X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TdF LTD Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TdF LTD Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(13)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(77%)
(21%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Magical Tyres!
by Achaziyah
Boston, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore these! I got these as a solution to the dilemma I had of wanting a high-performant, all-rounder set that's tough enough for some of the worst pavements and is also supple enough to be an essential road tyre.

I went down from the 28c Gator Skins to these, and even though I didn't want to go with a narrower width, the GP TDFs don't feel especially squirrelly or uncomfortable. Ride them at a slightly reduced PSI & it's like magic.

My only critique is that I wish they would be available in 28c! Imagine, all this comfort, grit, beauty AND a better contact patch with less rolling resistance & more stability in fast corners ?? ... I need it!

I have summer tyres on now that satisfy my tan sidewall requirement and are 28c (Vittorino G2.0 Corsa), & even though they almost look identical to the TDFs, I know they're not as grippy & tough.

Basically I just want it all. Is that too much? Lol

Reviewed 5/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires at a great price delivered promptly
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusetts

These are great tires with a retro look. A home run.

Reviewed 8/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Head turning Tire
by lil swoll
Piscataway, NJ

Swapped out GP5000 28mm for 25mm. They're firmer, faster and roll smooth. I strongly recommend the Tour de France in either width.

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great buy
by TNick
Pennsylvania

I was using another brand name tire for a few years but they weren't wearing as I had hoped. I saw these Contis on sale and gave them a try, I was/am extremely pleased with the roll and wear. I bought another set to have on hand. Highly recommend. I live in the north east, so roads are meh! Cheers

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you could want
by Alan Montgomery
Madison, South Dakota

This is it! As if the Conti was not enough now it has the TdF branding! The tire is a superb performer. It inspires confidence in bike handling in wet or dry conditions it sticks to the pavement. Cornering, sprinting, or tempo, it's all you need and now the classic limited edition colorway? What more do can we ask for? Oh yeah I know, a winning review!

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love continental grand prix 5000 tires , hate the color of sidewall
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
West Cola.S C
2 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

they don t make any better tires then the continental g p 5000 but the special edition that is advertised as a cream colored sidewall is more of a muddy gold color. Whoever says that is a lush cream-colored sidewall is color-blind . I bought a set of these tires to go on my ivory carbon fiber frame specialized tarmac that has a red strip and black lettering and the side wall on the special edition tire that was advertized as cream colored looks bad on my bike. So I m stuck with this ugly tire that does not go with my bike till it wears out because of the advertisment that it was cream colored which is not right .

Reviewed 3/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental GP 5000
by cubs08ws
Manchester

Product was as described and delivered as promised. The price was far below anywhere else I priced it.

Reviewed 8/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you could want
by Alan Montgomery
Madison, South Dakota

This is it! As if the Conti was not enough now it has the TdF branding! The tire is a superb performer. It inspires confidence in bike handling in wet or dry conditions it sticks to the pavement. Cornering, sprinting, or tempo, it's all you need and now the classic limited edition colorway? What more do can we ask for? Oh yeah I know, a winning review!

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Tdf LTD
by Adi
Singapore

GP5000 so far feels good on my wheels. Pump it to 110psi and it felt good. An all rounder tyres for me but most importantly is that the cream walls looks really awesome and easy to clean too. Always keep your tan walls clean. !

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful ride.
by Bikenut Ian
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The retro look sidewall caught my eye. I've used the Conti 2000 23s for a while and I like these 25s better. More comfortable ride. I use 65# in the front tire and 90# in the rear to take some of the roughness out of Oregon chipseal road surfaces. That pressure (altough not recommended) works very well to take the sting out of rough roads. I weight 175# and have no problem with my 1/4 mile rough gravel driveway. But deep pot holes are to be avoided, in any case. Plus these tires roll very well. No feeling of sluggishness. In the past I have used VeloFlex 120 gram 23s on the same wheels and wouldn't go back to them due to the rougn ride.

Reviewed 3/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
ALMOST as good as they look.
by Ripcity Ryan
portland
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Yeah they're a smidge heavier. The weight equals out once you wear the tire down a bit. The tire looks amazing on my carbon wheels. We're they a challenge to put on? Yes. But I warmed them up in the bathroom heat and they went on with determination. I usually ride 25s so the size wasn't limiting for me like it might be for you. I use tubes on the road but for you tubeless folk this might be an issue for you. I think Conti has another tire coming with tan sidewall that'll work for y'all. Get em on sale and you won't be sorry. Or you can blame me over coffee.

Reviewed 3/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not 25mm
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Very nice, high quality tire... but these measure 22.8mm wide on my rims when installed. Pretty disappointed.

Reviewed 8/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, UT

I've been running Continental Gatorskins for a while now to avoid punctures. But after trying these the speed is worth it. Rolling resistance and grip on these GP5000s are easily 1-1.5mph consistently higher than the Gatorskins

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TdF LTD Road Tire
by Adi
Singapore

GP5000 a good all rounder tyres. Awesome looking tyres too.

Reviewed 8/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Vive La Tour!
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Been riding these flat-free for over 3000 km. Lives up to reputation as the gold standard of bicycle tires. Fast, durable, and great looking on my Trek Emonda. 25 mm work for me; would love these even more if available in 28 mm. Would suggest pairing these with latex tubes.

Reviewed 6/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great on black bikes
by Tee
Cycling Enthusiast
SG

Snag a pair of this TDF version at a lower price than the regular black ones. Like many said, harder to put on my Bora WTO rims but sure looks good. looks like the cream is just painted over the sidewalls. I'm assuming it adds some extra protection to the sides?

Reviewed 6/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Side wall
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago

I bought this on sale and so didn't have to pay the premium over the usual black version. I thought the side wall was too "bright" but it aged over time to a nice darker tan-wall colour. There were some black bleeding into the side wall (like grease mark) as a I got it out of the box, which was a bit annoying but hard to notice once you actually start riding---docked one star for this.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire tho seem slightly different than the standards version
by Seattle Dave on rock
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
37 of 38 customers found this review helpful.

I ride the standard GP5000 tubed and tubeless, love them, and decided to purchase the cream TdF version. A few initial observation caught my eye that others have noted in various reviews online. The cream sidewall appears to be some sort of rubber paint on top of the standard black sidewall. Handling it side by side with a standard GP5000 in 25mm, the cream version casing feels noticeably stiffer. The standard casing feels very thin , supple, and flexible, while the cream feels sturdier, almost more like a TL version. I�m not sure if it�s a result of the coating or if the casing differs. I do also notice the standard casing is smooth, while the cream has a more pronounced woven texture slightly showing the thread pattern. Taking some approximate measurements, the cream sidewall thickness is 0.15mm more than the standard. On the scale, it also weights 30g more. The tire bead on the standard also appears slightly thinner and smooth, while the cream seems thicker and coated with a tackier black rubber. Most notably, the cream version is significantly tighter to mount on the same rims, almost to the point of being offensive. The standard version mounts with average effort. That aside the tread appear identical and the cream color is slightly on the yellow side but looks nice.

Reviewed 10/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful
by Tiger1964
Cycling Enthusiast
Seabrook, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding 4000's and now 5000's but on vintage bikes, a non-black sidewall would look so much better. Just got two sets and the first set is on a bike (1961 Gitane) ready to hit the road, and I wish I could show you a picture... I think they look great. Yes, I know a lot of enthusiasts would like wider versions -- perhaps those will be offered later

Reviewed 5/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Anonymous
Long Beach

These tires feel great on the corners and they�re pretty fast. Feel Grippier than the black 5k�s. Look nice on my bike too.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page