X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Castelli Mens Squadra Stretch Jacket

CastelliMen's Squadra Stretch Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(4)
(0)
(3)
(1)
(43%)
(29%)
(0%)
(21%)
(7%)
Very Nice. Runs Small Even for Race Fit.
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Function: As an ultralight, packable wind shell, this does exactly what I need. Typical application will be worn over wool jerseys on cooler starts. As I warm up, it comes off and goes in a jersey pocket or my Burrito Supreme bar bag. If it's time to do some descending and it's still a bit cool out, it goes back on.

Fit: Definitely race fit, but still runs small. I'm 5'10 and 150 lbs wet. 32" waist, 39" chest. I wear a Medium in most cycling kit, but went with the Large for the Squadra after reading other reviews. The stretch panels on the arms and sides are clearly part of the fit strategy with this piece. It's going to feel snug, especially when standing. When I'm in riding position, the fit feels much more natural. One of the reasons I was replacing my previous jacket was the loose-fitting floppiness. This definitely solves that problem! If you're a bit husky / blocky in your build, you're probably not going to like the fit of this piece. It seems designed for very lean / lanky / thin body types and even then you have to size up.

Reviewed 4/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very small
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
North Dakota
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered a large, --I am not a very big guy. I'm 5'8 160 lbs, 33" waist and I typically fit in a Med or a Large, depending on manufacturer and item that I order. The large in this item I ordered didn't come close to fitting me. I couldn't even get the zipper lined up. I am returning the item, I have no clue if an XL would fit me or if I would have had to replace with a 2XL. I don't know who this would fit, any average guy would not fit in this coat as stated in a large size.

Reviewed 3/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs small
by VeloG
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

All of my other cycling jackets are too loose and flap in the wind and also are hard to stuff into my jersey pockets so I wanted a tighter fitting jacket with a lighter material. This jacket is light enough to fit in my jacket pockets but it's almost too tight.

I couldn't zip it up around my hips so I had to cinch it higher before I could zip it up. It's a Medium and my waist is 32". The sleeves are the right length but so tight around the wrists that I had to remove my gloves to put the jacket on and take it off.

For the low price it's still good to have in my pocket in case it gets cold.

Reviewed 1/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent windbreaker!
by Wine Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a excelleant jacket for the money. Super light and perfectly packable. On first arrival thought it would be very fragile but it has proven to be be very durable. Also does come across as tight, but after a few minutes you don't notice it, and once you ride you will be glad it is tight as any windbreaker will feel like a sail when riding.

I am a slim 6' 2" , 185 lbs - 16 neck, 43 chest , 36 sleeve. Bought 2 different XL jackets. 1 did fit tighter than the other. Fits slightly larger than a jersey. However I can wear this over my Castelli thermal jersey which is the perfect pair for 50+ degree days were the wind cuts through your thermal. Also work for a rain shield, perhaps not for downpours but for those drizzly days.

Reviewed 1/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks good, fits nicely, and is easily storable in my jersey's back pocket. Very satisfied.
by ddhosley
Cycling Enthusiast
S.F. Bay Area

Great lightweight shell to take the edge off the wind.

Reviewed 7/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great item
by Yogatroy
Portland, OR

Super packable, and great for quick warmth when conditions change!

Reviewed 6/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well designed and very compact
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashburn, VA 20175

Very light and well designed.

Reviewed 6/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
snug fit
by RichL
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was glad that I was told to order a a size large rather than medium. It is a very snug fitting jacket. The zipper design does not follow the usual start pattern that I'm used to. Is this an Italian clothing variation?

The quality seems good and the weight is barely noticeable.

Reviewed 12/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
grossly missized
by Doug
Fresno
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I normally wear a large in everything. Ordered an XL to be safe. It's so small I can't even get close to zipping it up, like a 4" gap. So, it's worthless.

Reviewed 5/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty slick jacket
by Tahoe biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Needed something really light and packable and form fitting. This is the jacket. Easily fits into a back pocket or small frame bag and really clings to your body so you don't get the flapping. Perfect for those upper 40's, low 50's rides

Reviewed 11/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits well, breathes not at all
by PDX_BR
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

A thin shell to keep out some elements that fits well with stretchy panels, but the jacket does not breathe, not even a little bit.

Reviewed 4/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great windbreaker!
by Anonymous
Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the stretch and fit. No flapping. Fits easily in pockets. Do have to unzipped to allow release of moisture.

Reviewed 2/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not sure about this one
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Coast CA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Super tight, normally med, but did not fit, not even close.

Reviewed 1/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a great jacket to keep the wind off of you. it fits snug.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
west coast Florida
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use it when I ride in cooler temperatures.

Reviewed 1/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.