Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
SKS Race Blade Long Fender Set

SKSRace Blade Long Fender Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(42%)
(42%)
(11%)
(0%)
(5%)
Fenders ride quiet, and are stable, but the skewer mount will trouble when I get a flat
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to sell my aluminum rain bike. Hard riding and cheap shifters. I demoted my Litespeed to rain bike status and put these fenders on it. They are a bit finicky to get lined up so they don't rub, but they hold still. My old fenders on the aluminum bike had no room for attachment at the rear brake bridge, so they rattled. These have brackets that go under the brake bridge and the fork in the front, so there is no clearance problem.

Coverage is good. My friends like to ride my wheel on wet days because I throw off very little water.

The fender stays mount to the skewers and that could be a pain when the wheel has to come off for a flat. I knew that going in, but I don't like it.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best Fender System for Race bikes
by MackieImages
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I installed two sets of these (a 58cm Bianchi race bike now turned commuter and a very small women's Bianchi) and so far am super happy with how they've worked. Yes, the first set took some time to get on (45 min - 1 hr), but the second set was much much quicker. These attach, in part, using the skewers, so if you're someone who takes off the front wheel a lot, you may need to do some minor tweaking after putting back on the wheel.

Front coverage is great IMO, while these do not provide full coverage in the rear,it's close given that there are few options out there that do on bikes that can't take normal fenders. I do believe they could somehow use the water bottle mounts to hold a third section that would provide almost complete coverage.

Generally speaking though, I would easily recommend these.

Reviewed 1/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice, durable fenders
by Brian M
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

PROS Since the attachments are made to the brake caliber stems, the fenders do not touch the fork or the rear seat stays. This means no vibration or rubbing. My wife's bike had to have the carbon fiber fork replaced in the past due to other fenders rubbing the fork to the point of replacement - not good. The fenders are also great for low clearance frames so it doesn't rub against the wheels at all. Great customer service as well.

CONS The pin which attaches the plastic fenders to the metal stays (attachments to the brake stems) gets dirty. When you take the fender off for whatever reason, it can be difficult to click the fender back in place as the pin won't always attach to the metal stay. If the fender doesn't click back in place, it won't reattach. Cleaning will help, but I have also asked customer service for additional pins just in case the old ones become compromised.

Reviewed 12/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These Rock!
by Tomas
Seartle

A must for group riding in winter in the PNW! They fit on any race bike, look good, offer decent protection, and are easily removable when the weather cooperates. A buddy flap is still necessary to avoid getting cursed at by the rider behind you, but that is true of all fenders. I like them so much I bought them for friends. Now we can ride our fast bike all year.

Reviewed 3/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite set of fenders
by PDX_Biker
PDX

I went through a few set of fenders over the years, mostly the short versions because they can fit the narrow carbon frames. There are a few good looking full coverage fenders out there but they are required some modifications and additional hardware to fit narrow frames. This set of fenders take care of all those fitting issues and look good too. Been riding more this winter. Highly recommended !

Reviewed 1/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice light fenders but fit is not perfect
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
MN

The fenders are well made but the radius of the fender is less than the 700 x 28 tire so the fit is not great. The end of the fender is too close or touching the tire.

Reviewed 5/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decent fenders, tricky to adjust
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are high quality,but finicky adjustment. Once installed the perform very well. They do require occasional tweaking and adjustment to remain centered over your tires and prevent rubbing. They are very lightweight and you'll hardly notice them.

Reviewed 6/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product and great support!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second set I've bought, the first for my husband's bike and now for my bike. These fenders work great, have brackets that fit nicely without hindering your brakes, and allow you to easily take them on/off as needed. I had a bracket break once and, after contacting the manufacturer, was sent a new one right away. SKS really stands by their product and is happy to help if you need it. No jerking you around.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wanted a full fender set for my Soma Smoothie commuter bike
by wayneh
Cycling Enthusiast
Tigard, OR

Installation was fairly straightforward. After some minor adjustments the set went on the bike great. And when not needed the front and rear are easily moved by just clipping off at the brakesets and wheel axles.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN

I put these fenders on my road bike. I had to make adjustments but the product is designed so that you can make it fit most anything. Coverage was good. The mud flaps were effective.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Novel idea but dangerous
by Layback
Competitive Racer
Seattle
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders, while a novel idea, are incredibly dangerous. People, like myself, are lured to these because they can be taken off and put back on so easily. The latch system on these fenders eventuall will fail however, as they did on mine. There was a recall and a product redesign on these a couple years ago but it wasn't adequate. Eventually your rear fender will fail at the grey clip in point, rotate, jam in your rear wheel and cause you to skid out of control. I know 5 people who this has happened to. Thankfully none of them were seriously injured. It's just a matter of time, in my opinion, before someone skids right into oncoming traffic because of these. Buy with caution.

