X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Assos Mens Cento EVO Shorts

AssosMen's Cento EVO Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(4)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(74%)
(17%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Solid bib short, short being the operative word
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 6'4", 185lbs and the large fits well. By Assos's sizing, they consider me a Medium. If you're over 6' and near my weight, don't go by that as my first pair's suspenders were way too short, and the crotch hugged my junk like a clingy significant other. Great chamois as is bandied about all over the internet. For long distances it is comfy and allows for shifting and repositioning while trying to find that new position to give sore areas a break. The chamois is thicker than any other I have used, so off the bike it does feel more diaper like to me, but I could care less about that. Couple 75+ mile rides in these this summer and they're great, and as advertised for long ride comfort. I do wish that companies would either provide a "long" option, or just inherently build larger sizes longer in the legs. These are pretty short, and while not a deal breaker for me, I do greatly prefer slightly more leg coverage for compression, etc. Speaking of compression, these shorts do well in the areas they cover, and have a good amount in the legs while keeping the stomach bands loose. (bunch of online reviews seem to copy each other about how "loose" the tummy line is) This loose fit is intended (via their description on their website) purposely to help alleviate unnecessary tension leading often to GI issues on long rides. I'm also very slim, and have no issues with my jersey hanging up on it, but I also don't wear jerseys that hang out well above my navel. I for one love how loose fitting the front waist line is as I've not had any pressure issues on long rides that I have gotten from some more compressive waisted bibs. Great set of shorts that I only wish had a "long" option for us folks over say 5'7" or so.

Reviewed 8/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wicked
by Bobcat
Cycling Enthusiast
NNE
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Longtime Assos fan here.

I believe the latest iteration of the Cento Evo has a few improvements from the previous (pink chamois) version.

To me they seem a little tighter, more compressive and I think they went back to the slightly longer, more traditional leg length.

My favorite thing about the Cento bibs is the KuKu Penthouse which, along with the more breathable fabric on the outside of this region has been a revelation. I think on this most recent version the KKP is slightly lager and even more comfortable.

Breathtakingly expensive, I know but if you can work it (wait for them to go on sale!) highly recommend.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
NEARLY top of the line bibs, excellent but not their best
by Chan S
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH

Calibrating expectations, just about any Assos bib will probably be a better fit/feel/performer than just about any other product you'll find here, and Assos is priced accordingly. Within the Assos line, there are different designed purposes--race, shorter/lighter training rides, longer efforts, etc. These are intended for long duration (4+ hours). I've got a pair of their top race bibs and a lower end pair of their training bibs, very impressed with each.

So based on that, my expectation for these is that they'd be great comfort and compression/performance for 5+ hour century rides. After two rides in hot and minor rain conditions, they held up OK but I noticed minor chaffing, something I've never previously encountered with any Assos bibs. These do generally fit/feel great, but my sense is that the floating chamois design used here doesn't work as well as the similar design on the race bibs or as on the more "fixed" chamois design on trainer bibs. So I'll gladly use these for rides of 4 hours or less, but will not be using these as my primary choice for all day efforts.

Reviewed 8/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High price for decent quality
by Old Peddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, Ok.

The straps are great..no twisting or turning.. The outer materials are good and the legs don't slide or creep... They went to a lot of trouble around the goin area with a smooth ultra soft material. The pad is thinner with good support...

They are expensive and if I hadn't gotten a good deal on them I would probably have passed on them...I've bought two sets of the Assos in recent years...They are my go to... The jury is still out...the first pair had a covering on the pad that deteriorated with only a few washings...They are still wearable and comfortable... This pair doesn't have that...but I've only washed them once...so it's hard to say until they've been battle tested..

My dad had a saying....If you're lucky .. you get what you pay for... I figured they were worth the try...

Reviewed 8/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs - worth the money for long rides
by skyskene
Competitive Racer
Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Assos is expensive, but in certain areas you can't cut corners and one of those areas is the back side. Just review Assos' description - the shorts do everything they say - very comfortable, but not so "plush" that you can't put in a big effort. I also have a pair of Equip RS S9's for racing or shorter training rides. The chamois is much different between the two. The Equip RS chamois is much more flexible. This one is thicker, but in my experience it still sticks to your backside just as much, but provides more protection and comfort for really long rides. Compression in the legs is still good.

My only complaint with all Assos bibs - sizing is based on waist, but for me with a bit of a longer torso that means the straps ended up a little tight, with the potential to pull the chamois up a little too much. After 3-4 hours of riding I do have to pull to adjust the chamois a bit (I pull it with the tip of my saddle :), but it really isn't much of an issue. I can see how it could be for those who are more disproportionate than I am with regard to waist-torso ratio.

