X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(107 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(69)
(27)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(64%)
(25%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Good gps computer
by SD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

I have been using Garmin GPS computers for a long time. I started with a Garmin Edge 305. I then got an Edge 800 and 810. Although there were a few design flaws in the models, after fixing it permanently or temporarily, I was happy using them. So far I haven't read about nor discovered any flaws with the 830.

After setting up, the screen data looks similar to the 800 and 810. The unit comes with the map of the country which is a big savings, although I still use the Open Street Map. Setting it up is a little more complicated but not too hard. You'll need to put Garmin Connect on you smart phone to quicken setting up the computer.

I have a Stages Power meter and it's completely compatible, as well as the Garmin heart rate monitor. The touch screen works very well, even with an anti glare sticker on it. So far the battery life seems very good.

So while the computer is equal and better than the 800 and 810 there is one big change. The lap and time buttons are on the front edge of the computer instead of the top. I like to hit the lap button at the bottom and top of climbs. After many years of hitting the button on the top of the computer I must think and remind myself to put a fingertip between the handlebar and the edge of my computer (computer sits on a k edge computer mount). This isn't a design flaw just a change to what I'm used to. I bet with time I should get used to it.

This is a good computer. I think it's the right size, not as large as the other models. I'm sure you'll like it if you buy it.

Reviewed 8/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Cycle Computer with Many Functions I have yet to Explore!
by CO Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Front Range Colorado

Great computer with many functions I am still learning to use. I bought it to sync with my rear radar/tail light. Works well on both MTB and Road bike using the mount with rubber connector bands. I still have to try mounting the extender on the road bike. Not certain if the extension mount will fit the larger oblong carbon road bars. I like the audible beep for the sharp curve notifications because I typically am not looking at the screen notifications when approaching a sharp switchback! the touch screen is great!

Reviewed 9/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good, solid computer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee

I bought the 830 when the Garmin sale was happening a while back. I had never owned one of these navigation computers before. I only had a simple CatEye. I decided to take the plunge into these modern times so that I could actually download and follow routes for our bike club rides instead of using a cue sheet. Boy, am I glad I did. Things are so much easier when you just have to follow the screen. The 830 has definitely impressed me so far. The navigation has always been accurate and has never led me astray. I use the 830 pretty much as a bike computer with navigation and it has performed admirably. With the speed sensor, it has been perfectly accurate for my speed and distance since I manually set it up with the actual tire circumference. It definitely has functions that I don't use: Strava, heartrate monitor, power meter, etc. but that's okay. That fact that all of those extras are built in for the folks that use them makes it a great bang for the buck.

The are a couple of things that I dislike. The first is the fact that the Garmin website manual isn't always clear on how to do things. I found several helpful hints by doing internet and forum searches and just figured some things out on my own. The second is the seemingly universal cry that the notification sounds on the 830 are virtually impossible to hear. I have hearing loss and use hearing aids but I still can't hear the sounds when riding. To make matters worse, I also bought the Varia radar unit and I couldn't hear the notifications for that either, meaning I had to look down all the time which defeats the purpose. The fix for that was that my hearing aids are paired with my phone so I downloaded the Varia app and I run that on my phone while I ride. This allows me to receive the radar notifications through my hearing aids which is what I need the most. Garmin would do well to at least add a good volume control on the unit. An even better option would be to allow the unit to pair with the hearing aids so that the phone would be unnecessary.

Aside from those two things, the unit has been a great upgrade to my riding and I don't know why I held back for so long.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features. Incredible battery life!
by LS
Massachusetts

Had the 810 before this. I really liked it but once I connected the Varia radar unit to it the seven year old battery showed it's age. The 830 stunned me with its battery life .. still had 70 to 75 percent of a charge after more than 100 miles of riding. Multiple devices connected including power meter, radar, and electronic shifters. I love the incline grade feature and the screen customization. And the display is a dramatic improvement from the 810.

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Prefer it to my old 1030!
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect! Used a 1030 for >3 years thinking I needed its large screen. When it died (Blue Halo screen) I was going to replace it with a 1030+, but then the 1040 came out. Suddenly realized I don't need all the data-obsessed features Garmin includes (which are a pain to have to shut off if that is even possible!), and thought I'd try the 830. Love it:

(1) its screen is just enough bigger than the old 820 screen that data displayed in the 10-window data screen is easily readable

(2) its alert beep is loud enough, though perhaps not quite as loud as the one on the 1030+

(3) about half the weight of a 1030/1030+/1040

(4) fast processor for quick performance

Reviewed 6/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My wife says
by Ron
Competitive Racer
Ann Arbor

My wife isn't the data geek that I am, but she really likes her Edge 830. Now that she is getting the additional data she is being won over and sees the benefits.

Reviewed 9/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing like a Garmin
by Defrost
NE Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a quality product specific to bicycling. Garmin makes some of the best aviation navigation avionics in the industry and we're talking precision instrument landing guidance that leaves nothing for error. You can see this expertise bleeding over to their line of biking GPS'. The 830 is a compact touchpad biking tool for guidance and training. It's hard to imagine they left any features out. If you want a bigger screen for guidance that will be more like your smart phone, then step up to the 1030. But, it appears the 830 does all that the 1030 but in a smaller package. Expect a learning curve.

