Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Savant MIPS Helmet

GiroSavant MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(27%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Nice, lightweight helmet
by Anonymous
Austin, Texas

My whole family uses this helmet as our primary lid and we've always been happy with the weight and placementnumber of air vents. It is often hot riding here in Texas and we enjoy a helmet that doesn't smother. We just replaced my son's because he went over the bars. The helmet worked as advertised and took the impact preventing a concussion, at the very least.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet saved me from a bad concussion or worse and I am buying it again.
by O. Rink
Cycling Enthusiast
Bakersfield, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I fell on my road bike when I slid on a muddy patch of road on a rainy day. My Giro helmet protected me as my head bounced along the asphalt. The side of the helmet looks like it was worked over by a power sander. The MIP System performed as advertised when my head twisted and rubbed on my left side. As I write this review I am ordering another Giro MIPS helmet to replace the one that saved my brain. This is the most important piece of safety equipment you will ever buy.

Let's face it, there are a lot of good helmets out there and all of them must pass the same DOT standards. The MIP System is a fairly new feature, but I consider it a must, since almost all cycling accidents involve lateral impacts. The Giro Synthe with MIPS also has a one knob adjuster that makes it easy to accommodate caps, sweatbands etc. For the price it can't be beat and it looks great.

Reviewed 3/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love the Savant MIPS
by Mike
wisconsin

Got out the on a ride for the 1st time with the new Savant. The secured fit was outstanding and being a little chilly, I wasnt able to provide feedback on the venting, well find out in warmer weather. The look and feel of this helmet for a large to XL size head is the best Ive had. The only exception or reason for the four rating is my hair gets caught in the MIPS inside tabs.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and looks!
by BtownBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bloomington, IN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Looks great, fits great. You get high-end looks, features, and fit without killing your budget.

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet is awesome
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Orange Ca

Helmet is awesome, super light with lots of air flow

Reviewed 1/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the best fitting, most comfortable helmet I have ever used.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, EE
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Needed a new helmet after a fall. The price and newer technology filled the bill!!!!

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect option for a quality, low-cost helmet
by evans792
Cycling Enthusiast
Menlo Park, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Spokane's review is right in line with mine A very good lower-cost (but not cheap) option for a quality helmet. It's a lower-profile design, nice and light on the head, with a true fit. The dial in the back is good quality. The only negative is the rough chin strap. Other models I've worn (e.g. Rudy Project), have a much softer material in their chin strap that add comfort. The strap on the Giro is a bit rough. Not going to ruin your ride, just a minor negative.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very well-built, very comfortable, adjustable fit.
by Mark R.
Daily Commuter
Vancouver WA

I have no concerns about the helmet - and like everything about it. It fits exceedingly well. Could not be more pleased!

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight and comfortable
by pdxlou
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this helmet for its features and value and it did not disappoint in either category

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight and comfortable
by pdxlou
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I purchased this helmet for its features and value and it did not disappoint in either category

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits well.
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Helmet strap adjustment allows for comfortable fit. Seems light. Good venting.

Reviewed 9/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit
by richpen
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet fits much better than my previous Giro. The adjustment is easy and stays in place. It looks pretty much the same as my old helmet with a nice finish.

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great helmet after making some modifications.
by SpokaneValleyBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane Valley, WA
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried on several helmets and the Giro Savant MIPS was the most comfortable without spending an excessive amount of money. The chin strap adjustment knob is also of good quality. The MIPS version has a layer of plastic between your head and the pads adhering to the styrofoam material, providing that extra cushion. As stated in other reviews, you have an excessive amount of chin strap material after making the fit adjustment. I ended up cutting off the excess and used a flame to prevent fraying. Of course, at this point I pretty much bought the helmet, making the possibility of return doubtful. This provided my motivation for not cutting off too much. The appearance was not sacrificed, however. Another complaint is that the narrow cushions inside the helmet were not secured properly. I had to add some additional velcro strips to prevent them from flopping around. This really should have been done at the factory. After making these modifications, I have a nice looking helmet that is very comfortable and affordable.

Reviewed 3/14/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro helmet
by Steve
Bay Area S F

Great helmet,

Highly recommend this in all respects!

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.