CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kuat Sherpa 2.0 Hitch Rack

KuatSherpa 2.0 Hitch Rack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(50)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(96%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by cjwills

Sturdy yet lightweight - Excellent
by cjwills
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA

Effective and secure bike rack. Easily assembled and easy to attach/remove from receiver hitch. On my 2020 Rav4, effectively carried road and TT bikes. Bikes stay very secure and. properly placed, don't move much. Still, on the inner rack, my MTB (29'er) bars were a little close to the rear window on my vehicle. A little shim of some sort in the wheel well (I used a shop towel) raised it enough to make it work.

Overall, an excellent product.

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bikingjbolk

Hitch 'Em Up~!
by Bikingjbolk
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Such an elegant and super light weight rack. Tired of hefting rigs up top the SUV after a long day of riding and or too dirty to toss in the back of the SUV after graveling, entering this awesome lightweight solution. Lightest in its class, minimalist does not block or obstruct, at least my, rear camera. Super light to lug to rig, means on and off far more likely than its heavier brethren. And miles saved in MPG from no longer having the top rack and no longer a worry about the car wash... so many wins in such a simple package.

Reviewed 10/29/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DaveMac

A quality, well thought out rack, in a lightweight package
by DaveMac
Cycling Enthusiast
New England

`I'm very happy with the purchase of this rack . I don't generally keep the rack on my SUV, storing it in garage when not in use. What drew me to the Sherpa 2.0 is the 32 lb weight. This rack is 17 lbs lighter than the similar one it replaced...which makes installation and removal a breeze. The knob that takes the rattle out of the hitch connection is a great feature. Assembly was straightforward. My road and gravel bike quickly attach, and are very secure.

Reviewed 5/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TimeToBike

Light and Easy to Use on my small car
by TimeToBike
Competitive Racer
Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Bought this one to replace the heavier version that was just too heavy for my Hyundai Sonata. This rack does the trick. Easy to take off and on the car and easier to use. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 10/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Third hitch is a charm.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
bloomington, indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third hitch. I couldn't ask for a better one. It does not rattle or wobble while on the car so no annoying noises when I hit bumps on rough roads. Bikes go on extremely easily. Better yet, the hitch is very light and the easiest to install and remove of the three hitches I own. Wait, there's more. It will drop down with the simple flip of a lever to allow the rack to go from the upright stored position to the flat position to allow me to open the rear hatch door. No more struggling to pull pins, etc. You cannot go wrong with this hitch.

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mac

Great lightweight quality bike rack.
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast MA.

This is a Great lightweight rack yet very sturdy easy to load bikes and fold up when not using and can tilt down with bikes loaded on rack to open Subaru Outback rear hatch with plenty of clearance. Also very stylish looking. Purchased the white which matches white paint on car. And purchased here for lowest price. Love this rack had racks on top of car, This makes it much easier to load and dont have to worry about any clearance problems and should be less drag saving gas. Would Buy again a little pricey but worth the investment.

Reviewed 6/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DK

What an easy to use rack!!
by DK
Competitive Racer
North Carolina

This rack is easy all the way around. You can mount it on your car in seconds and putting the bikes on and off it is so simple. It's fantastic. So well designed - it's even easy to use their lock to attach the bikes to the rack for security. The installation was a snap as well. All the tools you need come in the box and you can assemble it very quickly

Reviewed 8/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Look no further and choose this 2-bike rack!
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Collingswood, NJ

Bought this rack a few months ago and am wholly impressed with the style, function, safety, and sturdiness. I was forced into the 1.25" version which I expected to be not as sturdy as the 2", but I was pleasantly surprised. The integrated hitch stabilizer makes it super sturdy and can be tightened with the provided 8mm hex. I wish the lock was integrated, but it also comes with a lock that doesn't make any noise despite it being a bit oversized and loose when installed. There is some small movement while holding two 30lb mtb's but overall very sturdy. The profile is perfect. I can see straight out my hatchback window without any obstruction from the rack. It folds down easily with a push of the lever and you get a very audible click when it's in place. Bikes go on quickly and secure tightly with the arm and rear wheel strap.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bcool

Beautiful rack with only minor flaws
by Bcool
Florida

The rack is absolutely beautiful. The gray matched my charcoal gray Honda Ridgeline perfectly. I love the anti-wobble function and the way the rack can be tipped towards the tailgate when not in use. The unit is reasonably light and top quality all the way. I do, however, prefer a frame clamp arm (as opposed to a tire clamp arm) to hold bikes in place as it makes loading easier. It is also a bit awkward to tilt the rack when bikes are loaded. Overall, I love it!

