Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Ultra Sport II (Folding)

ContinentalUltra Sport II (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(41%)
(47%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)
even the folder has a stiff as a board bead
by MEJMEM
Competitive Racer
Memphis TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

so these tires grip well, wear well, which is the only reason they don't get a worse review, however... they are stiff as a board to get on and off the rim. Changing a tube if you get a flat is such a pain. My new Gator Hardshell tires are so much easier to get on and off. I know this because I mounted one with the rotation direction going the wrong way, and it only took me a few more minutes to switch it back.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good All-Arounder
by TXCarl
Competitive Racer
TX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I think the other reviewers have summed up my feelings pretty well. Writing this just to add yet another confirming witness that this is a decent all-around tire. It's definitely not as fast as a GP4k but then, it shouldn't be at the price you pay for these and furthermore, I want more durability in a tire I plan to beat up every day. That said, they are NOT slow. They roll best in their first 400mi of use and as my back tire has gotten more worn, it doesn't feel quite as lively. Still a good fast tire though. Stands up well to my trainer which munches tires pretty well. Not sure about other folks but mine were a tight fit on both Mavic wheelsets that I have. Can't beat the price- will definitely order more.

Reviewed 1/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
by PastorP
Cycling Enthusiast
Waldorf, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered two sets of these tires and put one set on my Pinarello and one on my Lynskey. I've only put in one ride on each bike...but the tires felt great. One ride was a hill ride and the other was pure speed. I like these tires. I'll see how they hold up after a few 100 miles...but thus far...excellent. I would definitely recommend these tires. In fact, I'm ordering a set for my EVO.

Reviewed 12/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great training tire- maybe fast enough to race
by Carl
Ft Worth, tx
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

700x25- replaced yksions that came with my kysrium elites. About 100mi so far on urban roads i ride at lunch. Despite price tag of the yksions i am very impressed. Seem easily as fast. Puncture resistance is always subjective but so far no nicks or cuts. Ride is smooth, gp4k-like. If i had no time to switch out tires or wheels, i wouldn't feel like i was making a major compromise competing on these. No wet weather experience but dry grip is good- smooth transition off the center tread into corners entices you to push in further. Better than the yksions. Mounting? Well they are a very tight fit.

Reviewed 10/22/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent millage tire
by Cycling Nomad
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I rode these tires an average of 200 miles per week for a total of 3000 miles without a flat. Best tires I've ridden in the last 10,000 miles.

Reviewed 8/4/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all around training tire. Period.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding and racing for 4 decades. I have used nearly every model of every major brand of tire. Clinchers and tubulars. Contis roll and wear the best. This tire is by far the best bang for the buck for everyday use. 180tpi for 20 something dollars. No brainer. For all out racing go for the Contis high end tires.

Reviewed 7/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Low resistance and good adhesion.
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A joy to ride on these tires.

Reviewed 9/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value
by rstwo
iowa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires roll really nice and relatively fast for a 28c. I have 500 miles on them and they are showing minimal wear. I will definitely be looking at these again when I need to replace the current ones.

Reviewed 8/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Split along the bead. Returning
by noonrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampabay
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased 4 Continental Ultra Sport II (Folding) Nov 2015, 2 have split along the bead. Two are on the bike now, waiting to see if they will last. Calling exchange or refund, hope this is just a bad batch. The wire bead tire would last a year or more, tried to upgrade at the new low price.

Reviewed 4/10/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, long lasting tire with a great ride at a great price.
by jkelly
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Georgia
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a fairly serious cyclist and a triathlete. I bought a set of these for training tires on my tri bike. I've been riding Conti Grand Prix's on my road bikes and thought I might try a cheaper tire for lots of training miles. The tires ride great. They are incredibly durable (no visible wear in 500 miles, I may need to cut off the little nibs because I can't seem to wear them off). They roll remarkably easy. For the price they are pretty incredible.

However, that incredibly hard wearing rubber doesn't inspire the same confidence that the Grand Prix's do. I haven't really had any trouble, but I don't want to push them into the corners. Probably a great tire for riders who put in lots of training miles. I'll go ahead and pay the extra for the Grand Prix's.

Reviewed 3/10/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Monica, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just purchased the 25's and so far so good. The Ultra Sport II are ridiculously inexpensive for the quality of the tire. I had some concern for the speed of the tire as they are a little heavier, but no problem, plus they handle well. Not as sticky as 4000's, but secure through hard turns. Too early to speak about durability at only 200 miles, although I've never had flatting problems with any Continental tire at any price point.

Reviewed 7/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Training tire
by  Washington Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Wenatchee Washington
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the tires for my training bike and have put around 500 miles on them so far. I've used Continental tires in the past so I decided to try this less expensive version. The tires roll well,are confidence inspiring in the corners, and give a good feel of the road. They have been rock solid so far and I've not had a single flat.

Reviewed 6/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as durable as higher-end Contis
by marktherfguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenwood, BC
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought four of these because of the price and my experience with Continental tires (5000km of touring on TravelContact and TourRide tires without a flat), but I was a bit disappointed - I've had a few flats, and some of the tires have worn through to the threads after less than 1000km (600 miles). I do have to ride on some pretty rough roads, but I was hoping they'd last a bit longer. And no, I don't skid, I'm not Peter Sagan...

Reviewed 4/18/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire at a bargain price
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Palos Verdes, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Well made, durable tire with good grip, good looks, and the convenience of a folding bead. I can mount and remove these tires without needing tire levers - - less to carry, while eliminating the chance of pinching the inner tubes. Life is good !!!

My rides involve a lot of steep descents so the grip (and resulting confidence) is much appreciated. Great value!

Reviewed 3/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great training tire for the price..
by NorCal Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Finally- a reasonably priced all-around training tire that won't break the bank. Best (for the money) trainer I have found since the discontinued Ultra 2000. I have 2000 miles on my rear Ultra Sport II and no sign of wear. I ride rough chip seal country roads and these hold up well. Nice ride, but you might need to experiment with your psi. Rode a little harsh at first, then I dropped the psi and made a lot of difference. I noticed these have a rotation direction, but I don't think it matters. I like these tires a lot.

Reviewed 10/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding tires
by D Moo
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Conti still has great tires. These were affordable tires and they have a good feel for the road at this price point. No problems with flats so far. I will ride these on dirt roads as well. Good stuff.

Reviewed 10/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, yet affordable tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have a good collection of bikes that I use regularly and rely on a durable choice of tire so I'm not having to change them frequently. Continental is a top name brand with models at a different range of prices, but I find their trickle-down quality of the medium-lower lines quite high.

Reviewed 7/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.