage overnight, I�ll see little bubbles of white fluid around the entire circumference of both front and rear wheels (tire sealant). Luckily, the tire sealant is working and filling those the holes but it�s just a sign of how prone these tires are to road debris. The tread is not even worn through. On top of that, running this tire on the front regardless of pressure gives you a spooky road feel above 25mph. It is not confidence-inspiring at all and feels like the wheel is not tight in the fork or you�re starting to get a flat. I would not recommend these to anyone! I use the 38mm tire.

Reviewed 4/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Spooky and always going flat
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Beaverton, OR
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Worst tire I have ever used. These tires get punctured, cut, and flat more than any other tire I have ever used. If I leave the bike sitting in the garage overnight, I'll see little bubbles of white fluid around the entire circumference of both front and rear wheels. Luckily, the tire sealant is working and filling all the holes but it's just a sign of how prone these tires are to road debris. On top of that, running this tire on the front regardless of pressure gives you a spooky road feel above 25mph. It is not confidence-inspiring at all and feels like the wheel is not tight in the fork or you're starting to get a flat. I would not recommend these to anyone! I use the 38mm tire.

Reviewed 4/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Decent tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PDX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a set for the Festive 500. Our route was a 500km ride on mostly tarmac and limited gravel. I was looking for something that rolled fast. These felt great and gripped well in all conditions they were put through. the only drawback was the front punctured at 11 miles into a pre-ride. It did seal after about 30 seconds of a sealant shower. During the second day, after about 350 miles of wear, the front punctured again spewing a geyser of sealant that wouldn't seal. Bacon strip to the rescue to get me home. At the same time, I noticed that rear tire was low on pressure as it had punctured, but sealed.

Good tires, but only if your using on debris clean roads. Buy the + rated tire if you want a better chance of avoiding punctures

Reviewed 1/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Craig S

A great tire for the roads & paths.
by Craig S
Cycling Enthusiast
Astoria OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A very good tire for the tarmac. Fast and comfortable. I use these as a road set for my gravel bike. Durable enough if you find yourself on a packed trail. Super squirrelly on anything loose but that's not what they're for anyway.

Reviewed 6/19/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pawlcrawl

Indestructible
by Pawlcrawl
Competitive Racer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have beaten the hell out of these tires on the road and on singletrack and wow are they resilient. I've only started to get punctures here near the end of a 3+yr life and thousands of miles. Nothing a Stans plug couldn't fix.

Reviewed 6/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by D Boone Biking Adventures

Great smooth riding gravel tires
by D Boone Biking Adventures
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are a great option if you do a mix of dirt and road riding, as they roll smoothly on road as well. Even though they dont have knobs, they do surprisingly well in dry dirt. Sand or mud may not be the best for these tires, but for hard pack they work really well, and for loosely packed dirt theyre good also. The tan sidewall is cool, and seems fairly tough. These tires are fairly light also, compared to some other tires with more tread or knobs. Time will tell if they last, but running them tubeless theyve been great so far.

Reviewed 12/8/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by flatfishfool

Enjoyed this tire but am getting many flats
by flatfishfool
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage, AK
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these in 38mm this spring for my gravel bike, running with tubes. I ride mixed road and trails with about 2/3 time on asphalt road or trail and 1/3 packed gravel. These were great for the first few hundred miles this spring/summer but lately I have been getting many flats and finding a lot of small slices all the way through the rubber. In some cases I have found a small glass shard that has punctured all the way through and is embedded. These road hazards are all part of the deal but I am not finding that the advertised puncture resistance is very good. Maybe I got a bad batch or they changed manufacturing lately.

Reviewed 8/30/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nigel

Excellent tire, best bang for your buck.
by Nigel
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Best value for performance weight and protection. Not the longest wearing tire but great for spring summer and fall, I switch to a thicker tire for the winter months.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Long time fan of the Panaracer Gravel King
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Mountains and roads
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Gravel King provides a great ride on both gravel and pavement. They corner great on pavement - twisty roads are a delight. Hold up super well on gravel and provide stability even when the surface is loose and sketchy.

Reviewed 5/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tires
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Super cool tires fast and very grippy they are everything i was hoping for. One thing they are hard to get on the wheel i mean hard besides that awesome product.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Biking in EP

Breaking up is hard to do
by Biking in EP
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I loved this tire, the wonderful plush ride (with tubes), the low rolling resistance, the relative good handling and ability to ride pavement and rail-to-trail gravel with no compromises. Yet, I've never had so many flats in my 50 years of riding road, mountain and snow. And I ride good roads! Rims and rimstrips all in good shape. Had plenty opportunity to examine inside and astounded there's a so-called flat protective layer because I don't see it. When the first flat happened, I attributed it to a pinch flat from low-ish 50psi. Consistently running 70 psi since and still, about 4 flats riding on good roads and minor gravel. Latest is tiny slice through and into the tube but no object in the tire. More psi = more jarring ride so I'm back shopping other brands. Maybe tubeless+sealant resolves these puncture issues since most have favorable reviews. But I can't enjoy a blissful ride with tubes risking another untimely flat.