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Upgrade for me
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this rack to replace a Yakima traditional style frame holder hitch mount. I wanted something more secure because one of the bikes is a step through. I haven't had a chance to use it given the snow in the NE, but the assembly was easy, rock solid on the car, so it should work as intended. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. This rack also has a cable lock that locks the bike to the rack. One thing I didn't like was the hitch pin. I felt it was too long and could be exposed to a bolt cutter. So, I ordered a different 3rd party hitch pin that doesn't stick out as far, which I think will make it more difficult for someone with bad intentions.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by david

First new rack in 20 years!
by david
Cycling Enthusiast
okahoma

It is well built and looks really nice. With all the new axle combinations we needed to upgrade our rack. I wanted this one over the more expensive model mostly because of the weight. It is great for the most part and we are still very happy all but no adjustability. I guess the model above would have had some. I can't make all my bikes work on this rack. All of our mountain bike seam to work but I can't get my gravel bike to work with any of them. I am going to try raising the back wheel and strapping it down and see if I can make it work somehow. It will work for most applications though. I just wish it has just a little adjustment to it. Thought this might help someone looking to buy. I would have still bought this one probably because of the weight and ease of moving it around. It really is a nice high quality product.

Reviewed 2/21/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

The Best! Great design, materials, and fabrication
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Coastal GA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Shipping - Shipping box is well-designed, heavy-duty. Rack arrived in perfect shape, and when promised.

Assembly - NIce that the container served as an assembly jig. Assembly was pretty easy, no problems. All necessary tools included.

Materials, fabrication, finish - All top notch. Love the powder coat finish & weight; easy to carry/maneuver

Design, functionality - Just awesome!! This thing looks great. The rack mounts easily & very securely to the 2" hitch with *zero* rattling, and the bikes go on/off so easily and securely. Took on its maiden voyage yesterday - two bikes, 40 mi round trip with highway speeds & winds blowing mid-teens, gusts to low-20's. Very secure. I am completely happy with this rack! Highly recommended.

Reviewed 12/16/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TimeToBike

Light and Easy to Use on my small car
by TimeToBike
Competitive Racer
Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Bought this one to replace the heavier version that was just too heavy for my Hyundai Sonata. This rack does the trick. Easy to take off and on the car and easier to use. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 10/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

This is the BEST bike rack!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Easy to use. Bikes are stable. Tilt away to access your trunk or cargo. Light but very solid, does not budge once installed. Finish is automotive grade. Can be expanded for multiple bikes.

Reviewed 9/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Imike

Great rack and simple to operate!
by Imike
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina

Lightweight and easy to operate. My wife loves it when she loads her bike up and goes to ride with her pals.

Reviewed 11/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

I love it
Central Valley CA

This rack delivers wverything it promises. Light, secure, stylish. Easy to operate one handed. Hitch and cable locks make it easy to secure.

Reviewed 1/25/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Velo BMC

Well designed Rack Excellent quality.....
by Velo BMC
Cycling Enthusiast
Nee Albany, Ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Considering the quality, this rack is worth the high price tag. I just finished my 3rd season w this rack and still looks and works great. It is not expandable like the other Kuat model, but carries up to 2 bikes securely. I have had a very good ownership experience with the Kuat Sherpa, If this rack was $300 bucks, everyone that I know would own one.........

Reviewed 10/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Love this rack!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Everett, WA

I love how sturdy this thing is. Easy to mount bikes up and hit the road. Haven't used the cable lock yet because i'm paranoid about theft but i'm sure it will be ok to run into a gas station.

Reviewed 7/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The Kuat Sherpa 2.0 Hitch Rack surpased my expectations!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bel Air, MD

Kuat's attention to detail and quality make the Sherpa 2.0 an outstanding bike carrier. Even though it costs over $400, it is well-worth the investment. The expanding ball system ensures a tight fit with the vehicle hitch. The carrier is made from aluminum making it lighter and much easier to attach to the vehicle hitch. It takes seconds to load and secure bicycles. And, the integrated locking cable gives you peace of mind. Nothing is full-proof. It will prevent someone from a quick grab and go.

Reviewed 9/9/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scudssm

Great product
by Scudssm
north carolina

Very classy looking. Very easy to put together. A well made product. Very simple to put bikes on . It folds up . I highly recommend this product. It may cost a little more, but worth every penny

Reviewed 6/27/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page