X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Stans NoTubes Dart Tool

Stans NoTubesDart Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(4)
(50%)
(14%)
(0%)
(7%)
(29%)
They work, but don't expect miracles
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

For cuts that are too small to seal by themselves, this can be a life-saver -- or not. Darts definitely work better than bacon. On road tubeless they sometimes plug cuts that Dynaplug can't handle, but sometimes Dynaplug works better. They're less expensive than Dynaplug, which is a plus. The biggest problem I've had with the darts is that sometimes the "feathers" separate from the plastic holder as you're trying to insert them into your tire. However, if you're able to insert them properly they usually work well. I've used them with Conti and Orange Seal sealants, as well as Stan's -- all seem to work about the same. The feathers stick out until they wear off (which can take a hundred miles or more), but that doesn't seem to cause any problems or even affect ride quality. Just make sure you keep several darts on board, because you might need several before you successfully plug that cut. Also, don't expect plug cuts larger than a few millimeters. Dynaplug works better for those, because it's pretty hard to get two darts into the same cut.

Reviewed 2/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubeless fix
by Pedalpower
Longview

Anything that doesn't seal on its own, push one of these in the hole. Used several, on different holes and they all sealed immediately and lasted the tires life! Keep one in each bikes bag!

Reviewed 7/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Did not work
by Airless in Seattle
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle

Had to push very hard to get dart to insert into puncture. The sealing material went all the way through the puncture. Tried twice. Then out of darts.

Reviewed 6/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great! I highly recommend.
by CycleAcrossAmerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland USA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Wow! The Stans Dart Tool worked great for me. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but the dart tool worked so well on my road tire that I had to write this review. I can see where user error could break the tool or the dart. DO NOT insert the dart like you would a bacon strip. While you must twist a bacon strip to plug a puncture, the Stans Dart goes straight in and is pulled straight back up without twisting. My guess is that if you twist the dart during installation you will break the tool or the plug. For best results, position the tire so the puncture is at the top of the tire and the tool is perpendicular to the tire, push the dart straight down into the puncture WITHOUT TWISTING until it can't go any further, then pull it straight back up. The dart releases from the tool and stays in place, sealing the puncture. Works great! I would highly recommend.

Reviewed 5/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised. Seals tight
by jciron
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got this for my road bike that I had just put tubeless on a month before. I got a glass cut right in the middle of my tire. I used the dart tools as had seen online and from a friend. It worked well. However, it did not completely seal right then. But it held well enough I could finish the last 25 miles of my ride. When I got up the next day and it was still leaky I added fresh Stans to my tire and pumped it up and it's sealed solid and I've ridden 150 serious miles with it since. Climbing and Descending. I'm got a replacement tire, but I'm rolling with the dart in place for a while longer.

Reviewed 11/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Weak (no, literally)
by Orange Seal from now on
Oregon
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In a year when people have to ride alone, the failure of this product was a HUGE letdown. First, the (fresh) Stan's sealant in my tire wouldn't seal up (small puncture mid tread on a Panaracer GK - no excuse for that). Then, like other reviewers have experienced, the tip broke off the DART plug. I tried the other side of the tool and, this attempt, the post the tip is attached to snapped. So I took the working plug off the broken side of the tool and switched it to the working side. Got the plug into the tire this time without breaking it but it never sealed up (had to stop every 5-10 mins to add air for 90 mins to get out of the woods). Why didn't I put a tube in? Because I hoped it would seal up (and because I bought this product specifically to avoid the giant mess of putting a tube in a tire full of sealant trail side). I run tubeless on all my bikes (except tubulars for CX) and this under engineered product has cost Stan's a customer for any of their products.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I had no luck using on road tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I was really excited to try this out. Got a pesky small puncture that would not fully seal with Stan's. It would seal for a few miles then start spewing sealant again, so I got out my Dart tool and attempted to insert the plug. Much like some of the other reviewers describe, the plastic shaft the dart sits on snapped off, and the same happened with the other side. That was $25 completely wasted.

Reviewed 7/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great idea, poor design execution
by Zark
Competitive Racer
Midwest
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Got a flat on a gravel tire, small cut that sealant could not seal. Tire puncture was big enough that I could fit a 3 mm allen wrench into it. When I went to insert the dart through the hole, the tip of the dart broke off. Tried the second attached dart, and the same thing happened. The dart tip is made of plastic and it has a grove behind the tip for the fibers to sit in. The inside diameter of the grove is so small, seems less than 1 mm, that it creates a weak point. As you push the dart into the tire puncture, the dart breaks off at the grove, and never has a chance. Bad execution of an otherwise good idea.

Reviewed 6/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent method of repairing a flat.
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Having a flat during a recent tour. I used the Stans NoTubes Dart Tool, spinning the tire to spread sealant, pumped the tire and I was on the way. The tire was excellent for the remaining 9 days on tour.

Reviewed 10/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only worked 1 out of 8 attempts!
by IW
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Couldn't be more disappointed with this plug kit.

6 tips snapped off upon extraction and therefore the cloth didn't stay in the hole.

Only successfully worked one time. Very costly.

Get a traditional sticky plug kit for tubeless. Seriously, what they charge for this is crazy considering

how cheap and ineffective it is.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great piece of mind
by AlpineEagle
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Luckily I haven't had to put this to use yet, but it's super easy to toss it in my pack or back pocket for a ride. It takes up almost no space and is great to have handy in the event of a larger puncture. I know it will get me out of a bind. I pair this with my other get home tools (spare valves, valve core, quick links, tire boot, velcro wrap, derailleur hanger) to ensure that if something catastrophic happens on the trail, I'll have the best chance possible to ensure I can ride out of wherever I'm located as quickly as possible.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sealed a glass cut that Dynaplug would not seal
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The tire has MucOff sealant in it the plug sealed it just fine with that sealant.

Reviewed 3/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective
by Anonymous

Works perfectly

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No tire removal required!
by Pedal power
Longview wa

Used this the first week i got it. Worked great easy to use, ready for the next flat!

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.