Reviewed 2/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I unfortunately disagree post of the posts
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Or.
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to make it easy to remove when not needed. I had previously had permanent style mounted fenders, but one had broken recently so decided to try these. My biggest complaint is the two smaller pieces of the fenders that are mounted in front of the brakes on front and rear. With the brackets provided I find that they rattle and shake quite a bit from road vibrations. Mainly the front, so much that I often end up pulling it off mid ride. My second compliant is that when you have to remove the wheel, you have to deal with the tabs that are on your skewers and position them correctly again to get the fender in the correct position. I have found this most troublesome when I get a flat, and all I want to do is get back on the road as quickly as possible. This just adds to an unforeseen step in getting that accomplished.

On the positive side, they do stay in place once mounted to your desire. That being said, I will not buy these again and instead just go back to permanent style mounted fenders.

Reviewed 1/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders!
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to use on my LeMond road bike which had very little clearance between the brakes and the wheels. I didn't care much for the kind that strap to the fork as they don't provide much coverage. These were easy to install, provide lots of coverage, and can be removed in about 10 seconds.

The only thing that bothered me was the bracket connecting to the brakes. Once in place, the bracket negates the teeth on the washers that keep the brake calipers from rotating. I tightened the bolt up really tight, but occasionally I will need to rotate the calipers back into alignment if they get bumped. Not a serious issue, just a minor annoyance.

Overall, I love these and would definitely purchase these again as standard equipment for all my road bikes.

Reviewed 6/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It does exactly what it says on the tin.
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Nice coverage, low profile. The quick release mechanism is handy should you need to remove them to maintenance the bike, or on the sunny days of January you can run without them if you absolutely have to.

The biggest problem I had with them was during assembly, the illustration on the box shows an open ended bracket where it mounts on the skewers, the part that goes over the skewers is a loop.

Reviewed 2/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What we've all been waiting for!
by Boldaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Finally a fender that works well with performance oriented roadbikes. Limited frame clearance, no problem. No eyelets, no problem! You need to take them off to get your bike into the car, no problem.

These things are sweet, a few small metal tabs are added to your brake bridge and axles. Then the fenders easily pop on and off. And best of all, they seem to retain center quite well.

For group paceline riding, I did add an extended buddy flap. Even though these are pretty long, nobody is making a fender that goes low enough to keep the spray off of a rider behind you.

Reviewed 11/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Race Blade Long...awesome!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Living in Portland, I needed a full set of fenders that would fit my road bike. My Race Blades were OK, but I wanted to be drier. These fit right away and I was off and riding in about 15 minutes. And while I'm not completely dry, I'm certainly a LOT drier than I expected.

Reviewed 11/15/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great and versatile product.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I like being to put on and remove the fenders as weather conditions dictate.

Reviewed 11/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fender for race frames!
by Boldaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm very impressed by these fenders. They are meant to fit frames with tight clearances. Install was quick and easy - fittment was quicker than with other fenders.

One cool aspect that I wasn't aware of - they remove quickly for putting the bike in a car, etc. And they go right back on without any need to readjust.

The only downside - as with all fenders, they don't go low enough to keep your buddy dry. They are longer than most, but still benefited from an additional buddy flap.

Reviewed 10/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as expected, great coverage and no rub.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Been using the standard race blades and am happy to finally see an extended version. The extra coverage is great. Could be still a bit longer at the back (never too much), but works well. Installation is simple, and is easy to get on and off. Stays in place and easier to adjust than the standard rubber straps on the regular race blades. Also it is more structurally rigid and don't have problems with wheel rub due to movementdeflection. Once set, they stay where they are even after removal and reinstall which is a breeze with the snap onoff system. The mounting bits left on the bike are not the most attractive, but not bad. Only small issue is some interference with the stationary trainer interface at the rear QR, but no big deal. Primary use is on a dedicated rain road bike where there is no clearance for standard fenders.

Reviewed 7/4/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.