Bibs are still the way to go, though, if you're doing intense efforts or longer distances. I still use shorts on my short rides.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bibs on the market
by R5D
French Camp, Ca
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The old saying YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR fits these bibs to a tee. I have been cycling for 12 years and have tried all the top brands out there. These are pricey but will never buy another brand. From the first ride i took to then wearing my pearl pro and Garneau there is no comparison. I now have 2 pairs of the cento evo and 2 pairs of the rsr9. Both are great but i like the cento best. They run a little small like a lro bib normally does.

Reviewed 8/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs and an improvement over the prior model
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle and Geneva, CH
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

I have been wearing Cento bibs exclusively for several years now. The cento bibs have the most padding, 10 mm rather than 8, of any Assos model which I prefer. Also the straps on the Cento model are particularly wide and comfortable. The evo are a noticeable improvement over the s7. The front kudu pocket is a lycra type material rather than fabric, the padding is black and the straps even better than the s7, which themselves were excellent wide and comfortable. Note that the sizing is based on height and not weight or waist size. The bibs fit better if not bought larger than recommended, the padding will seat, position better. I'm 5'7 and medium is the recommend size for me and fits me better than large (which I also own). Although the s7 are still being sold and are a bit cheaper, I feel the evo are worth the additional cost. When Assos makes improvements, the improvements address technical issues and are not simply cosmetic marketing.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SIze up if you are on the edge
by AKMurse
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I fall on the edge of medium or large. I thought medium would be fine due to my waist size. That is a mistake given my height and upper body length. The pressure on the shoulders is more than other bibs and up-sizing is advisable.

Reviewed 7/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Quality Bibs Ever
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these bibs and have been wearing them for years. The quality of the fabric is just so high and they always feel great on those long rides. The kookoo nest is so comfortable you'll forget that you have bibs on sometimes. They are expensive but you should get a few years of riding out of them.

Reviewed 7/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The BMW of bib shorts
by TT00SF
Competitive Racer
New York City
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Don't settle for less! Assos is top quality and you must pay for it, but you'll be rewarded with quality materials, fit, and stitching....but most of all great design. The insert for the Cento is the best and most plush I own across many brands. It's luxurious feeling for long rides yet performance-firm and doesn't shift around in sweat. I really could wear these for 100 miles and not be sore. Don't hesitate, if you want the most performance oriented comfort bibs, this is it.

Reviewed 10/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
thought they would feel better than they do
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
hills above Scappoose
3 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these because everyone says bibs are best and these are supposed to be very good . Th e straps do not feel good against my shoulders and there isn't any adjustment on them. the pad feels good. hassle to remove to use bathroom, I will stick to shorts

Reviewed 5/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best of all
by Anonymous

Best of all

Reviewed 8/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wow
by jockdeboer
Competitive Racer
NYC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Assos is the top of the line and you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bib shorts!
by Anonymous

I ride lots of long rides, these bibs help me to be comfortable for hours!

Reviewed 8/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performance and Comfort
by Biketard
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

Favorite long distance shorts. Compression features and padding make the miles melt away without pain in the legs or the nether regions.

Reviewed 8/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive, but worth it (if you can get them on sale)
by reydelvalle
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable shorts, especially for long rides (over 50 miles). Pretty unique chamois, with the memory foam and a special compartment for the family jewels. They are breathtakingly expensive (regular price > $300), but worth grabbing a pair when they go on sale. Star rating won't work for me (technical glitch) so: Overall - 5 stars; Value rating 4 stars (if you get them on sale (around $220)

Reviewed 1/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most comfortable shorts I''ve every owned
by Adam
Competitive Racer
So Cal.
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

These are very well made shorts that are super comfortable over a long day on the bike. I've done a few double centuries in these now and I'd have a hard time going back to anything else now that I know how comfortable bib shorts can be.

The kukuPenthouse is about the most ridiculous marketing term I've every heard, but, you know, it actually works. With my other shorts, I get pressure points and chafing around my privates on longer rides. With these shorts, I don't even notice the shorts.

Everything about them is well made and comfortable. Since they're my most expensive shorts, I generally save them for longer rides, but I think I've worn and washed them at least a few dozen times and they seem as good as new.

Now if Assos could figure out a way to make my legs feel the same after 150 miles as they feel when I start the ride, I'd be in seventh heaven.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The BEST!
by Bamicus
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I thought the S9�s were great, and they are, but these are amazing! They are very expensive, yes, but really you get what you pay for! The fit is exceptional, the material superb, but the chamois is so good, you could sit on a board and be comfortable! I�ve tried the others, and they�re not even close. I�ve heard that World Tour guys rip out the chamois in sponsored shorts and sew in Assos, that says it all.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not for larger riders
by JD
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago Burbs
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These bibs are cut very low. My bad for not researching more thoroughly. Overall quality is very good but just not cut for a bigger guy.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive, but worth it.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These fit really well and are still comfortable after 100 miles. They also hold up well after many washings. I usually save these for my long ride since they are expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page