X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Cinder MIPS Road Helmet

GiroCinder MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(25%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love this Helmet
by k*
Cycling Enthusiast
North Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Giro helmets for 15-20 years because they have okay adjustability and a decent fit and usually pick the $50-75 dollar ones, but this Cinder is so much more comfortable with great airflow. It's light, stays rock steady in place so much so that I just don't notice I'm even wearing a helmet as much. Even the straps are more comfortable and easier to adjust. I decided to try the Cinder because of a good price match and some VIP bucks to make it a steal but wow am I'm impressed with this helmet. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super nice helmet
by Road, gravel rider
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great air movement, comfortable, and, I�m told, not bad lookin�.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light weight with good ventilation
by bob
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah

excellent bike helmet with plenty of ventilation areas

Reviewed 9/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit but airflow is not great
by SharetheRoad
Cycling Enthusiast
81301

This helmet has nowhere near the airflow of my older Aeon, nor is it nearly as lightweight. I choked on the price of an Aether and availability was non-existent so I settled. On the plus side, the MIPS kind of seems like a positive, but I'll mostly wear one of my other helmets, especially when it gets hot.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, great fit, adjustable. Would purchase again.
by Anonymous

Great!

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Fit
by indiewine
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA

Giro helmets are the best. Fits well.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Did header over handlebars and won a ride on nice helicopter.
by Motmot128
Cycling Enthusiast
GA-ALA

Old Giro helmet got me to Hospital ER not morgue. This is a replacement. Comfortable.

Reviewed 6/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid GIRO offering.
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Seems to fit more snug than prior GIRO helmets but otherwise true to past sizing. Need a warmer day to test ventilation. Not heavy like their Monarch helmet for MTB.

Reviewed 11/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better, and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

Bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

I bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet comfortable in hot weather.
by Roadogmak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have used helmet for 2 months now with temps low to mid 90s F, high humidty and riding 100 mileswk. Helmet has good airflow and is not too heavy. Helmet is sized too large for me, I have always worn a Large with a summer skull cap underneath and need room for a heavier wool cap in the winter. With this helmet I have to tighten the adjustment knob to the max to prevent the helmet from moving on my head after persperation builds up. Helmet movement is also a result it's slippery plastic headband (may be part of helmet's safety design feature). The additional safety the helmet offers makes it a worthwhile investment for me. You may want to consider purchasing a smaller size than you normally wear.

Reviewed 8/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aero Issue?
by Garth
Cycling Enthusiast
LAOC Counties
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After 3 years with the Giro Synthe, it was time to replace it. I selected the Cinder as it was on sale, had MIPS, resembled the Synthe, and had the colorway I wanted. I'm not completely happy as the Cinder seems to rotate towards my eyes as I ride fast, especially downhills. Using the dial adjuster in back only serves to cause me headaches and the helmet still rotates. This is my fourth Giro helmet and two have saved my noggin in crashes or accidents. I'll go back up the line to the Synthe or higher for my next helmet. I won't be waiting long as this one is annoying.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice looking helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Quincy, IL, USA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

nice looking and aero

Reviewed 4/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New helmet
by AlNad65
Gold River
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is light and comfortable. It is stylish and the color is a bonus with a nice matte finish. Only thing that keeps it from being a 5 star is the size runs a tad small. Overall its a good value the price

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Used Giro helmets for 25yrs
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
North East Ohio
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Long time road bike with some mountain bike riding too.

I have used Giro helmets for 25 years. Wanted to add a new one with newer design. Ordered the same size as always but this one seems narrower than all previous ones. A little tighter on my temples to the point of potentially causing a problem. I haven't used it for a longer ride yet so I cant say whether it will be a problem. Still great quality.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright, comfortable and good air flow, I'm believer in the MIPS safety system
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

..

Reviewed 7/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helemet - similar to the Synthe
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet looks very similar to the Giro Synthe helmet. The venting is close to the Synthe as well. The plastic inner liner of the MIPs structure seems to make the helmet a little hotter and the helmet is not super light. For the money though this helmet provides features that are very close to the more expensive Synthe.

I actually prefer the look of the Cinder helmet.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit but doesn't do well to push sweat away from my face.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, California
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Overall fit well and comfortable. The strap and adjustment and well made and work as intended.

Like all helmets, my biggest complaint is they do a poor job of re-directing sweat away from the face.

I ended up using a Halo Headband underneath and there is enough adjustment to fit right.

If i try using the Halo Headband with Solar flap (to cover the neck) then the fit is too tight.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by Anonymous
New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For the price there's no better MIPS equipped helmet. It's light and airy, what more could you ask for?

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wanted a MIPS helmet to replace my aging Bell Ghisalo that needed new cushions.

Saw this and the discounted Gold Express deal and purchased it. It fits nicely and is comfortable to wear with plenty of ventilation thus far. However, I have yet to wear it in the summer humidity here in Houston.

Reviewed 4/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page