X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Lizard Skins DSP Handlebar Tape 2.5mm

Lizard SkinsDSP Handlebar Tape 2.5mm (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(33%)
(33%)
(25%)
(8%)
(0%)
Not satisfied
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas

I installed the 2.5mm black tape on my handlebars and I am not impressed with it. It looked good initially, but it is quite worn on on one corner of my handlebars in just a few months. I have also had to rewrap both sides more than once due to some wraps sliding around. It's probably too thick to work well. My previous bar tape lasted three years, never slipped, and I just thought it was time to change it. I ride about 6000 miles a year. I won't be installing this one again.

Reviewed 9/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Orange tape makes any bike - especially black - POP
by triwaldaus
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX

If nothing but vibrant orange will do, the 2.5mm Lizard Skin delivers, and makes the bike pop. Yes, it gets dirty with every ride, but nothing that soap, water, a sturdy brush and some elbow grease can't restore to like-new appearance. Just as well - for $40 p. tape you want it to last longer than 100 miles. Great grip and sufficient cushioning too.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice feel, hard to clean
by craigwells
Cycling Enthusiast
seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If I got a different color might be a better rating. I have not found anything that will clean the yellow to its new fluorescent brightness. I got the 3.5 mm first, was hard to wrap, and impossible to get neatly into the bar end because of thickness. I am not a pro, maybe someone with more skill could have done, but not me. I loved the feel however, and eventually decided to try the 2.5, thinking I could do better. The wrap process was better, but ias before, swiftly gets dirty. If you had black, would be a good choice. Even If I could clean it, not sure I want more bike maintenance tasks

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As advertised
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The description fits my experience. You do have to be careful when you wrap not to stretch it--the packaging tells you this multiple times. Works great; good vibration damping; good texture (not too tacky, not too slippery).

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Combo of Grip and Vibration Dampening
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area

After trying many tape types of tape, Lizard Skins shines. Long lasting comfort and never-ending grip. So tough you'l be tempted to keep it in place for years, the cushion fades after a couple of seasons of hard use .

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
thought it would be better- Its ok , not great
by nkamali26
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY

Its good, but i don't think its worth the price for premier bar tape. it was not tacky enough.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the lizard
by TD
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

Love the feel of LS tape... I get the padded and it's worked for me for years. As far as wear goes I can't really compare it to other tape because I don't use anything else. A bit pricey however but for me .. worth the price.

Reviewed 1/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tacky tape does not last long
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Installation is easy, just don't stretch it. The edges of the tape curls up if you stretch it. Tacky and decent cushioning. (2.5mm) do not choose the orange color! It got dirty after just two rides. I mean ugly dirty! Black may be a better choice. Overall its not a bad tape but not the best one either for sure.

Reviewed 10/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tacky bar tape
by HalloweenEagle
Cycling Enthusiast

I've used Fizik Bar Tape and Bontrager Tape. This was better than both. The combination of the tacky surface and the cushion allows for you to take long rides with or without gloves. Not sure of durability yet, but so far so good.

Reviewed 10/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just ok
by James
sacramento, ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The color changed almost immediately after a few rides. Comfort wise they were ok. I went from the Bontrager that came on my bike to these. I had never put bar tape on so it could be that or that the tapes were a little shorter than I expected. Overall I feel like the product could be a lot better considering the price. Pretty expensive.

Reviewed 8/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough wrapping
by Anonymous
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

They mean when they say do not pull tape tight any tension in this tape causes it to come out of shape as you grip the bars during a ride. I wasnt crazy about how unforgiving they were in this regard and I wound up replacing them after 2 months of use.

Reviewed 7/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the lizard, great grip and great color.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Edmonton, AB
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this product based on having purchased it once before. Lived up to all my expectations.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.