X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Gore Wear Mens C5 Gore-Tex Shakedry 1985 Viz Jacket

Gore WearMen's C5 Gore-Tex Shakedry 1985 Viz Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(64%)
(18%)
(9%)
(9%)
(0%)
Good purchase
by rww77
bogota

I'm riding in the mountains of South America and it will rain often while in 40s-50s. This jacket checks all the boxes. It packs into its own pocket and easily fits in a jersey. The shake-dry is worth the investment if your actually putting out the watts/ breathable. I'm enjoying the all around protection while descending mountains in the wet and keeping me from going hypo thermic (of course any jacket would work for that) but it weighs basically nothing to assist with the accent. I'm 5,10/ 165 and went with an XL. It fits me well, not skin tight race ready but comfortable. I'm thinking a L would of worked also. But happy with the XL.

Reviewed 6/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost Perfect
by OldanSlo
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

The jacket is waterproof in the rain and breathable enough to be used as a wind layer in drier weather. I'm 5'10" 170lbs (broad shoulders, long arms) and bought a large as the medium was a little tight in the chest. The front length of the large goes all the way down to my manly bits so gives good coverage in the rear and the extra length isn't noticeable while riding. Works for me as I'm trying to maximize comfort in the rain and not performance.

My concerns for the jacket are the small gauge zippers. Gore used a two-way zipper in the front which, along with the small size, makes it fiddly to engage while riding especially when fingers are cold and wet. Also the jacket can be stuffed into itself by inverting the back pocket, but the zipper back there doesn't have a pull tab on the back side which makes closing it up fiddly as well, especially since the jacket is a tight fit in the pocket.

Overall, this is a rain jacket that works and can fit in my back jersey pocket. Expensive, but worth it for me.

Reviewed 12/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great waterproof shell
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Everett, WA

I generally avoid riding in heavy rain but this jacket has done great for wind blocking and keeping me dry when i head out on dry rides that turn wet . Fitment seems accurate based on sizing chart. I've used it for running on wet and windy days and while its not ideal cut for running, it works ok.

Reviewed 2/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania

Purchased Six weeks ago. Several rain storms later and Im super impressed. Covers arms all the way down to just over my summer gloves. Covers my rear. Not overly hot. Shakes mostly dry when the sun comes back out. Really awesome purchase.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The gold standard
by George
Daily Commuter
St. Louis, MO

The jacket worth its weight in gold and some more. I would have given it more than 5 stars if that is available.

The shake dry is like magic and it is far better than any other water proof fabric. Even in torrential downpour, the water just beads off the surface and your body stays dry. The major difference between the shake dry and GoreTex, which both block water from outside, only the shake dry breath well enough to keep dry from the inside. As a bonus, it folds very small and you can keep it in your pocket.

It is great other companies, in addition to Gore Wear, offer different styles and cuts. You may need to find the best one for you.

What not to like

1- You can get it in any color you want, as long as it is dark with some little accent

2- Small rear pocket, which is not different from the vast majority of rain jackets

3- It is delicate. You cannot use backpack

Reviewed 4/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania

Purchased Six weeks ago. Several rain storms later and Im super impressed. Covers arms all the way down to just over my summer gloves. Covers my rear. Not overly hot. Shakes mostly dry when the sun comes back out. Really awesome purchase.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really Noisy
by R5F
French Camp, Ca

Good warmth, but noisy when when wearing it.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So so
by R5D
French Camp, Ca

Not what I was looking for. Super noisy when wearing, but liked the thinness and packability. I still returned it.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome jacket
by Anonymous
Mokena Il.

Great to keep you dry, light weight, and easy packing.

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice jacket and is as advertised
by Anonymous

I usually purchase medium and I ended up changing for a large to fit over my jersey. The medium could have worked but I wanted more room.

Reviewed 4/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket
by Greg
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Light, folds up small enough to fit in back jersey pocket. Quality construction. True to size. Im 57 165 lbs and size large fits me well

Reviewed 11/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.