CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Eclipse Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroEclipse Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(87%)
(4%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by EH

Feels very fast in very fast group rides and races. Spherical technology is way cool!
by EH
Competitive Racer
San Diego

This is my go-to helmet on our Tuesday/Thursday morning tear-your-friend-legs-off fast rides. It's not for pedestrian coffee rides given that it's got no-where to insert your sunglasses when you take them off your face.

Reviewed 5/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GDS PDX

This helmet saved my life. Full Stop.
by GDS PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this helmet because a friend had just purchased one and he said it was really comfortable. When I tried it on, he was right. I really like Giro helmets and have had two Aeon's in the past--so I expected a good fit. But the Eclipse gives a couple advantages I had not expected. First, the aero design is more noticeable than I would have expected. You notice how aero it is because it is just quiet--so much less wind noise than an Aeon. Because of my experience with an Aeon (and Specialized S-Works Previal) I was worried that the much more aero Eclipse would be hot in the summer. But that was an unexpected surprise too, and I would say that it cooled about as well as its cousins. But my real praise is about its crash protection. Last November, I was hit by a car that ran a red light at about 30MPH. The impact was mostly on my head. My face was badly beat up, and I received a serious concussion. But I'm convinced that without the spherical MIPS and the layered design of the helmet, things would have been much worse. The helmet did its job--EMT's actually thought it was not damaged--but it was crushed on the impact side and clearly took a major blow. Nevertheless, it remained intact, and more importantly absorbed and transferred the impact so as to minimize the damage that could have occurred. Thank you GIRO for designing an excellent helmet! Not only is it fast, light and comfortable, its also a damn good piece of safety equipment. Of course, I bought another to replace it, although I was eager to see the new Aries just released--which may be an even better helmet, who knows?

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fuelfool

Greatly Improved Fit
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
BlueRidge Mountains NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Over thirty years of riding and racing I have gone back and forth between Bell and Giro with a bias towards the former as the brand seemed to favor my oval-shaped head versus Giro�s more rounded shapes.

But with the advent of MIPS it seemed to me that the fit on all helmets suffered; that is until the newest generation of lids. Both the new Eclipse above and my Bell XR have significantly better fit than their predecessors. It appears that these two at least have figured out how to better integrate the MIPS system into their products. Hopefully this is across all brands.

Reviewed 4/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matt L.

Excellent Purchase
by Matt L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, DE
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Giro helmets for years. Any model in size medium has always fit perfectly. I purchased this in the ano blue to replace my 2019 Syntax MIPS helmet. For comparison the Syntax weighs 322 grams, my new Eclipse weighs only 274 grams. I've found airflow to be very good, always a concern with an aero helmet. To gain aerodynamics and next generation MIPS protection at a considerable weight savings is quite a package. At the sale price that I paid it felt like stealing. That ano blue is every bit as bright as it looks in the pictures, so I suppose there's something to be said for a touch of visibility as well.

Reviewed 12/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

I use this helmet for mostly road but also a bit of gravel riding. The fit is consistent with how other Giro helmets fit and works well for me. It has not been super hot since I got this but it seems well ventilated. I have no way of validating the aerodynamic performance but suspect it must be pretty good based on the mostly smooth surface (compared to my Giro Helios) and relatively compact design (there is no real "tail" at the back to present more surface area in cross winds). It is well made and while expensive, is comparable in price to premium helmets from other brands.

Reviewed 11/28/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michigan biker

Light, Aero and Quiet
by Michigan biker
Competitive Racer
SE Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I currently have a Kask Protone, Bontrager Velocis and this Eclipse Spherical. The Protone is quiet and aero, but not that light. The Velocis is light and aero, but not that quiet. The Eclipse is all three and has a very nice, low profile. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 11/10/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kodiak Rider

Light with a good fit
by Kodiak Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have the Vanquish and this appears to be the new version. It is noticeably lighter and supposedly has better ventilation (I have a hard time telling any difference - the Vanquish is fine in the heat). The fit is good, probably a little better for my head but that is personal. I like them both but if I had to pick one it would be the Eclipse. Basically the same colorway (White/silver on both). I don't necessarily think either is particularly attractive but they aren't ugly enough to not wear them. And I'm wearing them and not looking at them lol.

