CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi Cyclone Gel Glove

Pearl IzumiCyclone Gel Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(25%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by TR

Versatile winter glove
by TR
Spokane
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second pair. My first lasted me the last couple winters and finally started to wear out.

I often get out in sub freezing temps and don't like wearing heavy/bulky ski style gloves. So I'd looked for a good cold weather glove that still maintained good dexterity. These fit the bill.

On their own they come out when the temps drop below 45-50 and I find them good down to about freezing, unless it's humid. If the air is moist, thick, and penetrating nothing is gonna keep you very warm. In those cases, or when it gets really cold, I'll wear a thin pair of merino knit gloves under these, and have been experimenting with surgical gloves to help keep that moisture barrier in tact which has worked pretty well. I've ridden in dry, single digit temps and with thin gloves under these, I've been good once riding and working up some internal heat.

Regardless of temp, these gloves punch above their weight for me and have become my Goldilocks glove for cold weather. That they aren't overly expensive have also made them feel worth more than the asking price.

Reviewed 12/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OR_biker

Comfortable, but temp range a bit generous
by OR_biker
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Overall I like these gloves. Feel good while riding, not overly padded which I like. Decent at keeping moisture out, though with hard enough rain or enough time in the rain it'll get through, though I haven't found a pair of gloves where this wasn't the case. The bright color is nice, and the fabric on the thumbs is good for wiping the nose and not making it raw. There was a tag on the gloves when new that showed temp range as being 35-55 degrees Fahrenheit. I know some riders that don't wear any gloves down to the low 40's, so these might work for them in the mid-30's, but I found them to not keep my hands warm for long at anything below 45 or so. I have other gloves that work better for lower temps anyway, but these will serve well for those cool, but not cold, rides with a chance of showers.

Reviewed 2/15/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Control Freak

The new version is better and not-3.5* would be about right
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilly East Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The gloves are very lightly insulated. The best thing about this pair of gloves is the gel pads. This new version is longer and can be tucked over the sleeves of your winter jacket. The thumb part is soft for wiping off my runny nose. The inside, however, is a bit rough. The velcro closure has a strange design and is pretty useless. I went ahead and cut mine off so the velcro does not snag any of my bibs.

Reviewed 12/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent
by Anonymous
Orlando, Fl

Wore out my old mid-weight, mid-season gloves so needed a new pair. Nice fit and feel and cushioning. XL fit my

freakishly long fingers well.

Reviewed 2/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Best gloves - hands down!
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

This is my second pair of these gloves. They are my absolute favorite because they keep your hands warm and dry for most rides. I prefer them because they're light, comfortable, wind proof and I call them waterproof. They aren't specifically waterproof so, yes, your hands can eventually get wet with these but that takes a while in the rain. I ride in the rain 9 months a year and used to be a daily cycle commuter. I've tried many and have waterproof version of these but they are too warm and bulkier.

Reviewed 3/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Nice Gloves
by Dave
AZ

Function as expected

Reviewed 12/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by The Mule

The best rain/winter glove!
by The Mule
OC, SoCal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just wore out a pair of these 6 year old gloves while riding the Southern Tier. I tried winter insulated gloves from two other brands, but they were no warmer and certainly no drier than these. In fact, they took longer to dry out once wet from sweat!

Excellent grip, warm in 30 degree weather, and in the rain. Look no further for a better winter glove.

Reviewed 4/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TeeArgh

Awesome cold weather bike glove
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was wanting a low profile, cold weather glove and these have fit the bill. I'd say on their own, they keep my hands comfy while on a decently strenuous ride down to about freezing, or low thirties with wind. Below that, I need to add some merino wool gloves underneath, and that keeps me warm down to about 20F. The gel is minimal, but better than no padding. I normally wear XL gloves, and was a little worried that XL in these might not allow me to fit a thin pair of gloves beneath, but that isn't the case. I also picked up a pair of the Giro merino wool gloves to pair with these, and they've been great mates for one another. From my experience, if you're peddling at a decent rate and getting the blood pumping, these gloves do well to insulate and protect from the elements down to around freezing. If colder, or you're doing a more casual jaunt, I'd expect needing a little extra insulation, or up the heart rate to get warmer. Otherwise, I see myself getting some good miles in with these in the shoulder seasons or in inclement weather. They're light weight as well, so no problem throwing them in a jersey pocket if the sun comes out.

