Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano XT SM-RT81 Ice-Tech Disc Rotor Centerlock

ShimanoXT SM-RT81 Ice-Tech Disc Rotor Centerlock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(11%)
(0%)
(11%)
(0%)
Flat and light
by Tandem
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver Colorado

We are using the 203 mm rotors on a tandem. They are flat, and have not been drilled out too much. Some other rotors that we have tried do not have enough breaking surface.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall great disc brake
by Mo
Pompano Beach

The XT disc brake is just a great overall brake for the price and weight. I never had a problem with the disc keeping it's form.

Reviewed 7/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not compatible with Avid BB-7 discs
by Novato rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was excited to mount these rotors, until I noticed the spider and rivets are too long and interfere with the brake pad levers on BB-7 road brakes. I tried respacing the calipers with some washers, but not enough of the rotor brake surface was exposed. I bought some cheaper CenterLock rotors that don't have the same length spiders, and they work fine with Avid BB-7 road calipers. Too bad - these are really well made, and I'll sell them on Ebay second-hand as they are used and cannot be returned.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These Are Excellent Discs
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these discs. I replaced the Stock Tektros on my Trek FXS6. I put Shimano resin pads on too. I'll be further upgrading to Shimano XT calipers and levers. It'll be a sweet set up! .

Reviewed 3/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are the rcommended rotors to use with Shimano brakes
by Lastostrogoth
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA

There are well made, easy to install, and are the rotors which Shimano says are the only ones that should be used with their Ice Tech brake set. They are well made and quiet.

Reviewed 3/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable stopping
by jrdavis65
Cycling Enthusiast
Hillsboro, OR

Bought this to mount o new Reynold's Assault Disc wheels. Un-matched stopping during rainy Oregon days.

Reviewed 3/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best performing rotor for the money
by brooksdarg
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA

As is true for other XT components, this rotor defines the intersection of superior performance at a reasonable cost. Excellent stopping power in all conditions. The only caveat is that one must be careful when truing these rotors - they can be irrevocably damaged if bent too far.

Reviewed 12/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product, fair price, and quickly delivered.
by Brainbow
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

For daily use and for high-mileage randonneuring, these rotors deliver confident stopping power on demand. Paired with semi-metallic pads for all-weather predictability. Would replace with same when worn out.

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Supreme stopping power
by digita6
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I replaced my stock TRP rotors with these, and despite the (slight) weight penalty, they stay true and have incredible stopping power. I'm sticking with Ice Tech and not looking back.

Reviewed 12/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.