Reviewed 7/8/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by crsimmons

Most comfortable helmet I've ever owned!
by crsimmons
Cycling Enthusiast
Greater Los Angeles Area

If you want a helmet that will last for many years. And, you don't mind the price tag. This is the most comfortable one I've ever owned. For sure a keeper and for me worth the price.

Reviewed 12/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Really nice helmet
by Anonymous
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I�ve owned many helmets over the years (Spiuk, Giro, Giant, POC, Specialized) and this fits as well as the best of them. I recently bought a POC ventral air and actually like the fit of this better.

I was a little concerned about ventilation since this is an aero helmet, but haven�t had any issues.

If you�re looking for an aero helmet that can be used daily and not make you look goofy, you found it!

Reviewed 5/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice helmet
by Anonymous

Got a size medium which is a bit larger than the small Specialized Prevail 2 that have been wearing. Fit feels more encompassing versus the Prevail which feels like sits on top of head more versus around. Ventilation seems comparable, although haven�t used it in a hot day yet

Reviewed 5/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike E

Lightweight, comfortable helmet with good ventilation
by Mike E
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago

Very lightweight for an aero MIPS helmet with good ventilation, comfortable, great fit for me and looks good too. My primary helmet now, with Aether now used for hottest conditions.

Reviewed 10/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul A

Giro Eclipse Spherical MIPS
by Paul A
New york city
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Liking the helmet so far. Feels secure, looks good. Can�t speak to the aero benefits but it does sound quieter than my old helmet at high speeds. Only complaint is that it seems to get scratches and dings pretty easily. Hoping it doesn�t look shabby after a few years of use.

Reviewed 11/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Big John

Fits a Bit Different
by Big John
Competitive Racer
South Texas
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have worn Giro helmets since the 80s when they were first produced. The number one thing about Giro is the fit has always been perfect and consistent. Also the quality is always top notch. This helmet is also top notch quality but the fit is different. It has a rounder and slightly smaller fit than the traditional fit. Its snug on the front and back of the head.

Reviewed 8/11/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by L Hoppy

Very Nice Helmet
by L Hoppy
Casual Cyclist
Cincinnati, Ohio

I love this helmet, fits well and looks good!

Reviewed 7/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mwhite

Love it even more than the Synthe!
by mwhite
Oregon

Finally had to replace my MIPS Synthe Helmet! Love this new helmet. Even More comfortable than the Synthe, which I didn't think was possible. Light weight, airy, aero, but feels super secure. I've got a big head, but I know I can buy ANY Giro helmet in size Large and it will fit me.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good helmet.
by Anonymous
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Had helmet for a couple of months. Helmet is great and did its job this week when I had a crash. Slid head first into a palm tree while on vacation. No injuries except a few scratches. I will probably go with Bontrager next only because they will replace your helmet in the event of a crash. Giro will only send you a 30% off coupon. Which I guess is better than nothing but free is free.

Reviewed 6/30/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The best helmet I have owned
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had a Giro Savant helmet previously and this one eclipses it (groan) in weight and ventilation. Fits the same as the other Giro and true to measurements listed on site. Nice straps, buckle, and very light. I like to buy helmets I look forward to wearing, that are nearly unnoticeable, and this helmet certainly meets those criteria.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joseph C

Great Helmet
by Joseph C
Competitive Racer
Bend , Oregon

I love Giro helmets - And this one is one of the best - Cool and aero -

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great aero helmet that vents
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Fits well, vents well, and I guess I trust Giro's claims that it is aero. Fits my sunglasses either forwards in vents or on the back in the molded helmet shape.

Reviewed 10/10/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Comfortable, light
by Anonymous

I don't know if it is aero, but it is comfortable and not heavy. The straps sit well and the helmet plays nicely with my sunglasses.

Reviewed 7/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page