Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Cat Eye Velo 9 Cyclecomputer VL820

Cat EyeVelo 9 Cyclecomputer VL820(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(50%)
(50%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Basic Product with One Flaw
by BigDave
Daily Commuter
Murrieta CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have already lost two of these exact same Cat Eye's. Unfortunately they slip out of the holder far too easily. I have now had to resort to taping the unit down into the holder and even then I have found a simple bump is enough to dislodge the unit. Needs to have a design change where a release involves a positive press on some lock to remove the unit.

If I lose this one it will be the third strike.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Spare me the Carbon Offset.
by VeloMac
Cycling Enthusiast
TexasHillCountry.
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Do we really need a carbon offset? I can think of nothing I would be less likely to pay for than carbon offset. Idiots should know that most of us ride for exercise and not as a commuter to work. One function more than needed. Where is the 8? Having said that, it is easy to read, easy to set up, and functions well as a basic cyclocomputer. You don't HAVE to look at the offset. Perhaps I should forgive Cateye their political correctness this time. -)

Reviewed 6/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everything needed . Nothing unnecessary.
by SBBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use this on a commuter bike, mounted in a discrete, less traditional location to keep the look of my WorkCycle simple. The easy-to-read display allows quick information gathering and the button, ease of use.

Reviewed 1/29/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very reliable
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco East Bay
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried several wireless computers and have found them all to be unreliable. This one has been 100% reliable with no failures whatsoever for over 6000 miles on my commuter bike. The numbers are big and readable and it tells you everything you really need to know for a daily commuter. Battery life has been very good with no problems when I routinely changed it at 3000 miles.

The one complaint I have is that you can't individually change any settings without zeroing out all data. Example, you just can't change the tire size setting without losing your running total on your odometer. You will also zero out your data when you change the battery and I can't find a way of adding the running total to my odometer.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simple and easy to use
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

Have the Velo 7 on my other bike for many years in all kind off weather and I am very satisfied with it. Don't care much for the 2 extra functions but it was on sale. Great battery life and the display is easy to read. Very important when going 25 MPH and looking down. And it is wired, much more reliable and less batteries that can go dead. The operation of the unit is also very simple, just one button can do it all.

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another dependable Cat-Eye. Solved cold weather data screen display problem.
by RIDESAFE
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County WA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Bought after Sigma and another wireless system failed while riding in temps under 40 degrees. wired set-up, but hasn't been a problem.

Large display, easy to see and change while in the saddle.

Reviewed 2/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good, basic bike computer
by kbvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Yuma, AZ
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Used for my daily bikerides. I really only use the cumulative miles. Encourages one to go farther each day!

Reviewed 3/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This product works exactly as I hoped. It has a common and cheap battery easy to replace.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

This product works exactly as I hoped. It has a common and cheap battery easy to replace.

Reviewed 1/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.