X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Great winter tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area, CA

For this winter, I swapped in GP 5000 AS TR (32mm) for the regular GP 5000 (28mm), using butyl tubes. Grippy in the wet, over firm gravel and small rocks, dropping 5+ PSI. Slightly heavier and a tight fit on HED Ardennes RA so I used levers to install. Fast enough to set PRs. Get the black for the reflective sidewall!

Reviewed 11/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I WANT TO MARRY THESE TIRES
by Anonymous
Toronto
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I am almost through a 35-day cross-country tour. 110 miles per day. I swapped to these new, tougher Conti 5000 tubeless after wearing out a set of Schwalbe Pro One tubeless. I have never had any piece of bike tech make as much of a difference to my performance. They are dramatically more comfortable and faster. They also installed easily on my notoriously difficult Zipp 303 hookless rims. I can install myself with arthritic hands, without a tire jack. I love these tires!

Reviewed 8/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rainman

Solid Performance in Urban Areas
by Rainman
Cycling Enthusiast
Camarillo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not the lightest TR tire out there but robust enough for the daily grind in Urban areas. The performance has been such that I can safely rely on these tires in conditions that would shred my previous Coni GP5000TRs. They are as expensive as my Car tires�

Reviewed 10/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OV Dragonman

Tougher Alternative to S TR
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Oro Valley, AZ
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I'm trying these as a replacement for the GP 5000 S TR I started with. The S TR only got 3300 mi / 5300 km before being worn out, barely 6 months of riding. The AS version is a much tougher version. I've got only a few hunder miles / km on them, so I've no indication, yet, if they are longer wearing, but I am very pleased with the handling of this tire. Corners like the racing version, grips like the racing version, but the feel is much stiffer. At 10-15 psi less than I used to carry, the bumps are still noticeable. Previously, I used about 70 psi, and I'm now down to 55 - 60 psi.

The stiffness of the ride is due to the increased tread thickness. This is also supposed to provide more puncture resistance, but I'm hoping just to get a full year out of these tires. Using Silca Ultimate Tubeless Sealant, I never noticed if I had any punctures, so the puncture resistance is not an issue for me. Only time, and distance, will tell if this change was worth it.

Reviewed 8/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Best tubeless tire yet!
by Anonymous

I've been running Tubeless tires for many miles and have used multiple tire products. This GP 5000 AS is my number one. Wears well, is cut-resistant, and mounts up easily. AAA +++

Reviewed 11/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast rolling but stout tubeless
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Very pleased. I did 3 centuries in October with nary a problem. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Reviewed 11/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Some pretty thick rubber.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
irvine, ca
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Performs the same as a regular gp5000tr as far as traction/handling in dry weather but slightly heavier and thicker which helps with comfort and durability. It absorbs vibrations slightly better than the regular lighter version. I found that the thicker tire is also less prone to deforming when your rotate tires frequently between rims which helps with easy inflation. Unfortunately I ended up flatting my 28mm about 300 miles in on a massive m8 wood screw. Patched it up but the tire would inflate with a slight hump where the puncture was which pretty much made it useless. Overall it is a great tire that performs just as good as previous models but with added comfort, durability, and reliability but is not invincible. The extra weight is not noticeable. Great for daily use but I wouldn't mind racing on them.

Reviewed 7/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spring Surf

Grippy in Wet
by Spring Surf
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Rode these twice in the rain, wet roads, and found them to be very grippy. Much better than Goodyear and Schwable I had on these rims before. Even pushing pretty hard into corners on wet road I have a great deal of confidence with these tires. I'm 175-180 lbs, and I ran them at 45 psi on wet, vs 50psi for dry roads.

Also raced two criteriums with these tires and they worked fine. Probably not the lightest race-day tire you can get, but good enough for me (Cat 4).

Reviewed 5/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spring Surf

Easy to Mount
by Spring Surf
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

After many years working in a bike shop, I have a longstanding hatred for Continental tires because they are traditionally so tight. BUT, I broke down and tried these as there are very few options for my rims, Giant SLR2 carbon hookless. They were super easy to mount, no problem, and sealed right away.

Out of the package they feel a little more substantial than Schwable Pro One, but not quite as heavy as Goodyear Eagle F1s that I have run on this bike. Roll seems really good and they are very grippy, at least on dry pavement. Only had them one week, but if they're as durable as the ad says, they could be my go-to for training and racing. Pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed 4/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drkerr

Great ride
by drkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've got about 500 miles on these so far and liking them a lot. I ride on a lot of chipseal roads and these tires smooth them out.

I've had the previous version and had over 2500 mile on them before road debris sliced them open. We'll see how many miles I can get out of them.

Reviewed 9/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drkerr

Great ride
by drkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX

I've got about 500 miles on these so far and liking them a lot. I ride on a lot of chipseal roads and these tires smooth them out.

I've had the previous version and had over 2500 mile on them before road debris sliced them open. We'll see how many miles I can get out of them.

Reviewed 9/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I like these tires a lot!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Grand Prix 5000 AS TR is a great tire. Puncture-resistant and wearing well. Also, they have a good grip on the decents. Will purchase again. AAA +++

Reviewed 9/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BruceS

Great handling and wear!
by BruceS
Cycling Enthusiast
Lambertville, NJ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I think these tires are an upgrade to the Grand Prix 4000s that I hav e been running. Great handling, puncture resistance and wear!

Reviewed 6/8/2023
Thank you for your feedback.