X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Light and Motion Urban 1000 Front Light

Light and MotionUrban 1000 Front Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(55%)
(36%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Super duper bright, but thirsty
by T S
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this light for several years now. I like that it is really bright in the highest setting, is extremely well made and durable. That being said, it must be charged after every ride in order to assure constant availability during my commute. My commute times vary between 40 and 90 minutes per day. Whilst the strap is fairly easy to attach and remove the rest of the attachment system is bizarre and over designed not to mention unstable. The light attaches to the strap by means of a slot and is held in place by a small thumbscrew. In theory one could remove the thumbscrew and the light from the strap, but in practice it is much easier and faster to simply remove the entire apparatus by undoing the strap. Even when the thumbscrew is tightened fully the light easily swings from right to left making it necessary to constantly adjust the beam to keep it focused on the road. This is the most annoying feature on an otherwise splendid instrument.

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
secure and bright
by Adam
Reno, nv
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'll start by saying I only have a 4-mile commute so I've only relied on the battery for 8 miles or about 30 minutes. I bought it to replace an old cygolite that drove me nuts rattling on the handlebar. The light and motion strap mount is much more secure and quiet. I like the side yellow lights a lot.

Reviewed 12/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very powerful light.
by Michael parsons
Keep city/change zip: Portland

The best bike light i have used, sturdy and very powerful has three settings of which one is a flashing option. Battery is long lasting on flashing mode.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1000 lumens put to good use
by AriK
Northern IL, USA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I already had the Urban 900 which I like that was also really bright. I gave it to my girlfriend since she doesn't ride at night very often but wanted her to be able to see and be seen safely.

The main difference between the 900 and 1000, besides 100 more lumens ;) is the "flash" mode. The 900 doesn't flash but fades from high to low back to high, etc.; the 1000 does the same fade back and forth but throws in a quick flash burst after each fade cycle, approx every 5-10 seconds or so. At first I didn't like the added burst but have gotten used to it and think it's an attention getter without being too annoying like the always on burst mode of an older cygolite I have. It would be nice if there was another setting on the 1000 to have the fade without the burst in addition to the current mode with the burst. As I said, I like and am used to the burst of light but would be nice to have the option of no burst as well.

The 1000 puts the lumens to good use by shooting light far ahead and also enough to the side that I'm not surprised by anything in or near my path when riding a road bike between 15-20 mph. Even in lower light modes it's bright enough if you're riding closer to 10 mph.

Reviewed 7/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Strong enough for roads at night, even very bad roads
by Jeffrey Lee
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I tested this on many night rides. On the second highest setting, it was good enough for riding on smooth roads. For very bad roads with many potholes etc., I had to put it on the highest setting.

The endurance of the battery so far seems to be what the specs said, i.e. around 90 minutes at the highest setting, and twice as long on the second highest setting. (I've never needed the lower settings.)

If it had a battery that a user could replace, it would be much better because the light seems well made and very likely to outlast the battery. It is also very expensive, so batteries that consumers could buy and replace would make this a far greater value. It would also be a greater value if the manufacturer did the battery replacements, i.e. to avoid wasting resources etc. even if it did not save much money. Lots of riders want to consume in a less harmful way.

Reviewed 7/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Light
by SFBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Light & Motion bike light products for many years now. They are very well built, perform well and provide long service life. I use this light primarily as a daytime running light. The SafePulse mode is quite eye catching. However, I'm docking 1 star because it always turns on to the brightest steady mode instead of remembering the last used mode. This means it takes 4 clicks to get to the SafePulse mode.

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well Made Headlight
by SouthWest Border
Cycling Enthusiast
East San Diego County

The headlight is well made and easy to take off. It needs to be recharged after every use even if it was less than an hour. The switch generally turns off instead of cycling to the flash mode. That needs to be re-done.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love how bright the light shines
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Light works very well. Brightest only lasts about 90 min on a charge. Worried the strap will wear out taking the light on and off the bike to charge.

Reviewed 9/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good light
by Rkw
Tn

I have used it mostly during the day. Day has a bright flash. At night it throws a good beam, about 100 ft. of good vision.

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great front light for the price.
by Anonymous
michigan

Love the pulsing light w intermittent strobe. Better than it's predecessor.

Would get another one for sure.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright light easy to mount light weight.
by BigMac
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusettes
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this light on sale, Light is very bright and easy to mount in a few seconds. Charges fast and is not heavy. can remove easy to charge and put on another bicycle.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.