Reviewed 2/16/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Pretty dang waterproof, not that warm
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Pearl Izumi does raingear very well. I have found these gloves to be pretty waterproof. Part of that is that they're a little loose around each finger, so that little bit of air keeps the wet glove off of your skin. The fit and padding at the heel of the palm is just great.

Once the temperature goes under 40 degrees farenheit, forget it, they're not warm enough. I like to carry them as a spare set when it's going to be a super wet day.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan Rogers

Warm, tactile glove but zipper closure is a compromise
by Dan Rogers
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Virginia
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This glove has been used in 30-40 degree, dry weather. They keep my hand/fingers warm. The index finger material allows operation of my touchscreen Garmin 830, although it's slightly bulky. I'm not a fan of the zipper closure system: the gauntlet is long enough that it requires my jersey/jacket to be tucked into it. That tends to bulk up the fabric of the jacket/jersey such that fully closing the zipper with one hand is difficult at best. If the gauntlet was shorter, one could zip and tuck it into the sleeve opening, or if it was larger diameter, zipping wouldn't be an issue.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kurt F

Perfect weight/works on touch screen
by Kurt F
Metro West Boston

For me, these Pearl Izumi cyclone gloves are the go to glove for temps between 40 and 55 degrees F and on raw/wet days. Below 40F and I�m inside. Not too hot or clammy they also work well on my Garmin head unit touch screen.

Reviewed 11/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anj

Perfect glove me me
by Anj
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the perfect set of gloves if, like me, you constantly run warm on the bike. I needed a thinner, waterproof full finger glove for winter riding in Portland OR, and this fit the bill perfectly. I also like that they're thin because it still gives you that "natural road feel" through your handlebars. So far they seem to be built tough and should hold up to a few winters' heavy use.

Reviewed 7/10/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dbonday

My Favorite Full Glove
by dbonday
Daily Commuter
Costa Mesa, California

I am about durable goods. This one has not developed any holes in the finger tips based on daily use. Until that happens, this is what I like about it.

Reviewed 6/19/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Perfect for Los Angeles *winter*
by Anonymous
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fits, well, like a glove!

This is my third pair, the first pair wore out over 2 years of nearly daily use (mostly on the shifter fingers); the second pair was stolen from my handlebar bag while locked up outside of Kinkos.

No trouble using my index shifters, and keeps my hands warm without being sweaty in the 50deg cold mornings in Los Angeles. Probably good down to 40deg.

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NickSlyness

Exactly what I was looking for...
by NickSlyness
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needed some non-bulky gloves for chilly morning rides. They work well for me as long as the temp is above 40 Fahrenheit. I use them primarily for road riding and have had zero issues with shifting. Solid gloves with a little extra warmth.

Reviewed 2/8/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Cold and Wet Companion
by Chris
Bentonville, AR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use these as my go to cold weather road and gravel riders. Generally in mid-20's to high 30's. Comfortable and flexible. I appreciate the small underneath Velcro tightener that limits wind access. Finally the extra visibility of the bright coloring on overcast days is nice.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Gloves!
by Anonymous

Fits great. Very warm.

Easy on and off.

Much better than lighter weight gloves.

Reviewed 3/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jason

Great gloves that work
by Jason
Spokane, Washington
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these to replace a 4 year old pair that finally wore out. These are great for spring and fall riding, or colder if you layer them over a liner glove. Very satisfied with these.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The usual high quality Pearl Izumi workmanship
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV

Overall I'm very happy I bought these gloves. The only minor complaint is when my hands are sweating my fingers stick to the glove material.

Reviewed 4/23/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great purchase
by Anonymous
rialto california

Nice gloves good for 40 degrees and above. Great purchase

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page