X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530

GarminEdge 530(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(99 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(64)
(28)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(65%)
(28%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Happy I upgraded
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One Great Upgrade
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Reviewed 5/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great on my bike.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the routing and data
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good size & battery life
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far so good after a month. No problem using my 4yr old speed/cadence sensor & quickly find GPS. Customizing data screens can be tedious but you get use to it. Nice to be alerted that a sharp curve was ahead. Can't wait to get a smart trainer to pair to and re-ride a previous course.

Reviewed 4/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality piece of equipment
by MattO.
C L E

I mainly purchased this for navigational purposes, but also use it on local rides. Interface is user friendly and easy to get accustom to. Climb profile is a neat touch! Navigation has been pretty spot on. Happy with the purchase

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lots of features at a fairly reasonable price.
by OldBikerRunner
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As winter falls upon Wisconsin, I have been training (biking & running) indoors more often. The profiles allow me to set certain data fields for indoor biking vs ones I want for the open road. I used to use my Garmin watch for the bike, but having a head unit is a great improvement. Being cheap I utilize Garmin Segments, creating ones to mimic Strava segments, which then allows me to race against them. This feature alone makes the purchase worth it for me. I had been trying to take the crown on particular segment all summer and with the real time feedback, I smashed it by 20 seconds. We don't have many "climbs" in Wisconsin, but I could see how that new feature would be very useful after using it just two times. I had a couple issues with losing connection to my Garmin Vector pedals, but since the latest update, that has improved. Connects well with other sensors: heart rate strap, speed/cadence sensors on my other bikes. Nice to have decent mapping as well. I find the menu arrangements slightly different than other Garmin products. I also sometimes wish I had spent more for the touch screen model.

Reviewed 12/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to move from bike to bike.
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Reviewed 11/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as well as I expected
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sleep design
by Pete
Kent
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Reviewed 10/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sleep design
by Pete
Kent

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer for a very affordable price
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For most of us this computer has everything that we need

Reviewed 4/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than 520
by Otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville, TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great upgrade over 520 while retaining a lot of the familiar button sequences you are already used to. Big time improvement in battery life. YUUUUGGGEE battery. It's very bigly. Biggest battery ever I'm told. Color display is crisp, size is right, not too big, not too small.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Display
by JC
Competitive Racer
Ocala, Fl

I had an old version for several years and the 530 is far superior is like day and night difference.

Display can be set up in many different ways, I don't have to wait for satellites to be found and at night the screen adjust itself too a cozy background.

I haven't fully discover all about it but so far I'm loving it, thanks Garmin.

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tons of functions, hard to access
by Wattaride
Washington

Data geeks delight - unit tracks tons of data and metrics. The buttons on the side are small and difficult to press during a ride. Loading a route takes several steps and syncing to RWGPS or Strava routes is much more cumbersome than with the Wahoo Elemnt Bolt I had before.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as expected. No issues thus far.
by Jjl
Greenville, SC

Been using a Garmin smart activity watch for years. The cyclometer offers so much more. Very convenient to add road maps and now trailforks. The button interface can be a bit of a learning curve if not use to Garmin interface. Linking phone was easy and seems to be very reliable.

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not sure what too think
by John
Elk Grove Village
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this Garmin 530 thinking i was going too have routes created so not to get bored riding the same routes doesnt work too great twice I got lost with this. What did wirk great was the emergency contact sos it sends your exact location out too whoever your emergency contacts are that was pin point location of where I needed to get picked up. I do like the drunk and eat alert vert nice feature as well.

The 530 is nice provides alot if cycling stats depending on what you really want info on.

I do like it though its a little quarks though.

Test it out in short distance and experience it for yourself

Also when directions say cycleway that means sidewalk or bike trail that can be very confusing and annoying.

Experiment with it set up you ER accounts and good luck

Safe riding

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love everything about it
by gcarter
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

screen is perfect size for my garbage eyes without feeling like i have an ipad on my bars. easy to use. great data.

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page