Reviewed 6/23/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MadFiberRide

32mm - Great tire for all round riding with packed dirt.
by MadFiberRide
Competitive Racer
Seattle
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

Used on a go-for-coffee bike and general commuter on a route that includes some hilly grass sections and trails. Very nice riding and they feel fast.

No flats yet. If you are getting 5 flats in 100 miles, there is something other than the tire causing a problem.

Reviewed 3/26/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Road Tire for Some Mixed Surface
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC

Put these on my first actual road bike. I'm more of a gravel/mountain biker and these have performed well for all the light gravel and dirt I have used them on. Only a little over 100 miles and they have expanded a bit to just under the marked 26mm, but have performed well to my expectations.

Reviewed 3/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old rider

Great on asphalt
by Old rider
Competitive Racer
New England
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've purchased these several times, in 26, 28, and 32mm widths. I find them to be great tires for training on the road. The tread is standard file. Quality control is excellent. I'm a 190 pound rider, so I run the 28 or 32 on my bikes that will fit them, and 26 on the road frames with less clearance. I as low as 70 psi in a 32, but generally 90-100 with 26 and 28. I find these tires roll well. I won't go on about them being "supple" or having a smooth ride, because for the most part I consider that to be nonsense. On a nice steel frame they give a good ride. On a carbon race bike, sharp edge bumps feel like sharp edged bumps. I've never found traction on asphalt to be a problem with these either. Mounting them is not difficult; they fit tight enough without being a chore to get on the rim. What I find most remarkable about these tires is that while the do seem to pick up a lot of glass shards, it's pretty rare that it works it's way through to cause a flat. I carefully pick the glass out of my tires every week or two. I've had absurd amounts of glass embedded in these without flatting. I've worn a few right to the casing. I can't say that for many other tires, which often suffer some sort of fatal damage before the tread is gone. For the price these are my go-to training tires.

Reviewed 10/25/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Better than my old gatorskins! My new favorite winter training road tire.
by Anonymous
Oregon
23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

Gravel kings have been great! I was a little worried it would be too much tire tread for how much road riding I do but I love them. There's so much crap on the road this time of year they definitely provide some extra security. 28's are the way to go! No issues on group rides at all or holding my speed plus it's nice knowing if I want to take a detour on some fire roads i can link all kinds of new rides together. I've ridden them anywhere from 80 to 105 psi, no pinch flats or flats at all. I've put at least 500 miles on them already & they still look brand new.

Reviewed 2/9/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by flatfishfool

punctures a lot, only use it if you are tubeless
by flatfishfool
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I previously reviewed this tire giving it low ratings. I have returned for an update and to echo others. When I rode this with tubes, after a few hundred miles it became unrideable. I would get 2-3 flats per ride, mostly in the rear but sometimes front also. After becoming a patching expert for awhile I took them off and threw them away. A friend also had them but ran them tubeless and he said they were fine. So I thought I might have had a bad batch. Since I otherwise love the slick and 38 width and couldn't find a good alternative, I bought them again to run tubeless. Tubeless they are great but only because the slime plugs the holes. I counted 24 punctures in my rear tire yesterday after 400 miles.

Reviewed 6/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Excellent winter tires
by John
Northeast USA

Using on the road in Northeast through the winter. Excellent grip and durability.

Reviewed 12/31/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Just what I was looking for
by Anonymous
Florida West Coast

I wanted a smooth rolling wide (35mm) tire for my gravel Bike for road riding.. These tires have jus the right amount of tread and seem fast to me for a wide tire. We get a lot of shell, etc on the roads and I would like a gator skin equivalent but�I have had a few punctures and the sealant (Stan�s) has worked each time.

Reviewed 12/25/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by InclineMark

Very Nice Surprise How Wonderful these Tires Are!
by InclineMark
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

After reading a British cycling review of these tires, on a whim I bought these 700 X 38 Slicks for my Road/Gravel Bike before a team cycling tour of the Eastern Sierra/White Mountains. I installed them on my DTSwiss C1800 wheels as tubeless and thoroughly enjoyed how comfortable they were on the rough mountain roads. I ran them at 45 psi front/50 rear and I floated over the expansion cracks on the mountain roads. I trained with them on my home roads before the trip and I felt no reduction in speed and I really pushed them on descents and they cornered well. After the trip, I put my gravel tires back on my DTSwiss wheels, but when my GP5000 TL 700 X 32's wear out on my road wheel set, I'll put the Panaracer Slicks back on. I am a decent 66 year old rider and at this point comfort wins out over pure speed and weight-weenie-ness!

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Next Page