X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin Lithion 2 Tire

MichelinLithion 2 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(77 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(33)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(52%)
(43%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
A good tire and affordable
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
outside west Austin, Tx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use a bike instead of a car and living out away from town I can rack up miles just running errands.

The tires handle well and I ride no matter what the weather is. I had been using the Krylon Carbon tires but I am having trouble finding them for a good price and I am trying the Lithion 2s. They handle well in the rain at higher speeds (40 mph on descents), plus in cross winds (20 kts gusting 40 kts). I did have a piece of road trash cut a about a 316 hole in my sidewall and then into the tube. The sidewalls are thin compared to the Carbons, nonetheless, I patched the cut with Gorilla Tape in the inside sidewall and now have a few hundred miles on the tire. The tires still handle great with even with a ugly cut.

This summer I will probably be riding on our normal 135 degrees F surface black top temps and it will be interesting to see how they do. My average miles per year in the last 17 varies from 6500 to 8500 miles a year and most years very little flat riding.

Reviewed 6/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good all-around, every day tire
by Rich Ries
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've been running these for a while now. They're not stellar at anything but above average at everything. I also get lots of miles from them, which makes them a good value.

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Love2ride
Cycling Enthusiast
Troy, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the bright colors on this tire! I bought blue to match my new bar tape!

I put them on myself and found they fit the rim snugly.

I also found that they handle really well on various road conditions drizzle, rain, poor country roads, etc.

Only been on these tires for a month or so, but so far well worth the money.

Reviewed 1/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good durable tire
by Anonymous
ct
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After going through a couple of the top racing tires and experiencing fatal punctures very early on in their lives, I came upon the Lithion 2. I have found that I get two seasons of heavy riding out of them without a flat. They strike a good balance between performance and durability.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent tire
by cycling addict
Cycling Enthusiast
Sebastopol, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have used these tires since they first came out. Get around 2500 miles on the back and twice that on the front.

Why pay more ?

Reviewed 1/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Michelin Tires
by Donald Hutchinson
SoCal
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm very happy with my tires purchased.

I've had them for several months, 800 miles, and never had to add air. The red color adds a sharp look to my red bike. Next time I need tires I'll buy them again. Thanks

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decided to try a different tire than what I have been using
by Fai
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, IL

I needed to replace my tires after logging in more than 5K miles on the Vittoria Rubino Pro. I came across the Michelin Lithion 2 which was on sale. From the description, it sounds like it would need my need of a high tread count tire which offer good handling in wet pavements. I really like these tires as they are tacky on light crush gravel roads compared to the Rubino Pro. Will get another set when it's time for replacement.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Style and performance in one package
by tiredlegs
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant to buy these because I had no experience with mounting a fold up type tire. A little extra effort and a few extra minutes was all it took to make these beauties my new favorite.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disappointed
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacremento CA
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

300 hundred miles and I got my first flat and then I realize that the back tire whas already worn out.

I have to replace them. YUK!

Reviewed 7/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire at a good price
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Colorado

Bought a pair of these in 700x23 size to replace the cheap stock tires that came with my bike. It was a bit of a wrestling match installing them. Popped a tube due to a pinch (It went off like a .22!)- the solution was to install smaller diameter 18-23 mm tubes. They fit right in with no pinch troubles.

Really sharp looking color (blue) and what I feel is a substantial flat resistant tread down the center. Really stoked about these!

Reviewed 4/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have been using thse tires for general riding for several years with great results.
by MEBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Maine
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Michelin for bikes and cars, never disappointed.

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by rlabus
Cycling Enthusiast
northwest indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What a great tire 450 miles no flats rides smooth and handles well.

Reviewed 11/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable long lasting tire.
by SE Okie biker
Cycling Enthusiast
rural SE OK
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the durability of these tires. I ride on rural roads that are oil and chip (large chips) and are quite rough. I have only had one flat when I was leaning on a turn and hit a piece of gravel. These tires are long wearing too, just replaced my back tire after about three years

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super tire!
by Joni
Salt Lake City
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My standard tire that I order over and over again. Great value.

