Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kool Kovers Cleat Covers

Kool KoversCleat Covers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(56%)
(44%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Good protection
by mdonald9
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds WA

Unlike the picture, the SPD cleat covers have the rear corners cut out to accommodate the two back weight bearing points so they are not as protected as the front of the cleat. Even so, the covers seem to do a reasonable job. I've had the back points knocked off before, but not since using the cleat covers. Also helps to keep dirt and gravel out of the cleat and stays secure as long as you make sure it is well attached when you put it on.

Reviewed 4/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Optional accessory but useful
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used to think it was strange that people would use cleat covers when you can just walk on them. Just another thing to lug around, stuff into overfilled jersey pockets, or lose. However, after replacing my 4th set of Shimano cleats and discovering that the Blue ones are sometimes hard to find I decided to give these a try. I just used them for the first time on Cycle Oregon, a 7 day organized group ride where you often walk longer distances at rest stops and in camp. Aside from the fact that they can get mucked up and you still have to carry them when riding, I thought they were great, not only for protecting the cleats, but they improve grip when walking on slippery surfaces. They also clicked on easily and didn't fall off. I noticed that some riders used the shower rings the covers came with to hang them from their seat bags, but I don't like things dangling and swinging on the back of my bike. No thank you. I'd use them on longer rides any time if I anticipate having to walk any distance. I don't need them for training rides.

Reviewed 9/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy To Use, Helpful with Wear on Cleats
by LMSCLimbs
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver

Easy to put on and remove, and have definitely helped with wear and tear on my Shimano Road cleats.

Reviewed 10/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
these are the best thing for saving your cleats from destructive gravel.
by Joel H
Cycling Enthusiast
Gresham, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These cleat covers snap on and off easily.

Reviewed 11/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Kool cleat cover
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Easy to walk on

Reviewed 1/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Perfect Companion to Shimano SPD-SL Cleats
by SJ_BillyGoat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After wearing through my Shimano SPD-SL cleats in a year, I decided to spring for yet another bicycle accessory. These are easy to put on and remove. They also comes with a convenient clip ring which you put through the hole in the cover and the ring can be clipped under your seat stay for easy access. Not only will these save your cleats from premature wear but they will also provide traction on slick floors. I highly recommend these, just remember to take 'em off before you you get on your bike.

Reviewed 12/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for an emergency
by Seabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Coast
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got these in case I breakdown and have to walk home.

Reviewed 11/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wish I had bought these ages ago.
by WI cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, WI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There is no better way to ruin a ride than to have your cleats get so caked with mud that you can't clip or unclip. It happened to me once too often - and to make it worse my friend had these cleat covers and just pulled them off and got on the bike. I carry them with me on every ride and use them frequently. Why not? They are light, inexpensive, easy to carry and do the job. They don't last forever, so I keep an extra pair around for when I need them.

Reviewed 8/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Protection - Great Price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are great, they slip on easily and protect your cleats for additional wear and tear from walking. I keep them with me when ever I my cycling. Great Price as they nearly half the price of other similar covers.

Reviewed 7/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.