Reviewed 4/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A really good cycling computer
by bikeguru54
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had many Garmin devices over the years. In my opinion, sometimes Garmin gets it right and sometimes they don't. I think that they got it right with the Edge 830 - although it's too early to know about true durability yet. First, a gripe: Coming from the Edge Explore, going back to a smaller screen seemed a step backwards. However, that being said, the basic cycling information is well displayed and the screens can be customized for just the information I want to see at a glance. I really like the way it integrates with the Varia radar taillight and headlight. It seems that the alert for approaching cars is more noticeable on this unit than the Explore. I have not used all of the included features of the 830 - and one's like the crash alert - I hope I never will! However, the 830 seems like a keeper. Tip: buy the silicone case to avoid damage.

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features - almost too many
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Reviewed 5/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the Touchscreen
by TXBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy, TX

I've owned many Garmin devices over the years and navigating the functions / settings hierarchy with buttons mostly intuitive. The touchscreen feature on the 830 makes it that much easier. I read a lot of articles debating the incremental value of that feature since it has a higher price point. Certainly an end user decision / preference. Pairs easily with Powertap, SRAM, and Assioma Favero power meters, plus iPhone and Garmin heart rate straps. I find the safety features and training analytics useful.

Reviewed 3/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to operate feature packed GPS unit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

The Garmin 830 is super easy to set up and use. Has all the features most riders would need and more. Navigate to an address and hill climb details are just two of the many useful features. Touchscreen works great. Note that the screen is on the small side.

Reviewed 7/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
830 & varia
by Dave
oregon

I upgraded my display to allow vaira gps to be on the screen. The software in the 830 atomically installed every extra i was using riding. This impressed me!!

Reviewed 7/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good upgrade from the 510.
by Brick
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA

After years with the 510, it was time to move up. The 830 is for the most part intuitive, and the touch screen features allow options to be used while riding. The ability to download segments, particularly climbs, is much appreciated. This makes it much easier to pace the 500 - 2000 foot climbs. The battery life seems excellent, on a number of occasions I have not recharged the battery but there has been plenty of life left for the next ride. The 1030 was tempting, but I prefer the size of the 830.

Reviewed 10/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by stevern
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a 5 year old Wahoo Elemnt with the 830. It works very well and has many more features. I don't use all the training tools but the navigation tools work very well. I like the ability to "pin" routes in RWGPS and move them to the Garmin by syncing without a USB cable connection. The climb pro feature is nice in the mountains. The touch screen is great, much better than pushing buttons.

I do wish the start/stop button was on the top instead of the back. That can be a clearance issue. Also the screen can be hard to read with certain glare situations. The old Wahoo was better in this regard. Steve

Reviewed 9/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better over other competitor GPS units
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Fairfax, VA

I was skeptical about moving to a Garmin from my existing GPS since all of my other cycling friends are not using Garmin. After making the leap to Garmin I am very satisfied with the touch screen, the interface with Garmin Connect, reminders for hydrating, weather forecast, and ease of linking routes from other apps. At first it took some time getting used to the interface and setting it up, which would be expected for going to a new product. I do love the bluetooth interface with my Shimano di2 where I can use my shifter buttons to navigate between the different screens. So far I've ridden about 1000 miles with the unit and it has saved me with its re-routing feature whenever I get lost on a solo ride. Definitely a life saver.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Improvement from 820
by Rudyt28
Miami, FL

My first Garmin was the 810, later the 820, and now the 830. I used them all for road and MTB. The 810 got the ring and sold it. The 820 I was so disappointed on the battery life on a 8 hours ride that I sold it. The 830 has a better battery life. The screen is a great improvement since it doesn't move when is raining, my 820 used to go all over the place under the rain. The touch screen has the right sensitivity with all the familiar features of the 800 series. Even though it contains a lot of things I don't use, it doesn't glitch or discard my rides as its predecessor.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great improvement over the Edge 820
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my Garmin Edge 820 with the 830. The 830 is quite an improvement over the 820. It finds sensors much, much quicker. Satellite acquisition is a whole lot better. Screen is bigger. There's just too many improvements to mention them all. The only thing I wished Garmin would do for all the Edge models is to be able to "program" the Edged pages, configurations and options from a web page which then could be uploaded directly to the Edge. This would be much simpler for the end user and an obvious feature to employ. Bur that doesn't take away from the Edge 830. The Edge 830 is a nice product.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is worth it!
by glensand
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bay, CA

I had a Garmin 520 previously, multiple buttons to navigate functions. The 830 is much more user friendly, touch screen navigation is far more intuitive. The only negative I have in countered so far is that it is easy to delete something unintentionally, so take your time..

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great head unit with bonus features I was not aware of
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was an avid phone user for my cycling "computer" until a friend talked me into the 830. At purchase it was a cool toy that enable Ant+ pairing with my various sensors so things connected very easily and quickly. I have been very impressed by the cycling dynamics feature (power meter pedal integration), map rerouting, favorite Strava routes (you can star someone else's route on Strava and download that route to the 830 for mapping), and the Strava segments. Really like the real time segment popup that shows how you are doing against the KOM and/or your PR. Battery seems to last a really long time too. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Significant Improvement over the 820
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Believe it or not, I had still been using my trusty old 500 because I so disliked the 820. It was difficult to read in bright sunlight and it constantly changed pages and settings when I dripped sweat on it no matter how I tried to tweak the settings! A friend implored me to get a new 830, assuring me that it was vastly improved over the old 820. I took his advice and must admit that he was right. Not only is the screen noticeably larger, it is also easier to read in bright sunlight. The touchscreen is way more usable and it boots up three times faster. The sweat-dripping thing is still a problem, however. I'm either going to have to quit working so hard, or reposition the unit so it is more out of the way.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page