X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530

GarminEdge 530(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(26%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, except
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It works well, has the screens I need, and is fairly easy to personalize, but don't buy if connecting to your iPhone is important

Reviewed 4/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Huge upgrade from 520 - Battery life amazing
by mgmoehn
Competitive Racer
Iowa
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I came from being a long time 520 user and I really love the 530. I upgraded primarily because my 520 was about 4-5 years old and the battery was really bad. I do gravel events and use the gps course mapping feature a lot in those events as well as in cold temperatures. This is a battery destroyer typically but the 530 has held up very very well on 6-7 hour elasped time for gps mapping, colder weather (30-40F), power meter, bluetooth phone, and brightness dimmed to 20%, and GPS enabled. Looking beyond the extended battery life are features that go above and beyond the 520.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Good and the Bad.
by Dan
Philadelphia
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

First off, Ive been using Garmin since the beginning and always loved their products. I bought the 530 with confidence (my old 820 was well used and failing) but was immediately disappointed. The GPS isnt very accurate so I ride with a wheel sensor to correct the nearly .2 of a mile I lose on every 10 miles. Nit picky? Perhaps but my 820 was accurate. Secondly, it crashes, wont power on at times (even with a fully charged battery). I had to send my first one back and get a replacement. It, too, has the same issues. I feel like Garmin didnt product test and customers are working out their flaws.

The good, when its working, its awesome. The battery lasts, realistically, 13-15hrs. The data it has the ability to collect is crazy.

If I had to do it over I wouldnt get it. I no longer race so all that data isnt something I pay too much attention to anymore and the headaches of dealing with customer service (very nice and helpful as they are) is annoying. Just my 2 cents.

Reviewed 2/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very nice upgrade.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use this mainly for road rides. The battery life is awesome.

Reviewed 1/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth the money and a well thought out bike computer
by Jim Imezgon
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Road cycling is my preferred use. I would suggest anyone using this to download the manual. It was very well done in explaining the functions through the various menus. A few minor things were missed, but definitely not a deal breaker. The various data screens can be customized nicely to your preferences of what is important to you to see for each type of activity (type of riding). From the Connect store many addons can be installed so you would be hard pressed not to make this computer personalized. Pairing a Bluetooth ear piece is nice as it will give you periodic stats as you ride along with info on in-coming calls, etc. , too. The navigation map is really done well giving you detailed turn-by-turn directions with uploaded courses. When paired with a Bluetooth ear piece, you'll get audio on directions.

Reviewed 3/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It takes a little getting used to
by  Vince
washington DC
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Im new to Garmin GPS units and reading the history on them the new 520 Puls seemed to be a good place to jump in. Pretty decent tech for the rapidly falling price. The data and screen are great, more than I know what to do with. The Garmin Connect App is pretty basic, seems you need Strava and other third party apps to get more value out of the GPS data. Uploading routes is still clunky having to plug your device into a laptop but its pretty solid once you get it in the device. All and all its a cool toy, we arent totally there yet with GPS cycling computers but its cheaper than ever to try it out.

Reviewed 10/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic! Not sure what else I could ask for!
by CDL Velo
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey, BC
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Bundle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After 6 years of using my Garmin Edge 500, I decided to upgrade to the 520 bundle. Excuse - my son needed my 500 ) So... wht an upgrade! The GPX function is awesome. I took a trip to Belgium, used the Knooppunt website, uploaded route into my Edge 520 and voila - instant navigation expertise! Compared to Edge 500, HR strap is better, GPS connection better, all faster, great battery life. Overall, no complaints. Was considering the 800, 1000 series... 520 is definitely the best for me. Love it.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Alot of computer for the price of the 520
by DHP
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellevue NE
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from the Edge 25 to the Edge 250 Plus I like the longer battery life and being able to see more info on the first screen that is completely modifiable to your liking would recommend this over the Edge25 any-day it's nice to have the maps even if you can not set destination on the fly best to set some points of interest in advance

Reviewed 7/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must if you have Di2 shift
by Bruce
Alabama
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You will want this product if you have the Di2 system. Easy to setup and view your gearing and if you have the auto mode on a tri bike it will beep when you reach the last gear before a front ring change. Battery status and copious amounts of data fields to display.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Upgrade
by Cyclist4life
D.C.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Terrific GPS cycling computer. This is an exponential improvement over my prevous Garmin Edge 500. Highly customizable color screens, all the cycling metrics you could want, fast GPS signal acquiring, and great large screen. Pre-loaded mapscourses and live strava segments are also a nice feature.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelente
by Anonymous
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Excelent tool for riding do not ride with out it

Reviewed 7/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty decent, but the the buttons are cramped on my mount
by ibnbatouta
Competitive Racer
Alexandria VA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This has some nice updates, but I miss the specific bike profiles of the 510. The only way for it to read a different bike is if you have a different ANTBluetooth sensor on that bike.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing and provides all the metrics for my rides and synchs easily with my IPhone.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Norfolk, VA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Bundle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy synchronization with mobile devise and provides all stats that I need.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best GPS
by Alfred
Whittier
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my 3rd Garmin and definitely the best.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Powerful bike computer that brings STRAVA to life.
by Jacob
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Bundle

The Edge 520 turns your world into a video game. It's super intuitive to use, great app to connect to my fine, and delivers interesting insights about my rides.

Reviewed 2/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's worth it!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, Michigan
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Bundle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Having fully searched and researched other options I figured the Edge 520 was way more computer than I needed. Yet I decided to take a leap and spend the money. I am so glad I did! I am just getting back into serious riding again after a 25 year lay off and the Edge 520 is one more exciting motivation to get on the bike. Installation of sensors and computer mount and customized view setup was a breeze plus function is very intuitive. At first I wondered why it isn't a touch screen for the price but the buttons work great in all weather conditions. After each ride or indoor training session it is very rewarding to immediately get the prompt on my phone and iPad from both Strava and Garmin Connect saying my ride data is ready to view. Never thought I would get into the whole heart rate craze but it has truly taken my training to new levels.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer for the money. Loaded with features...
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Thousand Oaks, CA.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Bundle
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Pro The Garmin Edge 520 computer and bundle is a great value. The edge 520 is loaded with features every cyclist will use.

Con The Garmin Edge 520 does not have a trip distance data field. Only total odometer reading which is a big negative for me.

No touch screen.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What more do you need
by stillbiking
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver,WA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Works fine. A step up from the smaller models.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice upgrade and Trailforks is a plus
by Adv116q
Cycling Enthusiast
Grass Valley, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Coming from a 4 year old Edge, this is easy to read. It finds the satellites quickly, and you can program on the display what you want to see. Trailforks is not as easy to read as on a phone, but if you don't want to ride with your phone on your bars off road, this will save you from pulling it out at every stop.

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page