X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Cinder MIPS Road Helmet

GiroCinder MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(66%)
(31%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Good fit, bulky
by Ken
Albany, NY

Somewhat bulky compared to Mavic helmet, great fit, comfortable. Using daily on my commute.

Reviewed 10/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Fred
New York

I really love this helmet. It�s light, comfortable,

And very well made!

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New helmet
by AlNad65
Gold River

The helmet is light and comfortable. It is stylish and the color is a bonus with a nice matte finish. Only thing that keeps it from being a 5 star is the size runs a tad small. Overall its a good value the price

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid GIRO offering.
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County

Seems to fit more snug than prior GIRO helmets but otherwise true to past sizing. Need a warmer day to test ventilation. Not heavy like their Monarch helmet for MTB.

Reviewed 11/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better, and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

Bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

I bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet comfortable in hot weather.
by Roadogmak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD

Have used helmet for 2 months now with temps low to mid 90s F, high humidty and riding 100 mileswk. Helmet has good airflow and is not too heavy. Helmet is sized too large for me, I have always worn a Large with a summer skull cap underneath and need room for a heavier wool cap in the winter. With this helmet I have to tighten the adjustment knob to the max to prevent the helmet from moving on my head after persperation builds up. Helmet movement is also a result it's slippery plastic headband (may be part of helmet's safety design feature). The additional safety the helmet offers makes it a worthwhile investment for me. You may want to consider purchasing a smaller size than you normally wear.

Reviewed 8/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Used Giro helmets for 25yrs
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
North East Ohio
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Long time road bike with some mountain bike riding too.

I have used Giro helmets for 25 years. Wanted to add a new one with newer design. Ordered the same size as always but this one seems narrower than all previous ones. A little tighter on my temples to the point of potentially causing a problem. I haven't used it for a longer ride yet so I cant say whether it will be a problem. Still great quality.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aero Issue?
by Garth
Cycling Enthusiast
LAOC Counties
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After 3 years with the Giro Synthe, it was time to replace it. I selected the Cinder as it was on sale, had MIPS, resembled the Synthe, and had the colorway I wanted. I'm not completely happy as the Cinder seems to rotate towards my eyes as I ride fast, especially downhills. Using the dial adjuster in back only serves to cause me headaches and the helmet still rotates. This is my fourth Giro helmet and two have saved my noggin in crashes or accidents. I'll go back up the line to the Synthe or higher for my next helmet. I won't be waiting long as this one is annoying.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright, comfortable and good air flow, I'm believer in the MIPS safety system
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

..

Reviewed 7/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helemet - similar to the Synthe
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet looks very similar to the Giro Synthe helmet. The venting is close to the Synthe as well. The plastic inner liner of the MIPs structure seems to make the helmet a little hotter and the helmet is not super light. For the money though this helmet provides features that are very close to the more expensive Synthe.

I actually prefer the look of the Cinder helmet.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit but doesn't do well to push sweat away from my face.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, California
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Overall fit well and comfortable. The strap and adjustment and well made and work as intended.

Like all helmets, my biggest complaint is they do a poor job of re-directing sweat away from the face.

I ended up using a Halo Headband underneath and there is enough adjustment to fit right.

If i try using the Halo Headband with Solar flap (to cover the neck) then the fit is too tight.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by Anonymous
New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For the price there's no better MIPS equipped helmet. It's light and airy, what more could you ask for?

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wanted a MIPS helmet to replace my aging Bell Ghisalo that needed new cushions.

Saw this and the discounted Gold Express deal and purchased it. It fits nicely and is comfortable to wear with plenty of ventilation thus far. However, I have yet to wear it in the summer humidity here in Houston.

Reviewed 4/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet, grat fit, comfortable
by Bikeric
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is somewhat of a silly question, I wear my helmet to protect my head.

I find the strap difficult to undo, unlike the numerous Giro helmets i have owned

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An excellent fitting helmet.
by Kansasjack
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have wore Giro helmets for years, the Cinder fits well and is very comfortable, hi-vis is another plus.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great MIPS option
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like vivid colored helmets for safetyvisibility combo. This MIPS helmet fit me perfect and is comfortable in all climatic conditions.

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet at this price point
by RAP
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

Wanted a MIPS helmet without breaking the bank. The Giro Cinder fits the bill. Comfortable and looks good. Waiting for a sale makes this very attractive.

Reviewed 4/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro helmet
by Entique Lipp
riverside CA

Is a nice helmet light and fits perfec !!

Biketiers store it has the best deals in the country!! And arrave right on time !!

Thank you ...!

Reviewed 11/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice, reasonably priced MIPS helmet.
by arniebp
Cycling Enthusiast
Whidbey Island Washington

Comfortable and easy to adjust, good air flow through the helmet. Having received a concussion in a bike crash, I wanted the MIPS system in my next helmet but didn't want to break the bank. This helmet fits my needs.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page