X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(85 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(52)
(22)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(61%)
(26%)
(5%)
(5%)
(4%)
Great improvement over the Edge 820
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my Garmin Edge 820 with the 830. The 830 is quite an improvement over the 820. It finds sensors much, much quicker. Satellite acquisition is a whole lot better. Screen is bigger. There's just too many improvements to mention them all. The only thing I wished Garmin would do for all the Edge models is to be able to "program" the Edged pages, configurations and options from a web page which then could be uploaded directly to the Edge. This would be much simpler for the end user and an obvious feature to employ. Bur that doesn't take away from the Edge 830. The Edge 830 is a nice product.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It does everything advertised, works very well.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ottawa On Ca

Bought this as I have a few different bikes & it makes mileage tracking easy as you just swap the computer from bike to bike. It has worked well for everything I've used it for: gps files for navigating & just general data. It's smaller than the 1030, so takes up less space on the handlebars, but has the 1030s functionality. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improvement on battery life and turn by turn
by Cecil
Competitive Racer
Minnesota

Having had the 3 other Garmin's in the past 15yrs, The 830 is by far the best for the money spent.

I love the easy download and sync to my cell phone and the turn by turn directions.

Another big improvement was the battery life, being increased to well over 12hrs when you have setting dialed in for maximum battery savings.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great head unit with bonus features I was not aware of
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

I was an avid phone user for my cycling "computer" until a friend talked me into the 830. At purchase it was a cool toy that enable Ant+ pairing with my various sensors so things connected very easily and quickly. I have been very impressed by the cycling dynamics feature (power meter pedal integration), map rerouting, favorite Strava routes (you can star someone else's route on Strava and download that route to the 830 for mapping), and the Strava segments. Really like the real time segment popup that shows how you are doing against the KOM and/or your PR. Battery seems to last a really long time too. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features - almost too many
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Reviewed 5/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Significant Improvement over the 820
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC

Believe it or not, I had still been using my trusty old 500 because I so disliked the 820. It was difficult to read in bright sunlight and it constantly changed pages and settings when I dripped sweat on it no matter how I tried to tweak the settings! A friend implored me to get a new 830, assuring me that it was vastly improved over the old 820. I took his advice and must admit that he was right. Not only is the screen noticeably larger, it is also easier to read in bright sunlight. The touchscreen is way more usable and it boots up three times faster. The sweat-dripping thing is still a problem, however. I'm either going to have to quit working so hard, or reposition the unit so it is more out of the way.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Huge upgrade from 820
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used a Garmin 820 for years and the 830 is a huge upgrade. The screen is much more responsive, the battery life is so much better and the screen is sharper. If you like the 820 you will love the 830.

Reviewed 12/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Intuitive and simple to use
by Anonymous

Touch screen is clear and easy yo use. Setting the display to personalized settings was simple.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice head unit
by Anonymous
NYC

Great upgrade from the 520 which only fault was battery life. Typical Garmin learning curve needed.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is so much better
by Tom
Competitive Racer
Santa Barbara, CA

Ordered this as an upgrade so I could track my interval workouts with better data. The touch screen is so nice, it makes using the unit so much more easier. Automatically uploads data to Strava so I can check out how I did verses my last ride on the route.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is worth it
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

I've had a Garmin Edge 530 for a few years but passed that one on to my wife when her Edge 520 stopped holding a charge. I debated whether to go with the 830 but I'm happy with the choice after using it for a few weeks. The touch screen is easier to manage compared to the multiple buttons on the 530, and it has worked reasonably well in rain and during the last part of the winter with full finger gloves.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome device!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon

great stats and trailforks maps....what else do you need?

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't get lost!
by GravelRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the 830 to guide me through Oregon's forestry roads, out of cell phone coverage. It shines when the road on the map doesn't exist or is washed out by a landslide. It's clear and easy to read while rattling downhill and offers a wide array of features (if you take the time to learn the details.) I tried a Wahoo and am much happier with the Garmin.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tons of functionality + great battery life
by Barry B
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN & Tucson AZ

This is my third Garmin and far & away this is the cream of their crop. On a cross country trip I could sometimes go 60 miles on 17% of the charge. Screen is bright, map colorful. Flips screens off my Di2 buttons (top of the hoods Domane SLR7). Interacts with my Varia with clear readout of approaching traffic. No downsides. Love it!

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have enjoyed the 830. It was easy t0 set up
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson and Nebraska
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this to replace a garmin 800 that died on me. This has more options than the 800. I appreciate it linking with my phone to show texts and emails. I'm still working to get courses and routs set up, but it gives warnings and turn information that is great. Still lots to learn, but am glad I purchased it.

Reviewed 2/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my first cycling computer and I really like it!
by Gary Sandel
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles CA

I use it every time I ride my bike either on the road or my trainer. And now I am planning to use it on my runs too. So far, I have not seen any flaws yet.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Get the 530
by jgg
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I got my 830 coming off an 810. I debated long and hard between it and the 530, as the only difference is touch-screen vs buttons. And, after several months, I can say I made the wrong choice. The touch screen actually makes this less valuable than the 530. It is terrible with gloves, and their software is terrible at dealing with it. I am constantly pulling down something when a want to slide, and so on. It is just annoying. I heard the touch screen was improved, but my 810 did better.

Everything else is fine. I still can't find the compass, the menus are huge disorganized messes, but they are trying to deal with a small space and few controls, I will cut them some slack.

Get the 530. Save $100 AND get a better unit.

Reviewed 5/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my Garmin Edge!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, AZ

I ride my road bike with the Edge and absolutely love it. Love having routes loaded on it and love it just generally. It's really fantastic. Should have done it years ago.

Reviewed 5/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
830 over 530
by Jbartlwy
southern Indiana
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had first purchased 530 and used for the summer and was happy with it very much. But did not like the pushing buttons so much while riding. So went ahead and upgraded to the touchscreen 830 and have been very happy that I did a big improvement and to me worth the money. Even in cold weather riding with gloves screen was easy to use.

Reviewed 3/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flexible data screens and fast computer
by Anonymous

Like Garmin connect where there are lots of data screen options. The computer is fast, though the touch screen doesn't work as well in rain or sweat. Wish Garmin use the phone for input more like Wahoo.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page