Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals

ShimanoPD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(20%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
st pedal for the price
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca

For the money you can't find a better road pedal. I have a couple of pairs of Look Keo pedals, (uncluding the new Keo 2 blade). I prefer the Shimano pedals as they have a wider cleat platform , easier to clip in, and the cleats last forever (compared to the Keo's). I think Shimano uses the same bearings for all their road pedals, only difference is the pedal body, these are alluminum. The only problem I have encountered with the Shimano pedals is if you are constantly messing with the tension release, afer a period of time, you stop getting that positive clicking sound letting you know that you have advanced to the next higher or lower setting. I set mine in the middle range and don't fiddle with it. Why spend close to or over a hundred dollars when these will do the job for a fantastic price?

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Beginner Pedals
by SG
Competitive Racer

Really good pedals.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for the money
by Anonymous
cape fear

All around the required function

Reviewed 1/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
White Shimano pedals
by Anonymous
Ogden Ut

I got thes pedals because of price. They are just as awesom as the Dura Ace pedals i used daily for almosr eight years i may get another pair for my other Road bike.

Reviewed 11/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first road bike pedals and they work great!
by Momentum
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon

My first road bike pedals. I have SPDs on my other bike but these work well and are easy to clip in and out of. I'm just getting back into riding again, not sure if I'd appreciate the lighter versions. Maybe I'll get the lighter versions for my next road bike.

Reviewed 9/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work as expected
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Frontrange Foothills

They do the job. I want all my (and my family's) bikes to use the same system so the pedals are a low cost way for converting old and cheaper bikes.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals for the price
by Verelle
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I just switched to these pedals from my old hand-me-down pair because I wanted a pair with 'float'. These are great! They were easy to transition to, and the pedals are large enough that I can use them with my street shoes.

Reviewed 9/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for Second Bike
by 55+
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Ohio
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice to be able to upgrade back up bike, while my main ride is in the shop !

Reviewed 10/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great clips
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Exactly as marked. Easy to install on road bike.

Reviewed 4/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top notch pedal at entry level price
by oldrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are great pedals for the price. Bearings run nice and smooth, easy clip in and out, far range of adjustment for cleat tension, cleats last a long time. I have two bikes and have Look pedals on one of them. I wanted to change over to Shimano for both so I could use my newer shoes for both bikes. I have Shimano 105 5700's on the other bike. Can't tell a difference. The R540's have a rubber cleat plate vs a stainless steel for the 5700. Both are wide with a low platform. To top if off I got it at a low price with a price match. I really can't say anything negative about these pedals. Great product for the price.

Reviewed 1/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.