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maybe the best all-'rounder out there, check bridge clearance
by Born2Roam
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I love the 23 versions on my road bike and bought these for my Bianchi Volpe, which is my primary winter bike and gravel ride bike in summer. The Lithion 2 25s replaced Kenda K193 Kwest 35s from the winter. Of course these are faster than far fatter CX tires, but they're MUCH faster, corner with tenacity, offer a super-smooth ride quality, roll happily over pavement and gravel and rocks, and after the first couple of hundred miles show great resistance to both puncture and wear. I originally bought these for my Fuji road bike, but the profile is too tall and they wouldn't quite clear the seatstay bridge so I mounted them without any problem on the Bianchi. (Height from the mounting guide ring to the top of the crown is 24.5 mm.) I had a 50% success rate going tubeless. (SunRingle CR18 rims, double layer of Stan's tape, Conti Revo sealant.) Front wheel set up perfectly the first time, rear wheel never sealed properly even after multiple re-tries. Went back to tubes. Love these tires and will continue to use the 25s on my Bianchi while looking for lower-profile 25s for my Fuji.

Reviewed 7/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love the 25s.
by IronMan
Cycling Enthusiast
SW PA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Michelin is My brand. I liked the old PRO 2. But I had one panic stop that took an incredible amount of rubber off the tire. (I stopped and that was good.) So I went to Lithion 23s for better wear and a lower cost. The fracking industry is breaking up the roads in SW PA and the 23s were not dampening the road chatter. I went to Lithion 2 25s and no more problems. In the Northeast I got some flack about my fat rubber tires when I started. But, I managed to ride with some pretty fast bikers and the snickers stopped. I think these tires roll well and I have not had many flats. The 23s seemed prone to pinch flats at times. The lower air pressure in these make for a better ride at no loss of speed. I switched all my road bikes over to these.

Reviewed 5/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Two new tires blew off my front and rear rims within 150 miles
by Monterey Retiree
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, CA
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Within 50 miles of installation, a minute after giving my front tire a few pumps up to 95 pounds, the tire blew off the rim with a bang. I was not on the bike, I was putting away the pump. The rear tire blew out while I was slowly ascending a hill after descending several miles quite rapidly. I felt a rubbing from the rear for two revolutions and then the tube blew. Apparently the folding bead is not gripped securely, at least by my older original rims on a 1990 Specialized Allez. In both cases the tube came out of the rims under the tire and blew open several inches along the seams of new tubes.

Since no one else mentions this problem, I will consider it the result of my particular rimtire combination. But it frightened me enough to purchase a new set of Hutchinsons to replace these tires with only 150 miles on them.

Reviewed 2/5/2015
TriSports.com Comments
We are sorry to hear about your tire blowing! Sometimes if the tire doesn't seat properly, the tube becomes pinched, causing a violent "pop". That "pop" can happen immediately after installation or miles later; however as long as the tire and wheel ISO match and the tire is seated, both a proper folding and wired bead will work perfectly. We have an excellent returns and warranty program here at BTD and next time this happens, please contact us at 1-800-682-0570 or [email protected] and we'll help you out! Best, Jeremy BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hold up well
by PacNW Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Snohomish, WA
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Typically I was on Service Course or Pro 4 tires, however, I thought I'd try these out to save some money. I'm happy with the switch, but I'm also light on miles so far.

Reviewed 1/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top tier performance at second tier pricing
by born2roam
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I confess a brand bias to Michelin, but that doesn't always dictate my buying choices. Of the 12 or 15 pairs of tires I have on bikes at any given time, there's likely to be 12 or 15 different brands. But as a repeat buyer I come back to Michelin more often than any other brand, and the Lithion 2 illustrates why. These tires are lighter than all but racing tires, wear well, corner predictably, brake with authority, and accelerate briskly. Mounting is easy and they resist punctures well. Lithion 2s provide the performance of more expensive tires at the price of lesser models.

Reviewed 12/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heavier than advertised, but quality tire
by michael
Cycling Enthusiast
mi
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these for deal of day) for a Trek USPS bike I plan to sell, so I haven't ridden them. They look to be a good tire. My only complaint is they are listed at 210g, but when they arrived the Michelin pkg says 220g, & I weighed them at 240g. But for average road riding they look to be a great buy.

Reviewed 11/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page