X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Stans NoTubes Dart Tool

Stans NoTubesDart Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(3)
(0)
(0)
(3)
(4)
(30%)
(0%)
(0%)
(30%)
(40%)
Weak (no, literally)
by Orange Seal from now on
Oregon
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

In a year when people have to ride alone, the failure of this product was a HUGE letdown. First, the (fresh) Stan's sealant in my tire wouldn't seal up (small puncture mid tread on a Panaracer GK - no excuse for that). Then, like other reviewers have experienced, the tip broke off the DART plug. I tried the other side of the tool and, this attempt, the post the tip is attached to snapped. So I took the working plug off the broken side of the tool and switched it to the working side. Got the plug into the tire this time without breaking it but it never sealed up (had to stop every 5-10 mins to add air for 90 mins to get out of the woods). Why didn't I put a tube in? Because I hoped it would seal up (and because I bought this product specifically to avoid the giant mess of putting a tube in a tire full of sealant trail side). I run tubeless on all my bikes (except tubulars for CX) and this under engineered product has cost Stan's a customer for any of their products.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Oh! How I wish these would have worked!
by upl8te
Cycling Enthusiast
Great Lakes

Simply put, these didn't work as advertised! I bought the kit and a box of 5 replacements. I wasn't happy with the price. They are way too expensive! But, I thought, if they work better than bacon strips then they'd be worth it. The thing is they simply DO NOT WORK! I had a large puncture in a tire that wouldn't seal, on the first day of an epic tour around Lake Michigan. There I was in downtown Chicago, trying to get these dang things to work and keep as much sealant in as possible. I broke three of the plastic nubs off in the tire and none of the fringes would stay in the tire. Luckily, I packed regular tubes! Unfortunately, I am out forty-some bucks for a failed experiment. I sure hope Stan's reads this and maybe considers doing something to compensate.

Reviewed 10/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very expensive to use...the darts fell apart so it took four to work
by S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Clara, Ca.

Had a punctures on two different gravel bike tires, both times took three to four darts to work. The darts would fall apart before I could get them inserted. Once I was able to patch the material did react with the latex and seal. The product was a good idea, but not well designed.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I had no luck using on road tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I was really excited to try this out. Got a pesky small puncture that would not fully seal with Stan's. It would seal for a few miles then start spewing sealant again, so I got out my Dart tool and attempted to insert the plug. Much like some of the other reviewers describe, the plastic shaft the dart sits on snapped off, and the same happened with the other side. That was $25 completely wasted.

Reviewed 7/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great idea, poor design execution
by Zark
Competitive Racer
Midwest
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got a flat on a gravel tire, small cut that sealant could not seal. Tire puncture was big enough that I could fit a 3 mm allen wrench into it. When I went to insert the dart through the hole, the tip of the dart broke off. Tried the second attached dart, and the same thing happened. The dart tip is made of plastic and it has a grove behind the tip for the fibers to sit in. The inside diameter of the grove is so small, seems less than 1 mm, that it creates a weak point. As you push the dart into the tire puncture, the dart breaks off at the grove, and never has a chance. Bad execution of an otherwise good idea.

Reviewed 6/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
didn't work for me
by Gearboy
Competitive Racer
colorado
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This just didn't work. Ride tubeless on my cross bike and had a puncture one day that was spraying sealant, would stop, they start again a few miles down the road. Since it wasn't sealing, I figured it was the perfect time to use the dart tool. granted it was the first time I tried, but the plastic point broke on my first attempt and couldn't get the second side in on the second attempt. Limped it home.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great piece of mind
by AlpineEagle
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Luckily I haven't had to put this to use yet, but it's super easy to toss it in my pack or back pocket for a ride. It takes up almost no space and is great to have handy in the event of a larger puncture. I know it will get me out of a bind. I pair this with my other get home tools (spare valves, valve core, quick links, tire boot, velcro wrap, derailleur hanger) to ensure that if something catastrophic happens on the trail, I'll have the best chance possible to ensure I can ride out of wherever I'm located as quickly as possible.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Product failed twice
by dumasjc
Cycling Enthusiast
85143
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had to use the Dart for the first time on my road bike. The spikes on the dart are made of a cheap plastic.

I broke off both of the darts trying to put it into my tire. The product was useless for me.

Reviewed 5/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sealed a glass cut that Dynaplug would not seal
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The tire has MucOff sealant in it the plug sealed it just fine with that sealant.

Reviewed 3/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No tire removal required!
by Pedal power
Longview wa

Used this the first week i got it. Worked great easy to use, ready for the next flat!

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.