X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Inner Shift Cable

ShimanoInner Shift Cable(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(3)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(23%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
Works like a charm.
by Ken
Cycling Enthusiast
Western New York

Needed a replacement for a broken shift cable. Fit was perfect, plenty of length and the end cap being provided was icing on the cake.

Reviewed 8/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shifter is nice and precise. Just like new!
by Evan
Georgia, USA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My shifter had gotten very very tight and my downshifts were not precise at all. When I removed the cable from the housing there was rust and dirt inside. I flushed it out with a bit of WD-40 and then installed the new cable. It was plenty long, so I was able to trim it to length. It even came with an end cap. My bike shifts like new again.

Reviewed 4/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy installation
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

more than enough length

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for the rest of us
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

None of that coated business. A simple and clean product, shimano quality. If you're not running Dura Ace or XTR, this is the shifting cable for you.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great quality 1.2mm inner shift cable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego county
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

have to modify the end to fit my suntour shifters, which use the small button end. if you have problems with cable robustness in a particular portion of the cable (or simply to keep the end from fraying), simply take your trusty soldering tool, some flux, and some lead-free low temp solder and tin the cable. use a file to smooth the cable surfacemaintain clearance for the casing. this will make the cable monolithic at those vulnerable spots and far more resistant to failure or fraying. i tin all the ends on all my cables, and always use end caps to keep from stabbing myself- can be super painful! i use white glue (rtv will eventually clog) to place caps so they are easy to remove replace/when servicing. happy trails!

Reviewed 2/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job for a reasonable price.
by User Hostile
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Coast, CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Typical derailleur cable, presume that Shimano's quality is going to be a tad higher than your generic inner shift cable, so willing to spend a little extra.

My bomber bike uses a Shimano Altus front derailleur which being your bottom line basic component lacks some nuanced features that higher priced components employ. This particular FD flexes the cable at a small angle as you shift between chain-rings. Eventually, our friend, metal fatigue starts snapping the individual wires on the cable and you know the rest....

(this occurs pretty quickly, occasionally, I'll check for broken wires and replace the cable. In one case, I examined the cable and no breaks were observed-two days later, bink)

After a couple of these return home rides in the 34-14 gear, I started buying these in bulk and carrying a spare in my seat post bag. When the sordid event occurs, it's a five minute fix, and allows me to continue the ride with at least two of the triple chain-ring set. I've always bought the bike shops, but decided to buy on-line in bulk to skip the drivebike. Get about a thousand miles on the cable before the bink

Reviewed 3/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works exactly as expected
by Rob M
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA

Nothing quite like new shift cables to make the bike feel smooth and new. These work great, and don't come unbraided easily.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shifter cable
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I installed these cables on a SRAM drivetrain and the shifting is smooth. The cables do have a coating that comes off during installation. I thought this frizz was a defect, or that I had done something wrong, but later read online that this is a feature of these particular cables. The frizz looks janky but doesn't affect performance so I don't stress over it.

Reviewed 4/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good product

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
solid, tried and true quality
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Good quality. I prefer JagWire now, though.

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano quality at a bargain basement price, when on sale.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Jose, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Shimano quality at a bargain basement price, when on sale. These cables are as good as any I have used. At the sale price, you might as well stock up. During cross season I might need to change out cables a couple of times so it's nice to have extras on hand.

Reviewed 10/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works great
by JustAGuy
Competitive Racer
Louisville, KY
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great shift cables, always good to keep a few extras around the shop for cable swaps. I particularly like that shimano melts the very tip of the cable so it doesn't fray as you're running it through your housing.

Reviewed 8/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps my commuter bike shifting
by All season in PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I install new shift cables a couple times a year, to prevent them from breaking while I am on my way to work, which would be devastating. These cables work great for me.

Reviewed 3/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.