CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Thomson Masterpiece Seatpost

ThomsonMasterpiece Seatpost(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(82%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mike H

Rock Solid
by Mike H
Competitive Racer
Fort Collins, CO

I kept tilting my seat when I hit bumps when riding with the single bolt setup on the last seatpost. This thing has been rock solid through some cross country & short track days. No more tilting issue and shaved a few grams in the process.

Reviewed 7/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay

Can't go wrong
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You just can't go wrong with a Thomson stem. These are just incredibly well made with a design that is a snap to adjust. The bolts in the front and back are easy to get to any allow unlimited flexibility in adjusting angle. The clamp holds the rails well with no slipping and no creaking.

It might be possible to save a few grams by using a crazy light carbon post, but at under 160 grams, the Thomson is pretty hard to beat.

Reviewed 9/4/2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Yelpspoon

Form through function
by Yelpspoon
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Masterpiece is an appropriately named thing of beauty that rivals any of my 27.2mm carbon seat posts ESPECIALLY given its size (31.6mm).

Works as needed and looks fantastic.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

#1 Best bike part ever made
by Mark (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or, USA
28 of 29 customers found this review helpful.

This is one of the few products with which you can truly have it all. The clamp holds your saddle rails incomparably securely without any need for torquing the bolts heavily. And moreover, the Masterpiece is as light and as strong as anything else out there-- all the while costing a fraction of what you can spend for a carbon post. For whatever bike you're building for whatever purpose, this is the best seatpost you can buy. I have 5 bikes that use a seatpost, and therefore I have 5 Thomsons.

Reviewed 4/29/2009
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hernan Rivera

Super Light
by Hernan Rivera
Northridge
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What more good can I say about Thomson that hasnt already been said. Awesome products, excellent customer service and a warranty that kicks butt. The Masterpiece is one step up from the Elite and you can feel the difference in the scales. If youre a weight weenie like me then go for the Masterpiece. Gets no better!

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by HCS63

Nice post
by HCS63
SE USA

I replaced a Pro Vibe 7s that wouldn't let my saddle tilt quite as far as I wanted. This one has way more adjustment than I need, looks good, weighs little and (after 200-300 miles) hasn't budged. Very pleased.

Reviewed 3/24/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Seatpost
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Been using the post for ~500 miles now. No problems at all and a very lightweight aluminum post.

Reviewed 9/13/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Lightweight Strength
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a no setback post to get my fit just right and this one is the best. It's Thomson what more can I say?

Reviewed 5/18/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Simply the best post made
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I run Thomsons on all my bikes-road, MTB, and CX-because they're light, durable, and reliable. I bought the Masterpiece version to get a little more setback on one bike, and now the fit feels perfect.

One caveat the setback on my post is 10 degrees, other brands make posts with a lot more setback (e.g., 20) , so if you need lots of setback, the Thomson may not be your best option. Otherwise, these are great posts. Relatively easy to set up, and once you set up your saddle, it stays where it belongs. That sort of reliability is priceless.

Reviewed 3/29/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, Ca
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Lighter than carbon with more structural integrity. It just makes sense. I ride Road, mainly in the hills.

Reviewed 1/1/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BongoBike

Weight lost
by BongoBike
San Antonio

Thomson Masterpiece is indeed masterful. Took 130 grams off my gravel bike. Might be my imagination but seems to ride better as well. Definitely easier to get the right angle and position

Reviewed 7/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bbcross

beautiful. a little heavier than advertised
by bbcross
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I needed some setback and this posted met my needs. I was worried the ride would be too harsh but its actually just fine. Since it was heavier than advertised, around 200 grams, Im not sure its worth getting the Masterpiece version.

Reviewed 10/17/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RickD

This is the 'Go To' post
by RickD
Competitive Racer
Utah
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried numerous brands and styles of seatposts. The Thomson Masterpiece is clearly the best clamps work with all common seat rails, aluminum and carbon, tilt adjustment is simple and accurate and holds position, bomb-proof sturdiness of construction....and it is as light or lighter than the most expensive carbon posts!

My 31.6mm setback post ended up being 160 grams when I had trimmed a couple unnecessary inches off the end.

The only downsides are the rather odd looking angle for the setback version (which is what I use. You get used to its look) and the colors are only aluminum or black.

Reviewed 6/23/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great post
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Pros very light, super high quality, and the machined in ridges keep the post from slipping

Cons more shock transmission than a carbon post and in cyclocross my seat rails slip a bit in the post.

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Thomson seatpost is a Masterpiece
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vienna, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had to replace my carbon seat post because it wouldn't hold the seat position. I've had Thomson's in the past and knew it would do the job forever without a problem. Great product!

Reviewed 9/3/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Only one I'll go with
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Germany
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a bike enthusiast and put in 100-120 miles a week and will only go with Thomson, strong and dependable

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TelemarkTumalo

Class act! Nobody does it better. Thanks Thomson!
by TelemarkTumalo
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this seatpost as I was revamping my 2006 Ibis Silk Road bike. The previous post was an Easton EC-70 with a 1.5 cm set back. I wanted a more forward position on the bike than the previous post allowed. I purchased this post and it does exactly what you would expect of a seatpost. The finish is beautiful and resists nicks and scars as only Thomson seems to know how to do. The best is the seat rail clamp and adjustment. I can't understand why some posts struggle with this, but Thomson's system is simple and secure. Very easy to adjust and torque to spec. And, the black looks great on my nude carbon frameset. I looked at several all carbon posts and really couldn't justify the extra cost with no reduction of weight. I know that some carbon posts indicate an improvement in ride quality, but I'm not buying that claim. No squeaks or creaks, no unintentional loosening. The Masterpiece I bought is the 31.6 mm diameter, 350 mm length, 158 g. Made of 7000 series aluminum.

Reviewed 4/29/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chuck

great looking, well made and easy to adjust
by Chuck
north West Washinton
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

very nice post, not carbon,Yah!!!

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very nice post , but both the Masterpiece and the Elite were too small a diameter for my 27.2 Moots Ti bike.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Northern Michigan
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The post would be a 5 star , but it is too small diameter in a 27.2 size.I had heard of Thomson posts creaking in the past, now I wonder if they are slightly undersized?

Given Thomson's reputation , I assumed it was my frame, but an Easton and a Bontrager post fit perfectly with no creaking.

Reviewed 10/17/2013
TriSports.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review. We're sorry you're having trouble with this seatpost and we hope you'll get be sure to get in touch with our customer service department by email [email protected] or calling 1-800-682-0570, so we can help you out. Thomson components are known for being very precisely manufactured, so we'd love to figure out what's going on here!

Thanks,
Stacia

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mcjudy

Very nice
by mcjudy
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a very nice post and it is easy to adjust. It replaces a carbon fiber seat post from my 2009 colnago (that had been cut to approx same length) and it is surprisingly lighter. Also the Colnago-labeled post was very awkward to adjust, but this is very easy.

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page