Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Thomson Elite X4 Stem

ThomsonElite X4 Stem(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
A quality stem
by Anonymous
Iowa

A great looking stem that is built to last.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Malibu
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Awesome well made

Reviewed 2/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice stem, good value
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

I was looking for a stem with a bit more rise in it. The Thomson stem fit my criteria and I've always ridden there seat posts and loved them for their quality and durability. The quality and finish of the stem are the same as that of the seat post's, second to none. The stem is also quite stiff and seems to be bombproof. I'm very happy with the purchase and consider Thomson product to be a good value for the money.

Reviewed 11/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Power saver.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
portland, oregon
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this stem as an upgrade for my track bike. It's not the lightest stem out there, but it is quite stiff. That allows me to really put the power down in sprints, or hold a track stand with confidence.

Reviewed 6/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always dependable
by LC Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Cruces, NM
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this Thomson X4 to replace one that my back was unable to take the lower drop anymore. I had a Thomson bolt break once and Thomson replaced it for no charge. Thomson produces excellent products and stands behind them.

Reviewed 4/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thomson - solid components
by Anonymous
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Some measure of vanity played a part in this purchase (I have a Thomson post).

I did want a slightly shorter stem - I am getting older and less flexible.

It's a quality Thomson part. Was easy to install. Had good directions. Looks nice.

I can't really say that I noticed any huge changes on swapping a stem. The stem is shorter, so I suppose I could say it is stiffer, but that may be more a result of changed riding geometry than the stem.

Reviewed 8/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy
by Cirrus2210
Casual Cyclist
Huntsville, TX
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Still kinda new to mountain biking, but I needed a new stem so I went for the best. Feels solid and seems incredibly well made. It also made my bike fit me much better, but that's probably more of the change in length. Still, I'm very happy with the stem (110mm) and would definitely recommend it to others.

Reviewed 8/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Completely solid stem
by earlfoss
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This stem does what a stem should do. It looks great, it's stiff and once installed you never have to think about it again. Make sure to follow torque specs and it will outlast the rest of the bike.

Reviewed 3/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy design, great weight, functional well made parts, and price make this a great stem for non-elite XC and all-mountain riding security
by Tibeerius
Competitive Racer
La Mesa, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered a custom ti mt bike that was to have a 110 vs 100 mm stem and selected Thomson 110 as the product of choice for cost as well as strength. There are less heavy stems out there but this was ideal for me. I have a Thomson setback seat post as well and am happy with that in terms of strength and design. Weight works fine for all mt as well as my sport class XC racing. Bolts, when torqued to settings described do not slip and I fell worry free that they will come apart. I had a really good fall too and the stem was intact and true. Their models also provide different degrees of tilt so you should explore their options. I like this product enough that I am seriously switching to this as well for my road and commuting bike. Bottom line for me- the last bit of my custom bike to be dialed-in was the setback seatpost and a slightly elongated stem. The choices in models available make this a great choice of stems for multiple use.

Reviewed 2/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Strong and very light!
by The Dude
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

There are lighter stems out there but not ones that are in the same weight category but still have the same strength. Thomson makes some of the strongest components.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple, timeless and priceless.
by tboseman
Cycling Enthusiast
ATL, GA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've built two road bikes and two mountain bikes using Thompson's stems and seat posts. They are the parts of the bike I forget about. These products are not flashy and bling which I like. They are all business and do their job with out fail. Everything about them from build, price and weight is above and beyond any other product I've used.

Reviewed 12/10/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.